Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decade on, Orbit provides a worthy sequel
Mr. Orbit's first Pieces collection (in 2000) was an enjoyable set of electronic interpretations of classical themes, and now he's come out with another dozen Pieces. Where in the first collection he took on Barber, Ravel and Satie, this time it's Elgar, Faure and Grieg. As before, what Orbit does with these pieces is a poppier, less sterile version of Wendy Carlos'...
Published on 2 Sept. 2010 by Bill Merrill

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Listen before buying
Sorry to contradict the other reviews here, but I really thought this was a really poor album. I really enjoyed the first 'Pieces in a Modern Style' Album and bought this without hesitation. However, on listening to it, I was severely disappointed. Peer Gynt 'murdered'. String release times out of step. The only half decent track was Faures' Pavane which sounded like an...
Published on 3 Nov. 2010 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decade on, Orbit provides a worthy sequel, 2 Sept. 2010
By 
Bill Merrill (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pieces In A Modern Style 2 [2 Disc Edition] (Audio CD)
Mr. Orbit's first Pieces collection (in 2000) was an enjoyable set of electronic interpretations of classical themes, and now he's come out with another dozen Pieces. Where in the first collection he took on Barber, Ravel and Satie, this time it's Elgar, Faure and Grieg. As before, what Orbit does with these pieces is a poppier, less sterile version of Wendy Carlos' synth classics. And once again, he's put out additional bonus tracks, on the 2nd disc of this 2-CD edition. The bonus disc features five additional new pieces, plus guest remixes of themes from the primary album. My favorite among these 2010 Pieces is the shimmering, delightful "Aquarium" (from Saint-Saens); an initially unrecognisable, futuristic-sounding "Peer Gynt;" and the "robots in love" feeling of "Paradisum." But all dozen are relatively good. I'm less enamored of the bonus disc. For example, I think Orbit was wise in leaving his "Carmen" off of the main album; it's rather ordinary. As for the remixes, by people such as Digweed and Timo Maas, they succeed only in sounding like the latest dance tracks you might hear in a generic dance club. But then I'm not as much into that sort of thing, so take that for what it's worth. By the way, there is a companion CD of the classical originals of these Pieces also available (something also done in 2000). It's called Pieces in the Original Style 2, also on Decca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a curate's egg, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Pieces In A Modern Style 2 [2 Disc Edition] (Audio CD)
William Orbit is an exciting producer and Volume 1 was excellent. This collection Volume 2 is less assured. I liked 'Nimrod' and 'Swan Lake' very much; they seemed to be in keeping with the ethos of Volume 1; classy, interesting and engaging. The bonus CD with the remixes, unfortunately, is the let down. The artistes are less confident and exciting as William Orbit. However, I would buy Volume 3 because of William Orbit's contribution but not because of any 'remix bonus' tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Listen before buying, 3 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Pieces In A Modern Style 2 [2 Disc Edition] (Audio CD)
Sorry to contradict the other reviews here, but I really thought this was a really poor album. I really enjoyed the first 'Pieces in a Modern Style' Album and bought this without hesitation. However, on listening to it, I was severely disappointed. Peer Gynt 'murdered'. String release times out of step. The only half decent track was Faures' Pavane which sounded like an ametuerish MIDI track... Definitely listen before purchasing. Sorry, but a lazy effort in comparison to the first album. I like the idea of using modern technology to update and popularise the classics, but this album is a backwards step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A clever modern take on classical tunes - one of ..., 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces In A Modern Style 2 [2 Disc Edition] (Audio CD)
A clever modern take on classical tunes - one of the few albums I can listen to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Strange Cargo of tunes for Orbit, 13 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: Pieces In A Modern Style 2 [2 Disc Edition] (Audio CD)
Those of you who liked the first Pieces in a Modern Style will probably like the first CD of this 2 CD set. The second CD is a cop out. It sounds like Orbit has let his talentless chums into a studio full of electronic instruments and they've resorted to no semblance of the original tunes and added lots of bass and drums. I suspect I'm not modern enough for the second CD. A strange cargo, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pieces in a Modern Style 2, 23 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces In A Modern Style 2 [2 Disc Edition] (Audio CD)
This is a MUST for all William Orbit fans everywhere. An excellent 2CD set which I feel surpasses his previous works - absolutely brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absoloute waste of money!! Rubbish!, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Pieces In A Modern Style 2 [2 Disc Edition] (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to getting this cd but its complete rubbish! I would now give it away if someone wanted it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLISS BEYOND ALL THE BLISS EVER THERE WAS!!, 24 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Pieces In A Modern Style 2 [2 Disc Edition] (Audio CD)
Well,I've only just discovered this,William Orbits latest release, & so I've only heard these few snippets here but WOW,that's pure Heaven On Earth in a music style if ever there were, William Orbit just gets BETTER with each production so long may he reign Bless Him :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 10 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces In A Modern Style 2 [2 Disc Edition] (Audio CD)
I bought this at the same time as 'Pieces in a modern style 1' & gave em both to my brother. He likes classical music & is boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terrific ! from the best producer of the world, 19 Aug. 2010
By 
Yasser H. Alzahrani (dammam sudia arabia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pieces In A Modern Style 2 [2 Disc Edition] (Audio CD)
i just hear the sampels from william orbit site and it sound fantastic!! buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pieces In A Modern Style 2 [2 Disc Edition]
Pieces In A Modern Style 2 [2 Disc Edition] by William Orbit (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews