Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great bit of software - a must have photo tool
First of all, I love this software!

I've never owned dedicated photo editing software before - other than Google's Picasa - instead using the photo editing tools within full-blown graphics packages.

It's for this reason that I recently upgraded my copy of Paint Shop Pro to Corel PaintShop Photo Pro X3 (PC DVD) which as well as being a fully fledged...
Published on 30 Nov. 2010 by The Fat Monk

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Serif Photoplus x 4 HDR Software
Warning - This software is NOT compatible with Canon EOS 550 Raw Files.
It may be a good product but it is totally useless with my Canon camera.
Sent back to Amazon for a refund.
Before you buy, check to see if it is compatible with your camera :
Go to the Serif Website
then submenu - Support & Community, then Support Portal, then Knowledge base,...
Published on 14 Jun. 2011 by Fred


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A powerful image editing suite for photos and film scanners - and it's cheap to own, 2 Sept. 2010
By 
Charlie-CJ (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: PhotoPlus X4 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Released July 2010, PhotoPlus X4 is a good alternative to Adobe Elements 9 and Paint Shop Pro X3. PhotoPlus's strength is often it's price and it offers a few more features than Elements 8. Serif is a UK based company founded in 1987 and rarely sells via stores, relying on word of mouth and cheap upgrade offers to get new users. They have a customer base of 6 million worldwide. I always used Serif software exclusively at home [PagePlus, PhotoPlus, DrawPlus] until I got Adobe Creative Suite licences from work (which would cost a few grand to buy myself). Even now, when I pay with my own money for image editing software, I chose PhotoPlus X4 over Elements or Paint Shop Pro (largely because of the low upgrade price). PhotoPlus can do everything essential I need to do - I manage optical microscope imaging systems at work, and at home I'm a keen digital/film SLR photographer and slide scanning enthusiast.

New PhotoPlus X4 features include the 'Image Cutout Studio' to help remove objects more easily from photos and paste them into a new one, and 'PhotoFix' a quick-fix studio to streamline editing of your photos, like removing blemishes and red-eye. You can even trace a line across the photo and have PhotoPlus automatically align a wonky horizon. Usefully PagePlus now has full multicore support to speed image processing, and the undo edits feature has been made '5x faster' [granted X3 was a little lethargic]. There's the new `Adjustments Tab' to apply non-destructive filters [levels, white-balance, hue, curves, brightness etc..] to the images via a preview screen. These changes can be tweaked or removed anytime and applied to areas using the mask brush. The filter gallery has been updated, adding more art/effects to the standard sharpen and noise reduction tools. There's improved object selection tools and you can customise keys for editing shortcuts. There's now a `pixel grid' for quick hi-res editing. Also new is the `Pressure Studio' to calibrate your graphics tablet for brush and pencil drawing. Plus support for hi-end camera RAW images [e.g. CRW, CR2, ORF, NEF & Adobe DNG, HDR and 16-bit per channel photos has been tweaked - I rarely use RAW though, life and hard drive space is too short. And PhotoPlus X4 still has the old range of advanced editing tools that can do everything from hi-quality resizing of images, exporting to the main photo formats [via the preview Export optimiser] to semi-pro image editing [e.g. multiple merge to Panorama, various object selection tools, the Makeover Studio (for teeth whitening, skin smoothing, etc.), retouching tools for old damaged photos/slides, a text editor, etc]. There's also layers and masks for creating and editing composite images. Although PhotoPlus Studio has the ability to create slideshows, burn discs and so on, it still lags behind Elements 9 photo-database organiser, although PhotoPlus can tag photos for rating/sorting, and map them geographically to where they were taken [automatically if your camera has GPS].

This new X4 version is certified for XP [32-bit only], Vista and Windows 7. For old PC's there's PhotoPlus 11, available s/h, that runs on just about anything Pentium PC wise from Windows 98SE/ME to XP/2000 (not Vista/7). Like any image editing software, 4 Gb system RAM, a DirectX9/10 3D graphics card and a modern fast multi-core processor will help things run quickly and smoothly. However X4's minimum spec is any Pentium PC [supporting SSE2 instructions, e.g. Pentium III or higher] with 500 Mb hard drive space, 256Mb RAM, and a 1024 x 600 monitor.

Like Adobe Elements, PhotoPlus has walk throughs for common editing tasks, via the `How To' and 'Do it for me' tabs, and there's training videos to help. PhotoPlus has the equivalent of Photoshop's shadow/Highlight (as does Elements 9), an essential tool for those scanning film as it brings out detail in dark shadows. There's also a proper layers palette with many advanced features ['Channels', and 'Vector paths']. PhotoPlus scores heavily with it's powerful batch process, which can say automatically copy, resize and convert a series of TIF images to compressed jpg ones within a folder. I like PhotoPlus's use of standard Windows colour schemes over Elements charcoal interface, as you can read black text on white easier than white on grey, and it's easier to tell which photo window is active. With the release of Adobe Elements real competition arrived, so PhotoPlus has dropped its price further. Advanced users with deep pockets will still head to Adobe PhotoShop Extended CS5 or Photoshop Lightroom 3. PhotoPlus X4 is a decent buy though, with all the required editing tools and scanner twain support for all but the most serious photographer, and it will accept Photoshop plug-ins. Check it out at serif.com for more details - there's often on-line offers and Serif's upgrade prices generally get very cheap as the latest version nears the end of it's life [under £20]. Once you register PhotoPlus, and you can't easily avoid this, expect regular phone-calls and emails from Serif offering the cheap upgrade, and a deal on other Serif Software.

So recommended for those on a tight budget, although PhotoPlus may lack some tools for professional photographers [e.g editing copyright meta-data info]. Once you get past the learning curve the software isn't bad at all, it's powerful and a steal when occasionally offered for under £30. To save pennies you could buy Serif PhotoPlus X3 from Amazon resellers or eBay and upgrade cheaply later - the X3 to X4 upgrade is nice but not essential for most. Alternatively you could investigate Adobe's Elements 9 + Adobe Premiere 9 (video editing) combined package - and there's Educational discounts if you qualify [in full time education or work in the education sector].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive value, 17 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr Gumby "DH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: PhotoPlus X4 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I use PaintShop Pro as well as Photoshop and Photoshop Elements, and imagined PhotoPlus X4 would fall short. This notion was not dispelled when the application started for the first time but it didn't take long to get into the app and then I changed my mind.

The PhotoPlus interface isn't the most attractive, to my eyes, but the How-To panel proved an easy way to get started. I found it pretty simple to get into, as would anyone familiar with Photoshop, and I enjoyed using it. It has distinct benefits over Elements, at least Elements 8, such as adjustment layers, selections and masks and especially cut-outs. In fact, it felt much more like full-blown Photoshop than Elements, in a number of respects. It had some very clever effects, too, notably for converting photos into 'paintings', as well as the usual corrections for red-eye, blemishes, and so on.

If you have a DSLR, you'll be pleased to know PhotoPlus handles Raw images, although its capabilities aren't on a par with the competition. There's an effective HDR tool though, and panorama stitching works well.

The Organiser isn't quite up to the mark either. There's no face recognition and limited slideshow options. Mind you, that isn't necessarily a bad thing. Face recognition tends not to work too well, and there's nothing worse than a slideshow produced by someone more interested in showing off his software than his photos.

So, overall, I certainly wouldn't argue with anyone who chose PhotoPlus over Elements or PSP. If all you need is something to do a bit of cropping and fix basic issues such as wonky horizons, there are cheaper, easier-to-use tools. Otherwise, PhotoPlus represents excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High-end photo-editing for a lower-end price. Highly recommended., 15 Nov. 2010
By 
K Wren "K Wren" (Wye Valley (England/Wales border)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: PhotoPlus X4 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm a long-term user of Serif products and always found them to be stable, reliable and offer a wide-range of features for just a fraction of the cost of the market leaders' products - and PhotoPlus X4 is no exception.

I take far too many photographs and have been using PhotoPlus X4 for about a month during which time I've used almost all of its features. The package has a good, clear interface, is intuitive to use and does everything which any keen amateur or even casual photographer will need - and more besides.

One of the best features is the Batch Processing facility whereby a whole batch of selected photos can have the same changes applied with just one click - which saves laboriously applying the same changes to photos individually.

Like the much more expensive Adobe Photoshop, PhotoPlus X4 uses layers so that for example, using the 'Image Cutout Studio' subjects from photos can be carefully cut out and removed or other images added eg wildlife can be added to a countryside scene or if a passer-by is accidentally captured in a shot ruining an otherwise perfect photo, then s/he can be removed without trace. Other fixes can be added at the click of a mouse including a red-eye removal tool that actually works and there's a wide range of effects in the Filter Gallery which can be added - exposure, contrast, colour correction, bezels, glows, tints, pen and ink, pencil sketch effect... All applied changes can be removed and, by using layers, it's easy to experiment and edit just one part of a photo without affecting the rest, eg to add a touch of colour to a black and white photo.

The Album Plus organiser enables rapid photo downloads and then allows sorting and cataloguing of photos via tags or star-ratings. I found it quite slow when sorting hundreds of photos but the Facebook and Flickr upload tools were very useful. This organiser can even read the geotag data stored within photos and locate it on a Google map to show exactly where the photo was taken - a very handy feature for holiday shots but, unfortunately, my Panasonic TZ7 doesn't have this feature so I wasn't able to test it.

This is an excellent, all-round package probably best-compared with Adobe Photoshop but at a much-reduced price and, incidentally, it will also edit Photoshop PSD files.

Highly recommended for all users - beginners to keen amateur or semi-professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great photo software, 13 Jan. 2011
This review is from: PhotoPlus X4 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having used Psp 7 for around 10 years!! I thought i should get a bit more up to date and try this and I'm amazed at how much you can do with photos now! i'm no computer expert but the incredible 'Photofix' effects really make any photo, however bad look stunning and however you wished it did! these include 'Glamour' 'old Photo' 'intense sepia' 'warmer' and many more, plus you can create more by adjusting the slide bars. Plus a novelty of having many settings based on particular artists, you can make yourself look like you've been painted in the style of many famous artists! You can really spend hours on these features getting as creative as you like, plus it comes with the bonus 'panoramic photos' program which i havent yet tried out but it does sound good and that is included and you can choose to install or not.

It has a simple interface and can be used by complete novices or more advanced settings and features for the savvy user! As I improve with this i'll go into more detail but considering i've been a massive Psp7 fan for all these years i'm happy to say I am a convert, a fantastic program, great price and has many many more incredible features, can be used by all the family, simple enough for the children, excellent software, highly recommended, simple to install, simple to use!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Nov. 2010
This review is from: PhotoPlus X4 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I normally use Paintshop Pro, but thought I would give this product a try to see how it was compared to what I usually use. Installation was easy (on Windows 7), and very quickly I was able to get into the program to try it out. The interface is easy to use, and has some excellent help guides if you get stuck. Some of the photo features are excellent, such as spot removal, where you can clone a part of the face, and also the other tools that you would expect are easy to use and implement too. The product is cheaper than some of the other Photo editing tools, but for what I use it for (general editing of family photos) it more than meets my requirements. I would really recommend this to anyone using this for home photos as an alternative to some of the pricier products around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Photoshop for a fraction of the price, 28 Jun. 2011
This review is from: PhotoPlus X4 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Serif software is just marvellous. It's reliable, functional, and very reasonably priced, as opposed to the totally exploitative prices of Adobe, and Microsoft. As a semi-professional photographer, and designer, I have used many different photo-editing packages before now, and would agree that Adobe Photoshop is very good, but I am simply not willing to pay about £600 for a piece of software.

I have to say, I came across Photo-Plus almost incidentally. I had a Serif programme called "Panorama Plus", which does a marvellous job of making panoramic photos which I am called on to do quit a lot. When I upgraded to a mega-PC with Windows 7 64 bit, I found that my Panorama Plus would no longer function, so I had to look for an upgrade, and found that the latest version was bundled free with Photo-Plus. Not willing to fork out for the latest version of Photoshop I had been making do with Photoshop Elements 7 and had been thinking of upgrading to Vsn 9, but thought that having done quite well with Serif software in the past, and as it was half the price of Adobe Elements with Panorama Plus thrown in for free, I'd give it a go.

Well I tell you, it is a real revelation: It has all the features of Photoshop, including paths converted to a selection which Elements lacked, and is very reliable and user friendly. I really do not think I shall be looking to buy any other photo editing software in future, and will just keep upgrading this: it's brilliant.

I know it is going off the subject a bit, but can any one explain, when you can buy a blu-ray disc of a block-buster film, for about £15, where the film takes a small army of people about a year to make, and costs £millions, why a DVD disc with a software upgrade on it from an existing product, most of which was put together years ago, is for sale at £100s? Answer - ?????. So, thank god for Serif - brilliant software, at a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong, easy to use editor, limited by its lack of RAW support for LX5, 27 Jan. 2011
This review is from: PhotoPlus X4 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The only photo editing tool I had used extensively before this was Photoshop. Now, any experienced Photoshopper will probably relate to how tough it can be to move to a different program after getting used to the Adobe schema.

However, I found Photoplus X4 easy enough to get into. The menus make sense and their use is generally obvious at a glance, while most of the common adjustment features are easily reached from the starting screen, not hidden away in nested menus.

I have actually found it easier to make simple adjustments like altering the angle of a horizon so buildings line up, or removing red eye, than I experienced in Photoshop. Since I'm not a pro photographer and only need to do these simple adjustments most of the time, I can't help but recommend Photoplus X4 based on price.

With one caveat - frustratingly, it doesn't appear to support RAW images from my Panasonic LX5, despite having support, frustratingly, for the LX3. This is something that may be rectified in the future, but it has limited me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Photoshop, but..., 12 Nov. 2010
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: PhotoPlus X4 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First things first, this is not Photoshop, anyone wanting all the features of Photoshop still needs to get that product. What this is, though, is the nearest equivalent for the price.

PhotoPlus x4 is actually pretty impressive for what you get. The main advantage for those finding Photoshop too difficult is that there are plenty of options for Photoplus to hold your hand through processes. Take the cut out wizard, in Photoshop it takes a while to get the hang of cutting certain bits from one photo and pasting them in to another, this does it all so easily.

The software runs perfectly in Windows 7, I've had no bugs or crashes since starting to use it for my website images and these have involved some intensive graphics work that would normally be done in other graphics tools twice this price.

Bottom line is; if you want something powerful but also easy to use to edit photos and images you can't get much better than Photoplus for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 14 Feb. 2011
By 
George Rodger - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PhotoPlus X4 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A great alternative to higher priced software like Photoshop, but with virtually all the whistles and bells you need - especially for the home user. I did find it a little bit complicated at first to get around all the features, but that is probably more to do with my techno-slowness...
The basic features are great, and I'm still making my way through the special effects, but have been very impressed so far - great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PhotoPlus X4, 23 Jan. 2011
By 
Terry Trout "flyfisher" (Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhotoPlus X4 (PC) (CD-ROM)
It's still early days with my new DSLR (Nikon D7000) & I bought this package as an update to add that finishing touch. I have reasonably old Dell 2400(celeron 2.4Ghz) & needed to get the memory upgraded to 1.5G, as the software is quite hungry (as you would expect). For a novice like me, I didn't want to suffer at the hands of complicated & expensive packages, when frankly I bought a reasonable camera to do most of the work.
I found PhotoPlus an ideal platform for the most modest changes, the ongoing tuition a great help when understanding some of what's possible i.e. hue, saturation, rgb levels & so much more.
For what I paid, I feel it is good value for money & a well thought-out software package.

ps, almost forgot, the panorama/landscape addition for those long/wide pictures has a terrific picture knitting function over three images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PhotoPlus X4 (PC)
PhotoPlus X4 (PC) by Serif (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews