Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Must-Have" For Any Opera Lover, 27 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Well, this is a compilation CD with a difference!
From the moment it arrived, I have been, quite literally spellbound.
Weeks later, after many (and that's many indeed) playings, it's not remotely possible to select "favourites". So wonderful are the renditions presented here, so beautifully moving is track after track, that it would be sheer folly to try to pick out one or two as favourites.
It's a delightful (and unusual) experience to enjoy a composite CD to this extent.
The compilers of this CD have done an excellent job in presenting a wonderfully diverse range of listening pleasure. How delightful to hear the fabulous purity of Bjorling included; how wonderful to hear Mirella Freni, as Butterfly, as she makes "Un Bel Di" a definitive performance (small wonder that von Karajan said that, if could be born as an opera singer, he'd choose to be Freni); how delightful to hear Andrea Bocelli there, up with 'the greats' (one can understand full well Pavarotti finding it hard to accept that he had not benefited from classical training); as for Renata Tebaldi with "O Mio Babbino Caro" - it's hard to find the words.
Looking at duets: well, "Flower Duet" is all that it could be, especially with the richness of Joan Sutherland at her best; as for "O Soave Fanciulla" with Pavarotti and Freni: this has to be as good as it gets.
But, there's so much more. I could go on (and on!), and it's a shame not to mention many more.
There are arias here that I have known and loved for years. I have never heard them sung better. Differently, yes; not better.
With Pavarotti, with Renee Fleming (Ah, her rendition of "O Silver Moon" is nothing other than transfixing), with Angela Gheorghiu as Mimi (utterly heartbreaking), with Domingo singing "E Lucevan Le Stelle" (surely, yet another definitive performance), with so many more - this is a CD that I truly regard as the best money in purchasing a CD that I have ever spent.
The Greatest Opera Show On Earth is simply a wealth of listening delight. It certainly carries my firmest recommendation.
Just the one "health warning": with arms and legs covered in goose bumps and with the hair on the back of one's head standing out, don't forget to keep some tissues handy for the eyes!

Adrian F. Van Neste
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this cd, 15 Nov 2011
I first purchased this cd many years ago and have now purchased it again due to damaging the original. I have purchased many Opera compilations since but this is without the best mixed Opera cd ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great opera, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For someone like me to listen to opera is a real achievement as I was so into pop music. But this CD collection others such a variation of music and stories. Breath taking sound making one feel as if you are watching the performance for real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value!, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Greatest Opera Album (2 CDs) (MP3 Download)
A great array of wonderful music. Usually composite albums contain many songs which are below par. This however, is packed with wonderful arias etc. It's like being in a sweetshop and being able to pick the best, all in one go. Very pleased with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all round. Great service.Thank You!!!, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent all round. Great service.Great communication. A pleasure to do business with.Hope to deal with you again. Very happy with my purchase.Thank You!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Worlds Greatest Opera Album and at a great price !, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just got into classic and opera music so hesitant about exactly what to buy ? any road up,spotted this for the princely sum of one penny. Plus of course postage, came very quickly,well packaged and in good condition. Many hours of happy listening ahead .
Was I pleased ? Of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good opera collection, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was pleased with many of the pieces. I often play the cd during my morning drive to work. A great aid for me to get into this form of classical musical theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly the best album for all opera lovers!, 22 Sep 2013
Wanted an album with plenty of variety and featuring lots of opera stars.This definitely fits the bill in every sense.
Plenty of tracks and featuring many well known arias.Slip into heaven with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift well received, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my daughter as she has just discovered opera. Good for a new opera fan as it has helped increase her appreciation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My first foray into the world of opera but what a great selection. If you're not a big opera fan but want to just 'scratch the surface' then this is a great introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews