Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel
If you've already read One Dog at a Time, then No Place Like Home picks up where that book left off. We get to hear what happened after Royal Marine, Pen Farthing, brought his two stray Afghan dogs Tali and Nowzad, back from Afghanistan, home to the UK. Nowzad Dogs charity, founded by Pen, does much good work, rescuing stray dogs and trying to raise awareness of animal...
Published on 13 Aug. 2010 by paperboat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dog rescue
An insight into dog rescue in Afganistan, and the life of dogs in general in that country. Very sad in places but Pen Farthing is doing his best for a few lucky dogs.
Published 9 months ago by sheila ann bennett


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel, 13 Aug. 2010
By 
paperboat (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Place Like Home (Hardcover)
If you've already read One Dog at a Time, then No Place Like Home picks up where that book left off. We get to hear what happened after Royal Marine, Pen Farthing, brought his two stray Afghan dogs Tali and Nowzad, back from Afghanistan, home to the UK. Nowzad Dogs charity, founded by Pen, does much good work, rescuing stray dogs and trying to raise awareness of animal welfare issues in Afghanistan (no easy task). Pen is a genuinely good bloke, I have much respect for him and he works EXTREMELY hard for this cause. Animal lovers everywhere will enjoy this story of hope and achievement. I recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Says it as it is, 29 Oct. 2010
By 
Daniel Park "danielpark99" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Place Like Home (Hardcover)
Although it is great fun to read about the various canine goings-on, the key to Farthing's style is the way he engages the reader with a simple direct appeal which does not fade over time. This comes from a keen passion sadly lacking in today's society. It proves that Farthing is more a doer than an author, and that his writing is a means to an end in terms of his campaigning agenda. It is none the worse for that. I'd rather have his "say it as it is" style than a hundred works of elegant but empty prose any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book should read, 3 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. J. W. Langford (Pettinain,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Place Like Home (Hardcover)
I read this book and couldn't put it down, Pen should be recommended for a medal for the time he put in for the dogs under such a hard regime where they don't like dogs. If the world was full of people like the author more dogs would be in a happy family. Well worth the read and highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like dogs you'll love this, 28 July 2010
By 
F. Tibbitt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Place Like Home (Hardcover)
The story so far: Pen was serving in Afghanistan and somehow ended up being adopted by various stray dogs. He attempts to bring them home to the UK when his term ends, and this wonderful new memoir sees him settling his Afghan dogs into his 'everyday' life. We also see Pen's charity build as he finds himself helping more and more dogs who've found military friends start new lives in the West. It was lovely to catch up again with Nowzad and Tali, and Pen is incredibly inspiring - as well as being a very funny and self-deprecating storyteller. I'm a huge fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a nice update, 1 Dec. 2010
By 
This review is from: No Place Like Home (Hardcover)
This is the follow on to one dog at a time (which is essential reading)

It is nice to get an idea of how the dogs settled back into life in the UK and how the charity slowly gained momentum

I have even more admiration for Pen and especially for his wife Lisa who appears to take all of the disruption in her stride
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 12 Oct. 2010
This review is from: No Place Like Home (Hardcover)
I am not a great reader but this book I just could not put down, what a fantastic job Pen and his wife do for the dogs in Afghanistan. A really captivating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pulls at your heart strings especially dog lovers, 25 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS IS A FANTASTIC BOOK NO PLACE LIKE HOME, PENN FARTHING REALLY LAID HIS HEART OPEN TO ALL THESE LOST DOGS WHO BEFRIEND SOLDIERS OUT IN AWFUL SITUATIONS AND THE SOLDIERS IN RETURN LIKE PENN FIND THEY MUST RESCUE THIS WONDERFUL ANIMAL WHICH HAS BEEN SO LOYAL IN ALL THE ACTION OF FIGHTING AND BOMBING AS THEY BRING HOPE OF HOME AND COMFORT.
PENN TELLS HIS STORY AND MANY OTHER SOLDIERS STORY IN A OPEN NO HOLES ROUGH AND READY WAY AND THIS IS HOW YOU GET DRAWN INTO THIS WONDERFUL BOOK IT HAS SADDNESS AND HUMOUR AND TOUCHES YOU DEEPLY.
EXCELLENT READ BRILLIANT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calling all animal lovers!, 19 April 2011
By 
Mr. A. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After finding out that there was a sequel to "One dog at a time", I ordered it straight away. It took me three days to read it, and I found myself reading it early in the morning before work! What a truly wonderful book. The first one was tear-jerking, this one was funny and I could really relate to the author having rescue dogs with issues myself! I highly recommend both books, and in my doubt they are the best dog books out! Respect to Lisa and Pen Farthing. Wish there were more people like them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Place like Home, 19 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place Like Home (Hardcover)
As a dog lover I was drawn ro this book and I was not sorry . The book lived up to my expections. It gives a full discription of all the experences the the owner and the dog go through during and after their retun home from the war zone , this covered the battle to get the dog home to England and all the red tape invoved. I could not put the book down once I stared to read. It is different with a completly different life of a dog and the bond between owner and dog .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb follow-on from One Dog At A Time, 1 April 2011
By 
After reading One Dog At A Time it left me wanting to know what happened next and this book tells it all. It is about what happened when Pen's Afghan rescue dogs arrived home, from the settling in to appearing at Crufts and the journey in between, not just for the dogs but Pen too! Just as rivetting as his first book, it will grab your interest from the first page to the last and leave you wanting yet more! A MUST BUY FOR ANY DOG LOVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews