Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and well acted but needed to be longer to do the book justice!
Having read the book many times and listened to the Michael Jayston reading on BBC Radio 4 a number of times, I thought I would revisit the TV version which has not been seen in the UK for many years.

This re-telling leaves out a lot of the original story but, all said and done, is still entertaining. Aside from the changes made, especially at the end, I...
Published on 14 Jun. 2012 by Phimo

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended
I love Peter O'Tool, but he was not suited for this role. The book is excellent with plenty of drama which is sadly lacking in this film.
Published 4 months ago by Sue Dent


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and well acted but needed to be longer to do the book justice!, 14 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Male (DVD) Peter O'Toole Clive Donner (DVD)
Having read the book many times and listened to the Michael Jayston reading on BBC Radio 4 a number of times, I thought I would revisit the TV version which has not been seen in the UK for many years.

This re-telling leaves out a lot of the original story but, all said and done, is still entertaining. Aside from the changes made, especially at the end, I enjoyed this version. The makers should have made it a mini series and perhaps tagged the sequel, "Rogue Justice" on to the end.

Not one of O'Toole's best roles but John Standing is excellent. This is the Polish release which, apparently, is the best quality one available but the film is the original and is only subtitled in Polish which you can turn off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than the Book- O'Toole is Magnificent., 8 Nov. 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rogue Male (DVD) Peter O'Toole Clive Donner (DVD)
I first saw this magnificent film years ago. The acting story and plot simply blew me away it was that good. I sat and watched it throughout with no distractions nor breaks.

Peter O'Toole is magnificent as the Upper Class hero who seeks revenge for his fiancée's cruel death due to the Nazis. His revenge? To assassinate Hitler.

As we all know he didn't succeed and here the story sets off on a cracking pace. Tortured by the Nazis (I won't give details!) He escapes and thanks to a WW1 German ex POW who respected the British he gets back to England. But here the plot twist even further, Britain is not at war with the Germans you see the Aristo's have more German cousins than even Queen Victoria had! So he is on his own!
Soon framed he goes on the run. The Nazis seek to kill our hero so he goes to ground in England.
Now imagine hiding yourself in rural England so no one knows you are there? A top English Lord/ Nazi agent is set to find him and does so. Here

I won't spoil the plot but I was in tears at one incident!! And cheered at another.

This is the only film that I have seen that is better than the Geoffrey Household book. O'Toole is simply magnificent and I believe this to be better than his Lawrence portrayal (some praise indeed).

The ending on the film comes with regret that such a great film could go on for longer rather than some of today's offerings where the finish is a relief. I guarantee you will enjoy this film and it will stay with you a long time.

Worth a chance?
Yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Male - in retrospect?, 26 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can just about remember watching Rogue Male on television as I recall in the early seventies,a B.B.C.production.At the time I thought it was great
and awaited the chance to see it again on television,this did not happen and so I was happy to see that it was available on DVD and brought a copy.
First of all the quality of the film is not as good as normal,considering this is a expensive DVD,but more than good enough to view.So how does it stand
up now,having recently read the original book by Geoffrey Household,I was aware of the story plot and feel that no great liberties have been taken in
respect of this television production,it was great to see Peter O,Toole at his best with a great cast of supporting actors,all of whom gave good
performances and went on to become household names on British mainstream television and in some cases film.If you have read the book and enjoyed it and
would like to view a solid slab of old time British television story telling then give it ago,but be aware the quality can only be described as reasonable
and at time of my purchase,expensive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD REVIEW, 11 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent service and a delight to find a dvd of my favourite book that I did not know existed. I think that you should make people aware that the delivery is from Poland and therefore may take a few days more to arrive than expected. Thanks anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I Say, is that Upper Lip Quite Stiff Enough ?, 28 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Rogue Male (DVD) Peter O'Toole Clive Donner (DVD)
Of its type, this is an outstanding novel by Geoffrey Household; superb British derring-do and excitingly plotted. Could have been a great target for "Ripping Yarns"

In the main, this transfer to the small screen is excellent, with a vey good performance by O'Toole and a good supporting cast. Obviously shot for the small screen, with tight shots, this isn't by any means a good conversion to video, but the content is what interests me on this occasions, so I don't mind the occasional flash, colour blast and 625 lines. You may, however. I would only like it to be longer

Since I saw this when it was on the BEEB, I've also seen the excellent Fritz Lang/ Walter Pidgeon (hope I got that right) movie, which is a good movie, but vitiates the theme with its so obviously wartime flag-waving. "Oh say can you see ?.." rather than "Rule Britannia..."

This is good, faithful to the book, and well due for a remake. With the right cast and script, there's a cracking mini series here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars POLISH VERSION OF ROGUE MALE, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Male (DVD) Peter O'Toole Clive Donner (DVD)
ALTHOUGH A POLISH VERSION IT WAS EASY TO FOLLOW THE SELLER'S INSTRUCTIONS TO ACCESS ENGLISH LANGUAGE. WOULD HAVE PREFERRED THAT FILM FOLLOWED THE ORIGINAL STORY FROM THE BOOK WHICH WAS NOT SET IN NAZI GERMANY BUT IT IS STILL A GOOD FILM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Male (DVD) Peter O'Toole Clive Donner (DVD)
I love Peter O'Tool, but he was not suited for this role. The book is excellent with plenty of drama which is sadly lacking in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Male (DVD) Peter O'Toole Clive Donner (DVD)
Just as I remembered it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Male (DVD) Peter O'Toole Clive Donner (DVD)
great movie
poor repo from polish print
superbe acting o'tool just exquisit
great to see taggart wi nae murdurs in maryhull
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Male, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Male (DVD) Peter O'Toole Clive Donner (DVD)
After having read the book, which is brilliant and so interesting, the film does not make sense and is not convincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rogue Male (DVD) Peter O'Toole Clive Donner
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews