Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good sound for the money, great design/build, but transportable rather than portable
Although these Edifier Aurora 2.1 loudspeakers look suitable for an MP3 player, they aren't really designed for this, they are specifically made for a placing around a small laptop or notebook. If you don't mind the clutter though, you can attach an iPod to them, or they could supply a bit of a bass lift to a small LCD TV or desktop PC in a bedroom or bedsit if you move...
Published on 19 Feb 2011 by Keith_Joseph

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Edifier Aurora
Bought this after reading many reviews, some of which only gave this one star, I should have been more wary, I connected everything up as per instructions to my HP all-in-one 23" screen, it has HP Beats Audio which gives pretty good sound anyway but always looking to improve things I thought this item would enhance the bass and give a better listening experience, it...
Published on 12 July 2012 by gefb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good sound for the money, great design/build, but transportable rather than portable, 19 Feb 2011
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Edifier Aurora 2.1 Speaker with Slim Subwoofer and Compact Satellites - Liquid Silver (Electronics)
Although these Edifier Aurora 2.1 loudspeakers look suitable for an MP3 player, they aren't really designed for this, they are specifically made for a placing around a small laptop or notebook. If you don't mind the clutter though, you can attach an iPod to them, or they could supply a bit of a bass lift to a small LCD TV or desktop PC in a bedroom or bedsit if you move in closer to view. The Edifier Aurora's come in 10 bright colours to match anything or possibly nothing - having silver trims on our laptop and notebook we chose silver. The Aurora's sub woofer tube is designed to sit behind a laptop hidden out of sight by the screen and the little satellite mid-range tweeters poke round the side of the laptop into full view and fire the sound directly at you. There's a couple of different length stereo jack leads arrangements available with the speakers so you can arrange them how you like - there's a longer cable and a shorter one with a right angle plug to ensure the cables will fit snugly around the laptop no matter where the 3.5mm audio out socket is. The tweeter satellite cables are quite short, but that actually really helps to reduce cables cluttering up the edges of the laptop.

Build quality and design is very good, with an aluminium shielded 2" driver subwoofer tube and the tweeters sit behind little wire gauze protectors. The midrange/tweeter 1.5" drive units project slightly upwards towards your head. The subwoofer unit is 11"x3.4"x2.3"(280x87x59mm) and the Satellites are 2.3"x2.6"x2.3"(59x67x59mm). Our speaker set came with a neat little zipped rectangular case that holds the three 2.1 speakers and a 13amp mains transformer integrated into a UK plug - however be warned others say the travel case is no longer shipped with product, which I would find disappointing as we use it all the time [we got our speakers+case many months ago]. These Aurora 2.1 speakers are strictly mains powered [12V AC worldwide] only - there's no battery or USB power feeds, so you can only use the speakers about the house or say in a hotel. The laptop audio cable, long 12V mains cable, and satellite speakers all plug into the back of the subwoofer unit. You control volume via a couple of little buttons on one satellite, and these function as the off/mute as well.

We don't use this set with our daughters Dell 17" laptop as that has decent JBL speakers and a subwoofer integrated into the case, but they work well with our son's 15" laptop and a netbook for watching video, retro gaming or listening to MP3s. The sound doesn't fill the room by the way - they go loud, but it's pretty much directed towards the laptop user or a small group huddled around the screen. Sound wise the speakers sound very clear for the size with a decent bass that works well, thumping loudly or adding in a full bodied sound with quiet listening levels - the sub woofer/midrange switchover tends to affect mid range quality the most, but there's certainly no lightweight tinny sound from this setup [although the treble is a tad bright]. Sound quality improves after the speakers have been burned in [used] for a few weeks.

Apparently these speakers don't sound as good in the midrange as similarly priced but larger Creative Gigaworks T20s, but the twin T20s speakers lack the subwoofer bass punch of these Aurora 2.1 speakers [and the Aurora's are far more portable]. We use our notebook and 15" laptop with a similarly priced Futon Company Birch Lap Tray Table [which is superb], and there's enough room for the speakers, cables and stuff to fit around the laptop [and the speaker kit is pretty stable and doesn't fall off when you get up and put the Tray table onto the floor/sofa/side of the bed]. So a 4.5* speaker set for build and sound, but perhaps loosing a star for the lack of independent battery or USB power restricting you to indoor mains use only, plus the kids often can't be bothered to set up the speakers and so stick to the tinny internal sound of the laptop anyway, and the speaker set isn't totally ultra-portable as the speaker units are light, but aren't diminutive and there's the mains transformer. Although our [probably discontinued] travel case holds all the kit together making it easily slipped into the suitcase or car when off to the hotel or grandma's, the speakers are small enough to fit into the ouside compartment of our padded 15" Targus laptop case as well. For iPod/MP3 players on the move, try the far smaller Altec Lansing IMT227 Orbit Portable Speaker [3xAAA batteries], bijou X-Mi X Mini II 2nd Generation Capsule iPhone / iPad / iPod / MP3 / Laptop Speaker - Black [rechargeable USB] or the superb if more expensive MINIRIG Portable rechargeable speaker [50 hour USB rechargeable internal battery] mono single pod speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Edifier Aurora, 12 July 2012
By 
gefb (Runcorn, Cheshire.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edifier Aurora 2.1 Speaker with Slim Subwoofer and Compact Satellites - Liquid Silver (Electronics)
Bought this after reading many reviews, some of which only gave this one star, I should have been more wary, I connected everything up as per instructions to my HP all-in-one 23" screen, it has HP Beats Audio which gives pretty good sound anyway but always looking to improve things I thought this item would enhance the bass and give a better listening experience, it didn't, in fact it made things worse, I selected several tracks that I was very familiar with from different artists and found the bass was very boomy with some sizzle I tried to correct this with the Beats Graphic Equalizer to no avail so I have returned them to Amazon for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sound Judgement, 7 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edifier Aurora 2.1 Speaker with Slim Subwoofer and Compact Satellites - Liquid Silver (Electronics)
I have a small television which has a sound output that resembles living inside a tin. This particual TV has no sound output except for headset. I used the Aurora2.1 to enhance the sound from this output and it works brilliantly. Fully satisfied with its performance particularly the subwoofer it is powerful and not physically intrusive. If I have a gripe it would have been useful for an optional Remote control you know basic on/off and volume. Else perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy Customer, 22 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. G. Dalley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edifier Aurora 2.1 Speaker with Slim Subwoofer and Compact Satellites - Liquid Silver (Electronics)
These speakers are small and have a great sound, nicely fit under my monitor saving space on the desk. The only thing that could improve them is the little red light on the sub woofer. It's on, all the time and given that the way of turning the speakers on or off is a little vague, it would be great if it turned green when on and turned red when off, letting you know that they are connected to the mains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: Edifier Aurora 2.1 Speaker with Slim Subwoofer and Compact Satellites - Liquid Silver (Electronics)
Love these speakers, they are very easy to set up, I managed to do it in under five minuets. once you have them set up the sound quality is very impressive! I really didn't expect it from such small speakers but I was pleasantly surprised. The only down side is that the wires from to the speakers aren't massive so if you can't have them too far apart, other than that excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars doing a good job, 19 Aug 2011
This review is from: Edifier Aurora 2.1 Speaker with Slim Subwoofer and Compact Satellites - Liquid Silver (Electronics)
being a tv free zone we use the laptop to watch occassional dvds. These speakers give us that extra sound quality and very satisfied with them. Have to agree with other review that a remote control would make a big difference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dead after 5 months, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edifier Aurora 2.1 Speaker with Slim Subwoofer and Compact Satellites - Liquid Silver (Electronics)
Loved these speakers when I bought them - great design, fitted on my desktop nicely and great sound. However, 5 months after purchase and using them a couple of times a week at most they have completely stopped working. Gutted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Neat, attractive, solid unit, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edifier Aurora 2.1 Speaker with Slim Subwoofer and Compact Satellites - Liquid Silver (Electronics)
Rating was driven by price of under 30.

But also, unit is very well made and the finish and tactile quality is high. These got a very good reception when originally released in 2010. At that time there was little else available and it retailed at around 70 I think.
A friend of mine bought one around 3 years ago and I remember, on hearing it, that it didn't sound that much better than the unit from Aldi I had bought which was reduced to 10. I was however sold on the aesthetics of it.

I bought this unit for a customer whose new thin Samsung smart TV had very pour sound (don't they all!). I had left her with a Dell computer speaker system to try out which had improved her listening experience for a few weeks.
When fitted to her TV it made an ideal companion, OK, the cables, though thin, are still noticeable but I was a little concerned that the sound was a little thin still. I connected back the Dell sub woofer and satellite tweeters and compared the sound. Though the Dell units had more base I had to conclude that the clarity of the Edifier did provide a much more enjoyable experience. I didn't connect up the Tevion Aldi sound bar just incase the client preferred it, I want to hang on to that little gem thank you as I have never seen them available again.
So, no Bluetooth, no USB connection, main power required via. usual plug mounted switching power supply.
Great value as Silver colour is usually more in store than blue or pink or... etc. etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unobtrusive quality desktop speakers, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edifier Aurora 2.1 Speaker with Slim Subwoofer and Compact Satellites - Liquid Silver (Electronics)
crisp sound and good quality for the price, work great in a small office environment, subwoofer fits nicely under monitor and takes up very little space
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Neat and tidy when installed., 19 Dec 2013
By 
R. Goodman (Suffolk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edifier Aurora 2.1 Speaker with Slim Subwoofer and Compact Satellites - Liquid Silver (Electronics)
I use the speakers with a 17" laptop replacement. This is used on the table rather than on the knees so the speakers can be placed on a narrow, radiator shelf. They sound much better than normal laptop speakers but are a bit "hole-in-the-middle" with a lot of bass and a high treble. There is little in between! Only complaint would be that they can only be switched off at the mains. Otherwise, very simple to install,very neat and tiry when left on display.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews