Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny British comedy
I'm not a great fan of comedy films regardless of their country of origin but I do like Emily Blunt so decided to give this a go. What a treat, this is a really funny black comedy with a superb British cast. Bill Nighy is perfectly cast as uptight middle aged hitman Victor Maynard and his timing is spot on. Emily Blunt is truly charming as kleptomaniac Rose whom he is...
Published on 20 Sep 2010 by PJ Rankine

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a waste of a good cast
Not since Cockneys vs Zombies has a stellar cast been so wasted. A truly terrible film, avoid at all costs.
Published 1 month ago by T. Allen


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny British comedy, 20 Sep 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not a great fan of comedy films regardless of their country of origin but I do like Emily Blunt so decided to give this a go. What a treat, this is a really funny black comedy with a superb British cast. Bill Nighy is perfectly cast as uptight middle aged hitman Victor Maynard and his timing is spot on. Emily Blunt is truly charming as kleptomaniac Rose whom he is originally hired to kill but falls in love and Rupert Grint demonstrates that of all the Harry Potter kids he is the one most likely to break free. Rupert Everett is suitably sinister as the villain of the piece and the rest of the ensemble though lesser known to film fans perhaps all do a sterling job. This may not have you laughing out loud but it had me chuckling all the way through. Finally I have to add that the quality of the dvd I watched was so good I had to remind myself that I wasn't watching a blu ray. Buy this, you won't be disappointed. A single one star review does not a bad film make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...It's A Rembrandt! Oh Yeah! And Where Does He Live Then?" - Wild Target on BLU RAY, 13 April 2011
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
I had a feeling from seeing the trailer for "Wild Target" that I'd enjoy it - and like many others - I was more than pleasantly surprised.

Jonathan Lynn's 2009 film is a hugely enjoyable romp - a kicking little movie with a very witty and warm script. That it stars the truly scrumptious Emily Blunt is good enough for most guys - but mix in real comedic talent like Bill Nighy, Rupert Everett, Martin Freeman and Gregor Fisher - and you're going to have your funny bones tickled - a lot.

What's also unexpected is the genuine (if unlikely) chemistry between Blunt and Nighy. And while the camera simply adores our Em in every scene she appears in - it's Nighy who's steals the entire film. He is just superb as the twitchy po-faced assassin Victor Maynard still unable to live without his mother and properly pleased with his lifetime of strangulations, poisonings and a good clean bullet in the head (his preferred trademark). His mad upper-crust mother Louisa has even made him a lovely newspaper-clippings memento of all these killings and put them in a scrapbook for his 52nd birthday (how thoughtful). Veteran and classy British actress Eileen Atkins gives an equally scene-stealing performance here too - a great combo with Nighy.

The story goes like his - Ruby (Blunt) falsifies a rare painting, pawns it off on bad guy Rupert Everett for a cool million quid, but gets rumbled. Victor is called in to `remove' said rumbler. But of course he is completely unhinged by the lovely kleptomaniac Rose and their initial mutual loathing eventually develops into something worth fighting for. Rose doesn't need to be extinguished by Victor, but protected by him instead (even if it costs 30,000 a week to do so). And Rupert Grint (Ron Weasley from Harry Potter) is cleverly cast too as the footloose and parentless young lad Tony - who simply gets tangled up in the whole shooting match, but turns out to have natural gun-slinging capabilities - and therefore become the apprentice Victor never had. They form an unlikely trio as (slightly bumbling) professional killers pursue them (Martin Freeman and a very funny Geoff Bell).

Hardly original stuff I know - but as other reviewers have said, I'd rather watch this 'again' than sit through some of the truly awful rom-com pap thrown at us these days by Hollywood. It may not be an oil painting, but it's a bloody good copy mate.

Like "Tamara Drew" - "Wild Target" is a very likeable British Ealing-Comedy kind of movie - with a great cast and a very, very witty script.
It's a good night in and well worth a punt. And the BLU RAY is cheap too.

I'm off now to dream of lovely Emily and put down the fact that's she's happily married as a minor inconvenience and trivial detail...

BLU RAY Specifications:
EXTRAS: Cast & Crew Interviews
VIDEO: High Definition 1080p 24/16.9 2.35:1 Aspect
AUDIO: DTS-HD Master Audio English 5.1
SUBTITLES: English SDH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! One of the best movies of the year!, 25 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Martyn R. Yates (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
I went into this movie really not sure what to expect. Given that there had been some films recently which had lots of stars and failed as being any form of entertainment [Hello Valentine's day and Killers!]. I loved this movie! Sure, it's not got a complicated plot but I think that's what makes it work. It's just a good bit of fun. I laughed several times. Very funny movie. I loved the cast. Emily Blunt is on top form as always, Bill Nighy is great as usual but for me the cast member who impressed me the most has to be Martin Freeman. His performance was chilling, really quite amazing. I didn't think he would be able to pull of a sadistic hitman but he pulled it off. A fantastic performance. I did like Rupert Grint as well. I loved the lobby scene "He tried to kill me" [runs with luggage] [Emily Blunt comes by soon after with her suitcase shouting "WAIT! WAIT!] Hands down the funniest moment in the entire movie.

Rupert Everett also really impressed me. He was great. It wasn't particularly any different from what he played before [he was a meanie in Shrek 2] but I expected him to play the same kind of role. He did it superbly. I loved the music in the movie. So much so I even bought the soundtrack. I love music in films, it really creates the tone for the film and gets you into the film basically [like the music did for this film].

Overall rating: 10/10
One of the better comedies this year [better than Grown ups, Knight and Day, Dinner for schmucks, The other guys- just to name a few]. If you're into a movie like this where there isn't a complicated plot as such but a very straight forward one and if you're a fan of Emily Blunt, Bill Nighy or Rupert Grint or all of them then I definetly recommend checking it out. On one final note, it turns out I'm one of the only people who have seen this film like the other reviewers. Spread the word about this movie, heck even I will just to get more people to watch it [getting the family to watch it in 2 weeks when it comes out on dvd] because this movie deserves it. It's a brilliant movie. I loved it and can't wait to see it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wild target, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
This film has Bill Nighy and Emily Blunt who worked so well together in Gideon's Daughter. In this film they are complete opposites and of course she is much younger. But the chemistry is still there. He works to perfection as a hit man whilst she is a slap happy compulsive kleptomaniac. What they do have in common is a no morals attitude. Good supporting cast with Rupert Everett, Martin Freeman and Rupert Grint make this a very entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a waste of a good cast, 24 May 2014
By 
T. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Target (DVD)
Not since Cockneys vs Zombies has a stellar cast been so wasted. A truly terrible film, avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wild target: Not wild about this film, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
This is an OK film. It's not worth (IMHO) the fulsome praise lavished on it by some reviewers, but neither is it worth the ordure heaped upon it by others. It's a very middling film.

Bill Nighy is a hitman who falls for his latest target, and ends up protecting her whilst training up Rupert Grint who gets tangled up in his dealings and who he sees as a successor. It's an amiable comedy, with some great moments from Nighy in particular (who largely carries the film with his dry, detached demeanour). A couple of big set pieces are pretty funny but the film largely relies on charm to carry it through, and doesn't always have enough. There is some good support work from Gregor Fisher and Rupert Everett as the bad guys, especially Fisher. In all an OK film but not a great one. An inoffensive way to pass a few hours, and probably of interest to those who enjoy the old Ealing comedies such as Ladykillers, Kind Hearts and Coronets or Lavendar Hill mob (though lacking some of those films subtlety, charm or edge of dangerous darkness). 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What do you weigh?..., 27 Mar 2014
This review is from: Wild Target [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Victor Maynard is a middle-aged, solitary assassin, who lives to please his formidable mother, despite his own peerless reputation for lethal efficiency.

His professional routine is interrupted when he finds himself drawn to one of his intended victims, Rose.

He spares her life, unexpectedly acquiring in the process a young apprentice, Tony.

Believing Victor to be a private detective, his two new companions tag along, while he attempts to thwart the murderous attentions of his unhappy client....

This film should not work at all, and should be a career low for all involved, but somehow, the film manages to work, and all involved look like they are having fun whilst making this.

In the age of British film, i was not expecting something as classy as 'a Fish Called Wanda', nor was I thinking this would be amusing.

I was expecting a movie along the lines of 'carry on Columbus' or 'Alien Autopsy'.

If you can swallow the fact that Nighy and Blunt fancy each other, you are in for a treat featuring an eclectic cast of Brits.

The two leads really are fantastic in this, and if it wasn't for the chemistry between the two, this would be heavily average, if anything can possibly be.

Freeman plays a bit of a wideboy hit-man, which is a change, Grint plays a bit of a dunce, which isn't, and Everett seems to be playing the same character since Inspector Gadget.

It's not a must see movie, but if you come across it on a cold Sunday afternoon, give it a go, it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "HIDDEN GEM", 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
Found when trawling Amazon, this is a real British film gem, Bill and Emma are perfectly cast in the leading roles with an excellent supporting cast, the result? A Classic British Crime Comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny romp in the best tradition of absurd British comedy, 23 Jun 2013
By 
Dolphin (Stuck inside a cloud) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Target [DVD] (DVD)
With no idea of what to expect, I am happy to say that I found this little movie actually very funny. Normally I am not fond of "black comedy" but this unashamedly silly romp manages to stay firmly on the funny side by handling multiple killings off-screen in cartoon style (killer shoots ... BANG! person falls down ... THUMP!), showing very little blood and almost no bodies, and thus justifying its 12A or PG-13 rating.

The plot is lightweight and clearly improbable: Rose, a rebellious, happy-go-lucky kleptomaniac (delightfully played by Emily Blunt) exceeds the boundaries of her criminal abilities by pawning off a fake Rembrandt to a suave but sinister art collector (Rupert Everett, suitably chilling in a sadly limited role). Her amateur scam is quickly discovered and she finds herself the target of her victim's revenge when the furious art collector hires a meticulous, well-respected professional hit-man, Victor Maynard (brilliantly portrayed by Bill Nighy) to eliminate her. Victor comes from a long line of hit-persons, and his mother Louisa (Eileen Atkins in a hilarious, over-controlling role reminiscent of her mad mother character in "Cold Comfort Farm") is justifiably proud of her son's distinguished hired-gun career. Only this time, uncharacteristically, Victor fails to deliver his trade-mark clean shot-through-the-head and instead has time to observe his target who is clearly the wildest thing he's ever seen. After a series of chaotic mischances, Rose hires a reluctant Victor to guard her against her executioners. Victor's lonely life has not prepared him for the strange feelings he starts to experience when in Rose's presence and considerable confusion ensues.

The madcap, breathless pace of this ridiculous story is greatly enhanced by a stellar cast of supporting characters who are a joy to behold in their respective roles: Gregor Fisher (of "Para Handy" and "Scotch & Wry" fame) plays the hapless but well-meaning gofer; Martin Freeman blinds us with some astonishing dental-work, its gleeful appearance punctuating each successful hit (his character Dixon clearly enjoys his work and is thus the antithesis of Victor whose job satisfaction stems strictly from skilful execution); Dame Atkins comes close to stealing every scene she's in, which is saying something when Bill Nighy is around; and finally Rupert Grint who is amazingly funny as Tony, the joint-puffing drifter who innocently gets sucked into the chaos and discovers a hidden talent.

The director, Jonathan Lynn (best known for his superbly clever co-writing of the classic political-satire TV sagas "Yes Minister" and "Yes, Prime Minister") competently steers a faultless course with material that is solid gold but could easily have turned to lead. The script (by Lucinda Coxon) is unusually witty and firmly anchored in the best tradition of British understated but ludicrous humour, and I found plenty to laugh about but I know that this subtle approach may not be to everyone's liking. Those who worry about plot holes would have a field day here, but would totally miss the point that this is a "Casino Royal" bit of fluff that does not take itself seriously. In fact, despite the rather grim subject matter, this is a truly entertaining film which succeeds brilliantly (for me anyway) in doing exactly what most movies should, but so often fail to, do and that is, to give you many many laughs, transport you into a fantastic world where there are never any cops or police and, ultimately, leave you feeling relaxed and amused.

The extras in the DVD version consist of members of the cast answering off-screen questions ... which I found interesting. The picture quality is excellent and the musical score is enjoyable (great singing from Imelda May) without being too intrusive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Target [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It had a great cast, especially Emily Blunt as the con artist and Bill Nighy as the assassin sent to kill her. I thought it was a great hidden gem of a film that should have done better at the box office. The Blu-Ray transfer was very good quality and I was very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Target [DVD]
Wild Target [DVD] by Jonathan Lynn (DVD - 2010)
4.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews