Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The main-stream side of dubstep without a compromise on quality
I loved Skream's first album, but then haven't really followed what he was up to since then. I bought this on a whim kind of expecting it to be more of the same. It is very different, but not in a bad way - and I have been quite interested to here the evolution of his style. It's definitely much much more commercial sounding, and actually quite a lot of the tracks aren't...
Published on 13 Dec 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There is only one word to describe this album
And that is "Lazy". If you know how to use keyboard presets, autotune and copy+paste apparently you are a "producer".
Published on 28 Sep 2010 by Michael P. Fothergill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The main-stream side of dubstep without a compromise on quality, 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: Outside The Box (Audio CD)
I loved Skream's first album, but then haven't really followed what he was up to since then. I bought this on a whim kind of expecting it to be more of the same. It is very different, but not in a bad way - and I have been quite interested to here the evolution of his style. It's definitely much much more commercial sounding, and actually quite a lot of the tracks aren't even dubstep at all. However, commercial doesn't mean rubbish - if you're familiar with Apparat it's kind of similar, purely in the sense that it's a very polished, main-stream produced sound but still actually good.

Addition to initial review 6 months later : I just upped this from 4 stars to 5, it is now one of my favourite albums. It's such a grower, completely first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different side of dubstep, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: Outside The Box (Audio CD)
I bought this after hearing the "where you should be" track on annie mac and can say I wasn't disappointed, this album is everything I'd expect from a producer such a skream with his laid back melodic beats, he clearly hasn't forgotten his roots by just packin full of main stream dubstep thats started to flood in as he's included some tracks that would fit easily into an old dubstep all stars ep. Not only that but you can tell how far he's come as a producer after listening to his early stuff and i think he's finally established his own sound.

If your just getting in to dubstep you might now appreciate this album as much as i did but i'd still recommend it as its one of those albums that grows on you every time you listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
R. P. M. Bizley (Lyme Regis, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outside The Box (Audio CD)
Great value, quick service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic crossovers in genres, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside The Box (Audio CD)
Loved skream's remix of La Roux, so thought I'd see what the rest of his stuff was like.
awesome ambients and instrumentals, brilliant appliaction of dubstep to other genres
very pleased with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure class..., 7 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Outside The Box (MP3 Download)
How some moron could tag this album with the word " Lazy" is incomprehensible..
The reviewer... (Michael P Fothergill) is either one of the UK`s top up and coming producers or just yet another web troll .... most likely the latter...

This is one hell of an album....from a really clever young producer who i hope is gonna be making music like this for a long long time..

Play this on a quality stereo, turn it up loud...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside The Box (Audio CD)
Great, Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There is only one word to describe this album, 28 Sep 2010
This review is from: Outside The Box (Audio CD)
And that is "Lazy". If you know how to use keyboard presets, autotune and copy+paste apparently you are a "producer".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outside The Box
Outside The Box by Skream (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews