Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute tonic
Why this remarkable little-known series barely saw light of day on the box I will never understand. In my view this is one of the best comedy series ever made and if you even remotely like Joanna Lumley you'll love this. The witty script and superb casting make for a hilarious series that is hard to beat. It's such a tonic in these days of dreary television, the only...
Published on 19 Mar 2011 by Lainey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Job Johanna is in it
Found this a little dated beyond its real age. JL is splendid as she would be in any production and without her this would fall into clumsy farce. Really surprised it is rated so highly in many reviews. Having said that it is worthy of note that it did have a short run as a series.
Published 10 months ago by anthony g potter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute tonic, 19 Mar 2011
This review is from: Class Act - The Complete Series [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Why this remarkable little-known series barely saw light of day on the box I will never understand. In my view this is one of the best comedy series ever made and if you even remotely like Joanna Lumley you'll love this. The witty script and superb casting make for a hilarious series that is hard to beat. It's such a tonic in these days of dreary television, the only problem is...I wish there was more of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Wry., 28 Aug 2011
This review is from: Class Act - The Complete Series [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
The comedic chemistry between the three leads is delightful to watch, it's snappily written and well acted. The plots can be a little ridiculous sometimes, but you're so wrapped up in the fun that it really doesn't matter that much. All in all a thoroughly entertaining series, it's a real shame that there's only fourteen episode. If you're a fan of Joanna Lumley, this is essential viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joanna Lumley: Class Act Series 1 & 2, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Act - The Complete Series [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
"Absolutely Brilliant"
Would definately buy it again.
Pure entertainment.
BBC should put this back On Air.
Joanna Lumley and Co at their very best.
Hilarious and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Job Johanna is in it, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Act - The Complete Series [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Found this a little dated beyond its real age. JL is splendid as she would be in any production and without her this would fall into clumsy farce. Really surprised it is rated so highly in many reviews. Having said that it is worthy of note that it did have a short run as a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull,, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Act - The Complete Series [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I love this series and was so pleased when I realised there was a DVD, A really fun adventure about Two ex Cons with lots of scams to pull,
Great guest stars in each series,
Great acting, Loved it..
Shelagh,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a treat!, 12 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Act - The Complete Series [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This series is splendid entertainment! It is wickedly funny, clever, slick and polished. Joanna Lumley is outstanding but all the actors give great performances. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 3 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Act - The Complete Series [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I saw this and taped it (on video!)the first time around and really enjoyed it and revisiting it until my VCR finally gave up the ghost at the end of the 90s so I was pleased to find that it had been released on DVD.

I think the characters and storylines are superbly over the top but that is one of the series charms. It is great to see these unlikely comrades thrown together. I think it is well written, funny, sad in some parts. The side characters are great too...Insp Latham and Kate's father played by the great and sadly missed Richard Vernon.

There are a lot of stereotypes but then you realise that you probably have come across a Kate or a Gloria in real life anyway.

I really loved it and still love it. Lots and lots of fun. Such a shame they didn't commission a third series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldies but goodies, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: Class Act - The Complete Series [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Having missed a lot of the episodes when it was first shown I bought it now from Amazon to relive the experience and it did not disappoint. The casting is great and all of them including the duck give a fine performance. British comedy at its best, and a shame that it finished abruptly before a final series was made. JL is my age, but looks a lot better than me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Class Act, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Act - The Complete Series [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I was disappointed that there were no english subtitles because it was sometimes difficult to hear the conversation. The plastic cover was also damaged, probaly while in transit-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars subtitles, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class Act - The Complete Series [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
'Class Act' does not have any subtitles, in case any potential buyer should care to know. This is a pity. Daddy is mumbling quite a lot which makes him very difficult to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Class Act - The Complete Series [DVD] [1994]
Class Act - The Complete Series [DVD] [1994] by Joanna Lumley (DVD - 2010)
£19.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews