Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars42
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.64
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2013
Another good novel about Pendle & its inhabitants.

It's sections are told by the main characters & gives a different slant on their journey through life.

A nice way to pass a snowy weekend, reading this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
I've been fascinated by the Pendle Witches for a long time, so wanted a book that might flesh them out a bit. This isn't like other accounts I've read so far, in that it doesn't vilify the women and families involved. I don't believe the writer took too many liberties with the known facts, but I can't be certain. This was however fantastic at giving me a feel for the social circumstances of the time, grinding poverty and the fear and suspicion at a time of constant religious upheaval. It also makes you think more about why a small child would testify against her family, even if it's not the entire truth. If you're interested in these woman and what happened to them, give this a read. Just remember not to take it all as gospel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
Ooh, enjoyed this one! It tells the story of families living in Pendle Forest. The story is told by Bess Southerns (Mother Demdike) and later by her grand-daughter Alizon Device. The "witches" are herbalists, speywives and Catholics at a time when Catholicism was persecuted. It's based on actual historical events and court records. Although Bess and Alizon try to use their "powers" to help and heal, Anne Whittle (otherwise known as Chattox and Bess's best friend) turns to black magic. The atmosphere, the descriptions of poverty and the 'feeling' of the whole book seemed real. Need to search out more by this writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
The author gives a refreshingly different view of the fabled witches of Pendle Hill, painting them as simple cunning women who's powers were based in their forbidden Catholic faith. They worked for the betterment of their community until the unwanted attention of a nobleman son puts one of their daughters in danger. In this telling they are not wicked consorts of Satan but old women and their families laid low by a scheming man wishing to gain the favour of a zealot king. A good read, well recommended xXx 💙 xXx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
I've read a few volumes on this subject. This book has perhaps got far closer to the true facts of what really happened in 1612.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
This is a superb book and the very best novel about the Pendle witch trials. It is written by an author who knows her material and knows how to write. The atmosphere is brilliantly sustained and this is how it must have been. I am totally captivated and must visit the locations soon. The characters are so well drawn and so is the landscape. Read this book and know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
This is the only work I have encountered which is not a list of dry fact and the usual rehashing of 'discoverie' and 'daemonologie'. Mary Sharratt is an excellent story teller.
Reads as though it were a true eye witness account by one of the Pendle Witches themselves. Extremely enjoyable and leaves the reader wanting more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
A good read; good portrayal of the loving relationships and also the tensions between the different characters. A realistic and quite shocking portrayal of the predicament of the main characters, however, I wasn't absolutely riveted, at times the storytelling became a little 'flat'. I would try another book by the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
Oh my goodness what a book, by far the best on the subject I've read, I just could not get this book out of my head untill finished, factual, gripping, well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
A gripping fictional look into Witching Hill
and the historical events surrounding one family,
involved in the Pendle witch hunts of 1612
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.