Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny British comedy
I'm not a great fan of comedy films regardless of their country of origin but I do like Emily Blunt so decided to give this a go. What a treat, this is a really funny black comedy with a superb British cast. Bill Nighy is perfectly cast as uptight middle aged hitman Victor Maynard and his timing is spot on. Emily Blunt is truly charming as kleptomaniac Rose whom he is...
Published on 20 Sep 2010 by PJ Rankine

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An above average comedy remake, but something is definitely lost in translation
There's a long tradition of Hollywood remaking successful French comedies - Three Men and a Baby, Down and Out in Beverly Hills, True Lies, The Birdcage etc - but 2010's Wild Target offers the rare sight of a British remake of a French comedy, and a rather good one at that. Pierre Salvadori's 1993 version starred Jean Rochefort as meticulous hitman Victor Meynard who...
Published on 18 May 2011 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild Target is very entertaining! A Must - See!, 23 Feb 2011
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen this preview on several movies I watched here in the states, however I could never find the movie when I looked for it in the United States, so I ordered it from Amazon UK, we had to convert it over to watch in the U.S. but it was well worth it! This movie had great characters and was very entertaining! A must - see for those who love a good mystery, crime / love interest story line. It kept my attention thru the whole movie and it was very amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Delightful Rubbish, 10 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
A totally amoral, lightweight story acted in a deliberately OTT manner makes for a wonderful 94 minutes watching - no it's not art; no it isn't though provoking but above it is real fun. More the film equivalent of junk food than a gourmet meal: a guilty pleasure but not to eaten for every meal.

Having seen the French original from 1992 on which it is more or less based, I found it a much better, more tightly plotted version: however, that may just be my prejudices coming to the fore as I often find that, to me, French films tend to seem obtuse and badly constructed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable romp, 13 Jan 2011
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
This film has an old-fashioned charm, very much in the style of the Ealing comedies. Other well-known movies are referenced here - The Italian Job - 40th Anniversary Edition [DVD] [1969] and How To Steal A Million [DVD] [1966] spring to mind. The film doesn't take itself too seriously and the cast are clearly having a ball in their respective roles. One of the reasons it slipped under the radar, despite being an absolute gem, is the all British line-up - Emily Blunt, Bill Nighy, Rupert Grint, Rupert Everett, Martin Freeman, Eileen Atkins and Gregor Fisher.

The plot is fairly simple. Victor Maynard (Bill Nighy) is a solitary assassin hired by Mr Ferguson (Rupert Everett's baddie) to erase Kleptomaniac Rose (Emily Blunt) who's just swindled him out of £900,000 by selling him a forged painting. When he can't go through with it he ends up becoming her protector and acquires an apprentice (Rupert Grint) in the process. His client, now very unhappy, seeks revenge on them all by hiring another assassin (Martin Freeman) to finish the job. Victor also has to contend with a disappointed mother (Eileen Atkins) who considers his actions a disgrace to the family reputation for lethal efficiency and therefore decides to take matters into her own hands....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining black comedy romp, 13 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
Bill Nighy has always brought a strange charm to his roles. All his characters are the sort of people you like even if you aren't sure why. In Wild Target, Nighy's ability to make an unsympathetic character likeable is as strong as ever. He plays a middle aged hitman with Mother issues who's hired by Rupert Everett to take care of Emily Blunt's Rose - a small time chancer who takes whatever she wants (literally) and who is in over her head when it comes to crime. Along for the ride is Rupert Grint as a homeless kid who, as a result of being in the wrong place at the wrong time, becomes a sort of apprentice assassin and a surrogate brother to Rose.

The whole thing is farcical and a little campy but it's also very funny with great performances from the three leads as well as Martin Freeman as another assassin. If there's a complaint to made, it's that the script could have done with some development when it comes to Grint's character as well as tidying up the issue with the painting and one of the gangsters as this just seems to be forgotten.

In any case, this is a fun, undemanding film and one which I enjoyed very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly off-target, 2 Jan 2011
By 
Peter R (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
A random choice to please the ladies during our christmas film-fest, none of us really knew what to expect from this film other than it had a decent cast.

Bill Nighy does a good job of playing an ageing hit-man although if you took him out of this film and put him into any other he would act exactly the same. However, it works with this film.

The other characters are all played in an acceptable manner and Emily Blunt is sufficiently irritating as the hitman's rather spoilt and clever target.

At the end of the film we all felt that the French would have made it better - this was before we realised that this is a British remake of the original 1992 French version Wild Target [DVD] [1992]

So it is a British film trying to be a French film and so this film gets stuck somewhere in the middle and is therefore rather unsatisfying.

I haven't seen the French version but I suspect it will be vastly more entertaining than this British remake because the French are masters at this sort of humour. Had they decided to make it a British film rather than a British version of a French film it would have worked much better and could have been a lot funnier.

Having said that, if you want a lazy afternoon or evening and want something mildly interesting to pass the time then this will do just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Neither one thing or t'other., 23 Mar 2012
By 
P. WILLIAMS "huggy bear" (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
Unfortunately as much as I like the three leads in this film,Bill Nighy (Love Actually, Underworld) who is Victor Maynard the quiet, well-mannered but super efficient hitman,hired to take-out lovely Emily Blunt(The Young Victoria, The Wolfman)who swindles Rupert Everett out of a bundle of cash for a fake Rembrandt and Rupert Grint who plays Victors apprentice,(Grint proving there IS life after Harry Potter),I just struggled to laugh at this black-comedy as much as I tried or wanted to.
Of course there were SOME funny parts though in truth I have a job to remember them and most of the resulting-situations can be seen 10 minutes before they happen, eg. when the boots are placed outside the hotel room!
Jonathan Lynn has Directed some pretty good films over the years but personally I found this to be a let-down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug 2014
By 
R. Brannon "popye" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
OK not on of Bill Nighys better ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middle of the road, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
I buy a lot of DVD's and this one was one of the middle rated ones. I've seen better but I've also seen so much worse. The plot is a little ridiculous and you can see where the story is going from a mile away. Never the less it was an easy family film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Playing murder for laughs, 8 Mar 2011
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
Victor Maynard (Bill Nighy) is an erudite, posh gentleman who also happens to be a professional hit man. Hired to terminate Rosie (Emily Blunt), a pretty young thief, he instead falls for her. On the run from the men who hired him, they are accompanied by a confused stoner (Rupert Grint) as they hide out till the coast is clear.

I always enjoy the wonderful Bill Nighy and he has many witty scenes early on; unfortunately, none of them are shared with Blunt or Grint. Blunt's character is thoroughly unlikable and she has no romantic chemistry with Victor; Grint's drifter serves no purpose in the story, he's awkward, and mumbles his dialogue. The film starts out promising enough as we watch Victor alone, but once the three come together it's absurd and silly.

This is an okay rental, just don't expect big laughs or a plausible script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Target [Blu-ray]
Wild Target [Blu-ray] by Jonathan Lynn (Blu-ray - 2010)
£7.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews