Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENCORE, magnificent
I have listened to The Voice every single day since it's release last year and have waited so impatiently for ENCORE's release. I'm not disappointed i'm ectstaic. A truly wonderful blend of classic Italian aria's such as Che Gilda Manina and E Lucevan le Stelle combine with beautiful love songs. You Are so Beautiful is one of the highlights of this album. Russell Watson...
Published on 29 Oct 2001 by soniacatt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Present
It seems OK to me but this is a present for the wife not my kind of music good price anyway
Published 8 months ago by glenn50


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENCORE, magnificent, 29 Oct 2001
This review is from: The Voice - Encore (Audio CD)
I have listened to The Voice every single day since it's release last year and have waited so impatiently for ENCORE's release. I'm not disappointed i'm ectstaic. A truly wonderful blend of classic Italian aria's such as Che Gilda Manina and E Lucevan le Stelle combine with beautiful love songs. You Are so Beautiful is one of the highlights of this album. Russell Watson showing his amazing talent and the unbelieveable versatility of his voice, from passionate and powerful to soft and sexy. ENCORE RUSSELL, ENCORE !! Perfection is something so many aspire to but so few attain, Russell Watson has attained perfection and has The Voice developed over the last 12 months, listen and make up your own minds. This is spectacular and spellbinding. Congratulations Russell Watson,Encore the title says it all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Encore was worth the wait, 6 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Voice - Encore (Audio CD)
...This was worth waiting for, as Russell Watson's voice has become stronger and more magnificent. His Somewhere is my one of my favorites, but Mattinata, Che gelida manina, and E lucenav le stelle are great. His Italian is much improved and he sings it passionately with an understanding of what he is saying. This is a great companion to The Voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some very haunting music!, 20 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Voice - Encore (Audio CD)
Russell Watson's inspiring "Lost In The Snow" and "Catch The Tears" are awesome works by a brilliant entertainer. His "Where My Heart Will Take Me" is deliciously done and his teaming up with Lulu and Lionel Richie is fantastic.
I applaud his over all varying degrees of his vocal range and all I can say is ENCORE! ENCORE!
An excellent compilation!
***Mark E. Pruitt***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Encore from 'The Voice' with Great Appeal, 2 Sep 2002
This review is from: The Voice - Encore (Audio CD)
I first heard Russell Watson sing during his U.S. concert that aired on Public Television, and I was immediately taken by his powerful, appealing, lyrical voice. After the concert, I went online and ordered a copy of his CD, "The Voice", which contains some interpretations that I would characterize as 'adequate', some real gems which Watson interprets exceedingly well, including a thrilling rendition of 'Nessum dorma!', and a couple of listenable duets (excluding 'Barcelona', which may appeal more to the hip-hop crowd then to those who might frequent an opera house.)
After listening to "The Voice" I paused mentally for a silent 'standing ovation', and then waited with great anticipation for Russell's 'Encore' to arrive in the U.S.A. Well, this second CD was worth the wait, and though slightly less attractive than his first (very slightly, and only because there are fewer classical arias), it still has much to recommend it.
The CD begins with a delightful rendition of Verdi's 'Va, pensiero' (the original was a chorus of Hebrew slaves, from Nabucco), which is at once warm, then arresting, highlighting well Watson's versatility. His performance of 'Volare' is impeccable, the best rendition I've heard to date, as is 'The Prayer', which is a sensitive, thoughtful duet for which he is joined by Lulu for a superlative performance (Where has Lulu been? She still sings beautifully!).
The popular arias 'O sole mio' and 'Mattinata' are sung with sufficient power and grace, though Russell really shines in 'Pelagia's Song', where his interpretation is done with such tenderness and warmth as is somewhat reminiscent of the great Mario Lanza, the tenor extraordinaire! Puccini's breathtaking 'E lucevan le stelle' and beautiful 'Che gelida manina' are performed with warmth and ardor, though in the latter Russell's voice is sometimes overpowered by the over-zealous orchestra. Still, the performances are breathtaking! Verdi's 'Celeste Aida' provides the tasteful conclusion to the arias (the purest may raise an eyebrow at the electronic fade out at the end, but this doesn't distract from the beauty of the piece, befittingly sung by Watson.)
I found his choice to include 'You Are So Beautiful' less than ideal, as I was around when this particular tune by Joe Cocker was so overplayed (in America, in the '80s?); nevertheless, he renders it anew, and those who enjoy this song should certainly prefer it to the original. He performs 'Somewhere', from 'West Side Story', and I recommend that you hold on to your wineglass when this one begins, for once again the orchestra seems a bit over-zealous, as was Watson, whose interpretation lacks the wistful yearning required by the subject matter. The rest of the popular songs are agreeable enough, with the exception of 'Where My Heart Will Take Me'; oddly, to me, this song doesn't even sound like Watson!
Watson's voice is indeed versatile, so much so that I refer to him as "the tenor with three voices". The first voice is the one he uses for the arias, the second voice for the more demanding popular tunes, such as 'Bridge Over Troubled Water' (on "The Voice") and the third voice for songs like 'You Are So Beautiful' and the uninspiring 'Were My Heart Will Take Me' (the theme from Enterprise). It is with the classics that he really shines, and I hope that he focuses more on this genre.
I find it somewhat difficult to describe Watson's voice. It is powerful enough, and doesn't strain as many others do over the more difficult phrases, such as the final 'Vincero!' in 'Nessum dorma', yet it is not as 'large' as either Jose Cura's or Salvatore Licitra's, nor as full, rich, or romantic as Mario Lanza's. On the other hand, to me Russell's voice bears some resemblance to Lanza's in its overall attractiveness, which is no small compliment! I look forward to the continued maturing of his interpretive skills.
I sympathize with his desire to attract young people to classical music and the combination of arias with popular songs will likely help in this effort. I would like to see him drop the "third voice", however, and concentrate on those popular tunes that are more demanding and attractive, thereby making better use of his extraordinary gifts. If he were to solicit my suggestions for his next release, I'd like to hear him sing popular tunes such as 'Granada', 'Memory' (from 'Cats'), and 'Tonight', and arias such as Donizetti's 'Una furtiva lagrima', Verdi's 'Questa o quella' and 'Parmi veder le lagrime', Puccini's 'Recondita armonia', Ponchielli's 'Cielo e mar', and Leoncavallo's 'Vesti la guibba' (et al).
Finally, for those who follow what appears on Amazon in the U.S.A., I feel compelled to offer a few brief comments regarding the one-star reviews by "a music fan". Likely this is not really necessary, for most people can probably separate the 'wheat' of truth offered by insightful reviewers from the 'chaff' of jejune quibbles, offered by some who seem bent on trying to undermine Watson's success, but it would be unfortunate if some were swayed by comments so lacking in discernment, causing them to miss out on a very enriching experience. Perceptive reviewer James H. Rankin (on the Amazon site, in the USA) has probably hit on the problem where he states that those posts may come from a person or persons who know Watson and are consumed with jealously over his success. Well, Watson has indeed been successful, and I would encourage all who love good music to experience The Voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eagerly awaited and does not disappoint, 29 Oct 2001
By 
This review is from: The Voice - Encore (Audio CD)
Wonderful new album from Russell Watson. This time he sings popular songs as well as arias. The album shows his voice range off to perfection. His choice of songs make this easy listening for everyone, as sometimes people do not like just classical songs. He really sounds like he is enjoying himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Russell Watson, album number 2 (Encore), 9 July 2008
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Voice - Encore (Audio CD)
Encore, released in 2002, is Russell Watson's follow up album to his hugely successful debut `The Voice' from the previous year. Encore repeated the success of that album by again winning both `Album of the Year' and `Best Selling Classical Album' at the Classical BRIT Awards 2002. Reaching the No.1 spot in both the UK and US Classical Charts, and a top 10 place in the UK Album Chart confirmed Watson's studio success could match that of his stage performances at that time.

As its title suggests, Encore is more of the same from Watson's broad repertoire of classical and popular music and should have equal appeal to fans of his previous album. The classics are all familiar favourites (and who can blame him?, for that's what people are paying money to see him perform) and the popular songs include some unexpected choices such as Lionel Richie's `The Magic of Love' and two songs by the prolific American songwriter Diane Warren, `Catch the Tears' (written for the album) and `Where my heart will take me' (TV's Star Trek : Enterprise).

In summary, an excellent follow up album which matches the quality of the debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!, 30 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Voice - Encore (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of Russell's since 1999, having seen him live three times this year, and having played "The Voice" to death over the last year, I was, to say the least, eagerly anticipating his follow-up CD "Encore".
I was not disappointed! There were several occasions, even on first listening, where the singing is so breathtaking it knocks you back and all you can say is "wow"! If you thought "The Voice" was good (which it is), you will be totally blown away by "Encore". The improvement in Russell's voice is staggering, while his delivery and sheer power are astounding.
In summary, this CD is a must for anyone who appreciates sheer talent and looks for some real emotion in their music - in short, the "wow" factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a Beautiful Voice, Especially on the Arias, 21 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Voice - Encore (Audio CD)
As a fan of Watson's first CD, "The Voice", I was eager to hear his next one and I find it quite satisfying. I am not an expert on opera but I like operatic tenors and I have CD's of many--Corelli, Lanza, Pavarotti, Gigli, Bjoerling, Tucker, Domingo, DeStefano, Caruso among them--and I think Watson's voice is one of the most beautiful I've heard. It is powerful and lyrical at the same time and more restful to listen to than most of the aforementioned tenors. I am not as enthusiastic about the choice of material on this second CD as I was on the first but that is just a matter of personal preference. If Watson is singing it, it's going to be lovely listening. I would especially recommend the operatic arias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another truely inspirational album!, 31 Oct 2001
By 
F. J. Fraser "Fiona" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Voice - Encore (Audio CD)
This type of music is not my normal choice...but Russell Watson has totally converted me! 'Encore' is equally as good as his first album 'The Voice'.
It has something for everyone....classics such as 'Ave Maria' to beautiful love songs such as 'Catch the tears'.
What can I say.....buy it and you will hear just how good it is!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once again a truly amazing CD from a truly amazing man!!!, 26 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Voice - Encore (Audio CD)
Well, what can I say...I to have been waiting eagerly for Russell Watson's second album and listening to it, it has left me in no doubt that he is truly the best tenor the world has ever seen! The huge variety of songs he performs from Westend hits to Classic arias just go to show that he can perform virtually anything that you give him. "Encore" proves to anyone who had any doubt about Russell that he really is "THE MAN" with "THE VOICE"!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Encore
Encore by Russell Watson
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews