Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daughters of the Witching Hill
The best and most powerful book about the Pendle Witches I have ever read. Living just across the Lancashire Border I am familiar with the story of Chattox and Demdike and the history of the Pendle Witches. But this book has taken me to places I could never have imagined. I was very graphically and realistically drawn into their century, into the brooding landscape of...
Published on 17 May 2010 by Mrs. Sonja Hackett

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I gave up after two chapters
I found the way this was written was not to to my taste. I was looking forward to reading this as I like this kind of history and would have found it to be interesting. I gave up after two chapters.
Published 20 months ago by Jennifer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Has stayed with me and changed me., 11 Jun 2014
This review is from: Daughters of the Witching Hill (Kindle Edition)
I read a lot of books, and this is quite simply the best book I have had the pleasure of reading. This author can write astonishingly well, and I am about to read it for the second time this fortnight. I feel as though I am right there with them, on such an emotional level. You wont regret this read and it will stay with you forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Pendle novel, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daughters of the Witching Hill (Kindle Edition)
This is a superb book and the very best novel about the Pendle witch trials. It is written by an author who knows her material and knows how to write. The atmosphere is brilliantly sustained and this is how it must have been. I am totally captivated and must visit the locations soon. The characters are so well drawn and so is the landscape. Read this book and know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 18 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh my goodness what a book, by far the best on the subject I've read, I just could not get this book out of my head untill finished, factual, gripping, well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daughters of the Witching Hill (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read. Couldnt put it down. Half way through reading it for the THIRD time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daughters of the Witching Hill, 15 May 2012
By 
Daughters of the Witching Hill. Bought this book for a birthday present and they are enjoying it at present and I'm going to read it afterwards. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Intriguing story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I gave up after two chapters, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daughters of the Witching Hill (Kindle Edition)
I found the way this was written was not to to my taste. I was looking forward to reading this as I like this kind of history and would have found it to be interesting. I gave up after two chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daughters of the Witching Hill
£5.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews