Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Second Book in this Series
The Siren is the second book in Alison Bruce's new detective series, set in Cambridge and featuring DC Gary Goodhew. This is the follow up to Cambridge Blue which I reviewed back in April.
Gary Goodhew is younger and just that little bit different to the usual Detective and in this story he is still bucking the trend, taking massive chances and finding it difficult...
Published on 24 July 2010 by Lincs Reader

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Edited?
No-one else has mentioned this so maybe it is just me but where did DC Kincaide disappear to 87% of the way through this book? He was first on the scene in a pivotal moment screws up big time but then never appears again throughout the book. His deriliction of duty is never referred to either. There is also one point in the book where the time threads are way out. I...
Published on 21 Sep 2012 by D. W. Lees


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me I am afraid, 24 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Siren (Dc Goodhew Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Confusing and the characters have silly names!
The only redeeming feature is that it is based in Cambrige which I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking story, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Siren (Dc Goodhew Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Gary Goodhew's second investigation involves arson, murder and kidnapping. There's a new detective on the team, Sue Gully, and Michael Kincaide has set her up against Goodhew. There are plenty of humorous moments in the shenanigans of the police officers, quite apart from the seriousness of the investigation itself. Goodhew's friend Bryn and grandmother make further appearances in this novel and the admin assistant he was attracted to in Cambridge Blue leaves the station for a new life elsewhere. It's another triumph for Goodhew and for Alison Bruce. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well written, but........, 8 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Siren (Paperback)
Well written, but...... far too many, himself, itself, myself, themselves, and every other self you can think of. Strewth. Nearly ruined a good read, so I didn`t read the annoying words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Siren (Dc Goodhew Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I had read the first book in this series from Alison Bruce and this has led me on to the second and third books. They are a good easy read. Perfect if you want a story that ticks along at a good pace but they you still care about the characters outcomes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish my daughter had married DC Gary Goodhew, instead, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Siren (Hardcover)
No one does the Cambridge setting better than Alison Bruce, and is there any detective at the moment more likeable than DC Goodhew? I would thoroughly recommended THE SIREN to crime/thriller aficionados. The entire series, actually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular and explosive climax, 17 July 2010
This review is from: The Siren (Hardcover)
This is the second outing for DC Gary Goodhew, a Cambridgeshire cop who has many talents but finds it impossible to conform to the rigid methods expected by his colleagues and senior officers - leading to awkward relationships with many of them. Bruce combines the police story (getting deep inside the heads of Goodhew but also new officer Gully and boss Marsh) with the unfolding, and unreliable narrative of victim Kimberley Guyver. Guyver's son Riley is missing, last seen with Kimberley's best friend Rachel Golinski who has been found dead after her house was set on fire. Kimberley and Rachel shared a sinister secret from the past and with Rachel gone and Riley missing Kimberley is in the spotlight and under intense pressure. The dialogue is excellent and the mix of suspicion, everyday routine and trauma finely observed. Bruce's Cambridge is not the city of elite colleges and punting on the river but that of working people some of them living close to the margins of society. Concentration is needed to keep tabs on the network of relationships that form the historic background to the current crime. The hunt for killer and kidnapper builds to a spectacular and explosive climax.

TW Review by Cath Staincliffe author of the popular Sal Kilkenny mysteries and the series creator of TV Blue Murder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as strong as the first, 26 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Siren (Paperback)
I very much enjoyed the first novel in the series and remain interested in how our​ protagonist, the young detective Goodhew​, develops​.

​With this one, the writing was OK and Bruce did enough with the characterisations to keep things relatively interesting. But the book was slow to start and didn't really fire for me​. This was because the plot was thin and the conclusion just didn't ​compensate for the lack of build-up. I kept hoping something big was going to ​happen, but nothing ​really did.

A few punctuation issues too, but not enough to penalise the rating.

In short, for me ​this book just lacked the spark of the first ​, but delivered enough for me to proceed to the third. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced read, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Siren (Dc Goodhew Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second Alison Bruce book that I have read, and although it wasn't as captivating a read, it was certainly a novel which kept up a great pace throughout. D.C. Goodhew seems to court danger and controversy throughout, and the outcome isn't as one would imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Siren (Dc Goodhew Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another brilliant read by Alison Bruce. Characters well developed but each book can be read and enjoyed on its own. So many twists and turns - impossible to predict!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really very good, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Siren (Dc Goodhew Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A fast pace really Good characters and storyline.am enjoying this series of books they are,quite addictive, and absorbing . Great read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Siren (Dc Goodhew Book 2)
£5.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews