Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC- UP TO A POINT
I mainly echo Barriebb3 and DoorsMike's comments. I would give this 5 stars for the uninitiated and 3 for the more hardcore fan so i've compromised on 4 stars. Visually and sonically beautiful, and a great start overall, particularly with the hitchhiker film footage and early photos of the boys in the band (they should have played their early demos over these), but from...
Published on 2 Jan 2011 by Mr. A. S. Rotunno

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Doors - Just another lost angel of the city of night
Film has not served the Doors well and for many Oliver Stone's biopic of the band which concentrates on the train wreck of hallucinogenic and alcoholic excess from Jim Morrison has hardly helped. Morrison by any standards was someone who could be a vain, egotiscal and a complete prat. His dabbling's in Dionysian myth, Celtic pagan witchcraft, Indian shaman rituals and...
Published on 31 July 2010 by Red on Black


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When You're Strange - A Film About The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
My son loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good watch for rare footage., 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When You're Strange - A Film About The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
I came to buy this because of the rare unseen footage that was featured.Was kind of hoping for interview's with the guy's during and post Door's like a 'behind the music' type format,but you just get Johnny depp giving you their history from Jim and Ray meeting up after graduation from UCLA to Jim's untimely death.Mainly focusing on Morrison's spiraling out of control.It's interestingly produced and edited.Worth been in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VINTAGE DOORS, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When You're Strange - A Film About The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
Any Doors fan would like this to complete their collection of CD's and DVD's needed to understand how they worked as a group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Doors Fan, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When You're Strange - A Film About The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
For Doors fan, this is required watching, the film quality is excellent and it is good that the films still exist. As they were all recorded in the early days there is repetition in the songs, but I was surprised at how good they were 'live', they were not just a studio based group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!, 21 Sep 2013
This review is from: When You're Strange - A Film About The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
I love documentaries and true stories and this was amazing! It took me there, It helped me understand and it was a nice time travel! Well done, nice work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Jim, 3 Sep 2013
By 
J. Clifford "jerryc" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When You're Strange - A Film About The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
The film is alright but a bit boring even for a fan. Some more of the "old" Doors music, especially the better known and liked ones would have been good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars on time, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When You're Strange - A Film About The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived on time and an excellent film too.this was a good film if you are a fan of the dooors.Actual live footage of them in concert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Open the Doors and come inside...., 28 Mar 2013
By 
kevin Scott "kevinscottgold" (Suffolk,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When You're Strange - A Film About The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
Everything and more on how the Doors got together, what made them different by the styles of music they was taught in and how they covered the fact of never having a bass player, plus all the history of the doors as they moved from gig to gig and on to every album they created.

You get to know more about the personalities in the band, and how the times where back then. A great documentry and lots of film footage of the band. This is a must have for anybody intrested in the Doors. I do not want to explain all about the dvd, as it would spoil your viewing, but honestly, just buy the dam thing man ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The doors, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good biography on the Doors.
Picture quality is of course moderate as the time renders so.
It is a good documenatary for the Doors funs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its a film about the Doors, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When You're Strange - A Film About The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
I did enjoy this film but found it not that amazing.
It is a DVD that has some footage but a lot of discussion about the Doors especially Jim Morrison, some nice rare clips thrown in. It is a good DVD if your new to the band this will be a great introduction for new fans to the band. If your a fanatical fan like me there is little new to hear but it is a nice film that is enjoyable and has some great Doors music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When You're Strange - A Film About The Doors [DVD]
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews