Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
43
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.64
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2016
I've been fascinated by the Pendle Witches for a long time, so wanted a book that might flesh them out a bit. This isn't like other accounts I've read so far, in that it doesn't vilify the women and families involved. I don't believe the writer took too many liberties with the known facts, but I can't be certain. This was however fantastic at giving me a feel for the social circumstances of the time, grinding poverty and the fear and suspicion at a time of constant religious upheaval. It also makes you think more about why a small child would testify against her family, even if it's not the entire truth. If you're interested in these woman and what happened to them, give this a read. Just remember not to take it all as gospel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
This is a sumptuously written book you can really lose yourself in. Mary Sharratt does a fabulous job of bringing the characters to life, keeping their voices distinct and consistent, so you really do get to vicariously live their experiences. Which is at times rather terrifying! I'd thoroughly recommend this to anyone who likes historical fiction, historical fantasies, or has an interest in the subject of witches and wisewomen. A great book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Daughters of the Witching Hill speaks to the time of the beginning of the 15th century and the wise women of Pendle Hill and Forest. At turns fascinating, funny, and tragic, the insanely patriarchal society and lack of educational opportunity, creates an almost impossible environment for very human women of intuition, healing, imagination, and with the very real need to survive. Add to the mix religious factions and power, brutality and poverty, sexism, and a rigid class system, and one has a very well drawn and excellent read of the times that were in it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
A brilliant, very well written period book.
The style of writing is excellent.
The dialogue so realistic.
The storyline very assured.
Quite a sad book to, but very much recommended.
Buy it!
10/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
The author gives a refreshingly different view of the fabled witches of Pendle Hill, painting them as simple cunning women who's powers were based in their forbidden Catholic faith. They worked for the betterment of their community until the unwanted attention of a nobleman son puts one of their daughters in danger. In this telling they are not wicked consorts of Satan but old women and their families laid low by a scheming man wishing to gain the favour of a zealot king. A good read, well recommended xXx 💙 xXx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
This is a superb book and the very best novel about the Pendle witch trials. It is written by an author who knows her material and knows how to write. The atmosphere is brilliantly sustained and this is how it must have been. I am totally captivated and must visit the locations soon. The characters are so well drawn and so is the landscape. Read this book and know.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
This is one of the best novels about traditional witchcraft I have ever read. The historical research is impeccable - with the grinding reality of the poverty and superstition of the time made clear to the reader. The characters are believeable and their tragic story unfolds beautifully. I am recommending this book to all of my friends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2012
I haven't yet finished reading this book but it won't take me long as I have trouble in putting it down.

It's unlike anything I've read before and I'm enthralled with the story. An excellent read.

Only one thing puzzles me - I find it hard to believe that the expression 'it did my head in' would be used in the time the story was set!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2010
Being a fan of the history of the Lancashire Witches, I read this book with interest. Mary has achieved the atmosphere and historical details to make it a compelling book to read. It is a page turner and I hope she has a sequel in mind!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
A good read; good portrayal of the loving relationships and also the tensions between the different characters. A realistic and quite shocking portrayal of the predicament of the main characters, however, I wasn't absolutely riveted, at times the storytelling became a little 'flat'. I would try another book by the author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.