Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have never had so many people ask.....
What is this music? It's beautiful? Whether it is just background to a dinner party or a quiet time when you're soaking in the bath or infromt of the fire.... This is really "feel-good" music. Enjoy!
Published on 14 Dec 2004

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a memorable piece.
As there was only 27 mins of music in the film, a lot of which is based on the haunting main theme, the record is somewhat basic. Even then the record has apparantly an extra piece of music on it added by ??? to make up the time, To me this is not in keeping with the theme and is a waste of time. I would much have prefered a differant rendering of the main theme or even...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. J. Hoatson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have never had so many people ask....., 14 Dec 2004
By A Customer
What is this music? It's beautiful? Whether it is just background to a dinner party or a quiet time when you're soaking in the bath or infromt of the fire.... This is really "feel-good" music. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly moving account, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Don't be fooled by Julian's (Peck)review of this release, whilst the John Barry original is undoubtedly fine this is the better recording and more rewarding version. The RSNO (one of the great European Orchestras) under McNeely excels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent re-recording, 22 Feb 2009
By 
This is not the original version of the soundtrack written and conducted by John Barry for Out Of Africa, but a 1997 re-recording by Joel McNeely and the Royal National Scottish Orchestra.

In my view, it actually beats the (very nice) original recording. When I want to listen to the soundtrack, I listen to this recording, and not the original. It also benefits from having a couple of extra cues, and misses the dreadful pop song from the end of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven Minutes Makes Little Difference, 28 Mar 2005
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of Africa (Audio CD)
"Out Of Africa" was nominated for 11 Oscars, including Sound and Original Score. This recording by the Royal Scottish National Orchestra is nearly identical to the 12 song `official' soundtrack. However, there is an additional seven minutes of music, including the complete Adagio from the Mozart clarinet concerto and some miscellaneous traditional music that was omitted from the film. The sweeping drama is still here and I see little difference between the Original and this recording other than seven minutes. It's a toss-up, but each one will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Moving & Romantic Soundtrack, 15 July 2000
By A Customer
This is one of my all time favourite soundtracks. It has a certain epic quality and romance which brings you very much back to the wide angle scenes of the movie and stays with you even after you've stopped listening. It is also quite varied, so you don't need to worry about too much repetition. I highly recommend this one if you're a romantic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of Africa CD, 6 April 2010
By 
P. Keogh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Barry has a unique gift to be able to carry the listener into the world of the 'mental traveller' as Karen would say.

Out of Africa has long been one of my favourite films so discovering this CD has been a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative, romantic and insightful, 12 April 2009
By 
Carolyn Lobley (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw the film years ago, and it's one of those films that leaves an imprint on your memory - superb acting by Meryl Streep and Robert Redford, against a breathtaking background, of a time and lifestyle gone by - and the music just adds that depth to the experience. Listening to the tracks now just brings it all back to me, nostalgic as John Barry's scores often are, with that wide-open-spaces and epic quality. Fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music which stirs the emotions., 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Africa (Audio CD)
I'm glad I purchased this CD which I bought this as a valentine present, and it was a great choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a memorable piece., 30 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. J. Hoatson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As there was only 27 mins of music in the film, a lot of which is based on the haunting main theme, the record is somewhat basic. Even then the record has apparantly an extra piece of music on it added by ??? to make up the time, To me this is not in keeping with the theme and is a waste of time. I would much have prefered a differant rendering of the main theme or even something else by John Barry.
Either way it is a very moving piece of music which nearly brings me to tears each time I hear it & I have not seen the film. Noddy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Africa (Audio CD)
Loved the film and music so good to be able to listen to soundtrack anytime, good as back ground music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out Of Africa
Out Of Africa by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews