Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caution! Contains addictive substance!
The substance is called "narrativium" and Mr Watt-Evans is a Heavy Dealer of the material. And why not, since his book is concerned with the inventor of narrativium, Terry Pratchett? "Narrativium" has to do with telling stories and Pratchett is peerless in that regard. Watt-Evans has undertaken a momentous task in relating and assessing the many volumes comprising the...
Published on 4 Aug. 2008 by Stephen A. Haines

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The turtle moves - but not very far.
It's hard to see the purpose of this book. There's too little info for Discworld devotees, and too much plot spoiling for new readers. The same points are reiterated ad nauseum and the whole thing smacks of a weekend's hack work. Buy a proper Discworld novel instead.
Published on 26 April 2009 by Emma Peel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Very slow delivery. Poor quality book, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was delivered after the specified delivery time and so causing Christmas problems. The cover and insider pages were also badly bent and there was staining on the inside pages. Not impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Turtle Moves, 16 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sadly this book has no merit where Terry Pratchet is concerned.It stumbles along and adds no enjoyment to the fun of Disc World Books.I suspect Sir terry is NOT amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste yout money or time..., 26 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a waste of money. 2-4 pages about every masterpiece from PTerry - that's absolutely not enough to give the discworld books the credit they deserve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 15 Feb. 2009
By 
kehs (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This book is extremely entertaining and gives a clever overview of Terry Pratchett's Discworld. I was worried that I may have heard it all before but no, to my pleasant surprise I learnt many interesting snippets about Pratchett's books from this informative book and found it fascinating reading. I particularly loved the chapter about Luggage because it is one of my favourite characters. The author has written in a witty style that fans of Pratchett will appreciate and more importantly, he doesn't give out any spoilers relating to the Discworld books. For anyone who hasn't yet been captivated by Discworld, this book will lure you in and entice you into a world that you won't want to escape from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun visit to Discworld!, 8 April 2009
By 
Joy V. Smith "Pagadan" (Lakeland, FL United States) - See all my reviews
The Turtle Moves!: Discworld's Story is a companion book by Lawrence Watt-Evans (BenBella Books, 2008) to Terry Pratchett's DiscWorld series. I learned about puns and word play I missed, plus background that will enhance my enjoyment of the stories when I reread them. And I see that there's an upcoming Tiffany Aching book, I Shall Wear Midnight, and possibly Raising Taxes, and a number of books I wasn't aware of, including the three Science of Discworld books. and short stories, two of which I got to read online. (See the URL for Lspace below.) The short stories include Troll Bridge (Cohen story). [I didn't get to read this one. Drat.]

It starts off a bit slow, but when he gets to the stories, it was fun remembering and learning more about my favorites and the connections between stories and characters--lots of details. He points out the changes from the first two books (parodies) and the evolution of the characters and plots. l learned the connection between XXXX and Australia; the meaning of words and names, including Tempscire, Carrot, Hex (the computer), ...

Btw, the kangaroo in The Last Continent is called Scrappy, which Watt-Evans mentions in passing. (This is not his favorite book.) I have a vague recollection that there was a TV program in Australia about a kangaroo, named Scrappy--yet another connection to Australia, along with the cave paintings, bush rangers, Mad Max references, and beer.

There's also a bibliography and online resoources list, including the
Lspace website: []
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Turtle Moves!: Discworld's Story Unauthorized (Kindle Edition)
A very entertaining look at the discworld
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essentail discworld, 2 Jan. 2010
By 
hobojock "hobojock" (right here,, i think) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a must read for all discworld fans and for sci fi fans, you wont regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews