Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing - Get this if you like the Last olf the Mohicans Soundtrack
There are a few things you need to know about this score. First off, Zimmer composed it "blind", essentially being made to work off the script, and not the finished film. This makes it an unpredictable and utterly separate work, with different pacing to the film.

He also hunted down a French sound-engineer to digitally rip out the opening trumpets from Je Ne...
Published on 3 Sept. 2010 by Hypernation

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Third time lucky?
The score represents the third collaboration between Hans Zimmer and Christopher Nolan. Building on the excellent work presented in Batman Begins and The Dark Knight, could this album possibly top the magnificence of the score for The Dark Knight - specifically the two-disc expanded edition?

Brooding, epic, grandiose and easily Zimmer's darkest score, what we...
Published on 3 Jan. 2011 by S. Hurford


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing - Get this if you like the Last olf the Mohicans Soundtrack, 3 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Inception (Audio CD)
There are a few things you need to know about this score. First off, Zimmer composed it "blind", essentially being made to work off the script, and not the finished film. This makes it an unpredictable and utterly separate work, with different pacing to the film.

He also hunted down a French sound-engineer to digitally rip out the opening trumpets from Je Ne Regrette Rien and wove it into the opening Foghorn style attacks. Slow down the Edith Piaf original and you'll hear it's the same.

Why did he do this? Well, since time stretches in a dream, so does the music. Remarkable.

Also brilliant is the track Mombassa, which has an unusual moment around 3/4 in where the brass section blast out 3 notes, all exactly an octave apart - a very unusual and uncommon moment in music. Again, it seems Zimmer may be pointing to 3 "levels" or planes within the music - of course if you compare the music to that point in the film, this "3 level" note makes perfect sense.

A wonderful, intelligent and ass-kicking album. GET IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zimmer's Genius Matches Nolan's, 20 July 2010
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inception (Audio CD)
Right up there with Zimmer's finest work on 'Gladiator' and 'The Dark Knight'. Christopher Nolan's films always feature fascinating scores and this is no exception. Dark, forbidding and utterly compelling, Zimmer's massed synthesier and orchestra conjure an almost physical wall of sound that is unrelenting and transcedent. The film is an instant classic and the score deserves to be judged likewise. A must for all movie soundtrack buffs and music lovers of any ilk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!! And all the rest..., 18 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Inception (Audio CD)
I cannot stop listening to this score. Absolutely outstanding. Nolan brings out the best of Zimmer. Like the movie, it is so layered and original. The best of the year..so far. Score and movie cannot be missed.
For a further treat, look up the Inception Premiere and Live Concert. About 7 minutes of interviews but 20 minutes of live performance. Just watch and listen.... and be moved. Emotional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inception (Music From The Motion Picture) (MP3 Download)
Time is probably the best known and remembered track but give the others a chance. The album is hans at his usual best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Hans Zimmer's best, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inception (Audio CD)
Walking out of the movie and realising that half my experience was the soundtrack. It's just amazing. Better than some of this others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hans Zimmer at his best!, 12 April 2013
By 
Pete Everett (Rayleigh Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inception (Music From The Motion Picture) (MP3 Download)
I love this soundtrack and find the score written by Hans Zimmer leaves me wanting to listen to it over and over again. A must for any soundtrack collection, made me go looking for more of his work and buying more too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inception (Music From The Motion Picture) (MP3 Download)
Watched the film recently and just had to have the soundtrack. I don't normally buy film music but why not when it is as good as this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing the Film To Life, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inception (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this film & the score to.
The score encourages empowerment, particularly making housework, Epic!
Turn it up load, let it surround & enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A strong soundtrack for a superb film, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inception (Audio CD)
This soundtrack projects very well the world of the film.
You can hear the melancholy of the character's situation in the music - Cobb's lost wife, his desperate mission to get back to his children...
Also like the excitement of the chase through Mombasa which comes across in a fast phased tune and the striving for inception that can be heard in 'Dream Within A Dream' and 'Dream Is Collapsing'.

This is a very good soundtrack for an excellent film - I would say that if you liked the film, you should buy this music.

My only criticism is that some of the tracks seem to be quieter than others, when I listen in my car I can hardly hear some of them - works ok on my iPod at home though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perception Changer, 24 Mar. 2011
By 
A. Knowles "knowlsy" (Wigan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inception (Audio CD)
I must be honest here, I am not usually one for film scores...I fully appreciate them in the context of the what is happening on screen, but have never actually listened to one in the way I have done with this album.

The score is epic and full of variety in terms of sound. It shifts from full orchestral numbers to quick and pacy tracks with fluidity. In this respect the score is well balanced and reminds you of some of the most memorable parts from the film. All in all, it is a great solid piece of work and one I have been listening to and will continue to listen to for a long time yet and that is saying something coming from me.

Just a quick note as I noticed someone mention this is another review. The track "Mind Heist" is indeed not on this album and that is quite simply because Hans Zimmer had nothing to do with that track, it was in fact by Zack Hemsey and it is easy enough to find on the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews