Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure At Their Best
This is one of the best and most haunting albums I have ever listened to. The dark, almost hopeless lyrics blend with the fantastic melodies to provide an amazing collection of classic goth songs. Robert Smith's voice accompanied by the famous flanged guitar sound are unique. Neither before nor since have The Cure captured the magic and energy of this album.
Published on 28 Jun. 2002 by SubgirL

versus
7 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misery turned up to 11
Oh the agony of that acne, those 'A' levels! 'Faith' is an album that's hard to take seriously once you've left further education, comprising, as it does, eight routine slabs of doom. It's an album you want to shout at, like an exasperated parent to a truculent teen, "Oh for goodness' sake just GROW UP!!"

The moody, seductive, twilight feel of 'Seventeen...
Published on 16 Feb. 2007 by Kevin Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure At Their Best, 28 Jun. 2002
By 
SubgirL (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
This is one of the best and most haunting albums I have ever listened to. The dark, almost hopeless lyrics blend with the fantastic melodies to provide an amazing collection of classic goth songs. Robert Smith's voice accompanied by the famous flanged guitar sound are unique. Neither before nor since have The Cure captured the magic and energy of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly beautiful.........., 1 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Let`s be clear from the start, "Faith" is not that accessible for the first time listener.
I`ts very,very, far from being at all "Jolly!" & could happily be played from start to finish,at any given wake!
Having said all that,It is still my favourite Cure album.
It has a more Orchestral feel than anything else they have done & truly flows, as each song blends the next.
Robert Smith is at his poetic best here,linking seemingly unrelated sentences into songs & offering subject matters that only he really understands, but we all can somehow relate to.
His lyrics paint pictures that are mostly tragic, but always beautiful.
This album was & is, perfect,"End of the party music"
No individual hit singles here,
But a beautiful offering as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most beautiful and haunting albums of all time, 15 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Way back a few decades ago many of us aged hippies were spellbound by 'Seventeen Seconds' which launched The Cure into the hall of fame. I can never understand why 'Faith' (which followed 'Seventeen Seconds') was never raved about that much. Did anyone listen to the words, or submerge their souls into those rarely visited realms of ecstasy and oblivion?
A much quieter and more melancholy work than 'SS', it showed the spiritual depths of exceptional talent. The slow unveiling of 'All cats are grey', the plaintive reaching out of 'Other voices' and the relentless passion of 'Faith' serve to make us very aware of life's pains and sanctuaries.
To me, 'Faith' remains one of the most beautiful, haunting and spiritual messages of all time. And the Cure's untouchable masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly expressive, 6 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
There are a finite number of similies for 'brilliant' and 'expresive', and I daresay they've all been used to describe this album by The Cure in some form or another. I'd almost forgotten how good they were until I heard this again; it's feel-good music. Perfect for falling asleep to, not because it's so dull it has a soporific effect, but because the music is so charmingly soothing it's difficult not to. It's layered and textured and achingly beautiful. And typically, I think it's much more about the music than the lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Faith, 30 Dec. 2008
By 
G. Young (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I cannot recommend Faith too highly; exitstential obliqueness, stark emotional terrains of bleak lyricism and poetic sketchings on the absurdity of the human condition. Quietly disturbing and infused with a subtle melancholy, the album evokes a cool still calm that is both soothing and contemplative.

Haunting, desolate soundscapes that evoke images of walking through a mist filled forest at midnight, of monolithic buildings and wispy, stick like figures, floating in a swirling fog. Faith is an album that will take you in and out of yourself.

Strange, beautiful, otherworldy music that stirs the imagination and awakens the soul.

Sublime and profound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A benchmark in bleakness, 11 Aug. 2006
By 
M. Hunkin "stoogesfan29" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Described in a recent NME article as one of the most miserable albums of all time (in a good way), Faith makes for an extremely bleak and unsettling listening experience, something akin to slivers of razor sharp ice gently piercing the head and ears.

Less atmospherically playful as earlier material such as Boys Don't Cry, Faith saw The Cure further developing the blueprint for goth, and whilst the music retains much of the compressed rythms and brittle, serated guitar sound of Robert Smith and cos earlier efforts, the overall atmosphere is much icier, sombre and echoey, like trudging through an empty graveyard in a snowstorm.

Where earlier tracks like 10:15 Saturday Night and A Forest burst forwards with a kind of skipping, if subdued, relentlessness, tracks like Holy Hour, All Cats are Grey and the stately, doom-laden masterpiece, The Funeral Party, take the form of slow and ponderous dirges, whilst remaining musically and lyrically expressive enough not to become tuneless, sluggish trash. By keeping the disc focused at a short eight tracks the album never wears even the most cheerful listener down, even at its blackest and most despairing.

All in all Faith ranks amongst The Cure's finest albums, if not THE finest (Pornography is the one). For those who enjoyed the Cure's more famous singles and want to move on to something heavier, for any fans of the dark stuff, and for those sickened by the doleful whining masquerading as poetic melancholy served up by privileged fakers such as Thom Yorke and the rest, this is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark masterpiece expanded to restore your Faith, 16 May 2012
This review is from: Faith [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
The remastered sound makes the original Faith album sound better than ever. If you have not heard it before you are in for a treat - a dark masterpiece full of great songs like The Holy Hour, Other Voices, The Funeral Party and The Drowning Man. The titles probably give you a bit of an idea of what to expect - 24 hour happy people music this is not. It is not a concept album but it has the atmosphere and continuity of a complete and integrated work, the theme based around intangible concepts like faith, doubt, death and helplessness. And a great thumping impressive drum and bass sound. At the price the two cd set is a bargain and includes some well written sleeve notes inside the cd box. As well as the Faith album, disc one includes the complete soundtrack to Carnage Visors, which I must admit I found a bit boring and repetitive. The extra disc of rarities gets off to a bad start with a series of not particularly impressive Faith demos - the finished album versions are so much better I cannot imagine me wanting to listen to these again. However things begin to look up once we get into the live tracks, with some excellent versions of songs like Other Voices, Drowning Man and particularly Faith (better than the studio version to my ears - I am no Cure expert but this has shot into my personal chart as probably one of my favourite recordings by the band and I remember that Robert Smith apparently compiled this collection himself - well done Bob!). I am sure both Cure fans and general music lovers will enjoy these live bonus songs. The whole package is nicely rounded off with the studio single "Charlotte Sometimes". "The words all left me lifeless, hoping, breathing like the drowning man..." Err...enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars glad to be grey, 28 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
All credit to The Cure for making being glum into an art form. Of course no-one at the time called this 'Goth'. I doubt I even heard that term before 1983. But with The Cure's albums of 1980 and 1981, the popularity of Siouxsie and the Banshees, Bauhaus, Joy Division and, on a lighter note, The Cramps, there sure was something melancholic and morbid in the air in early 80s Britain. Hip kids of the time thought a good night out was reading Kafka novels by a full moon in the local cemetry (and that's a fog-bound Bolton Abbey pictured on the LP sleeve in case you were wondering). Had i-Pods been around "Faith" would have been the perfect soundtrack to some late night crypt kicking (actually they were; we called them Sony Walkmans).

"Faith" starts on cue with the toll of church bells and ends with the line "I went away alone with nothing left but faith" and in between you get, er 'party favourites' such as "The Drowning Man" and "The Funeral Party". Bring your own razor blades. There's a continuation here of the dysfunctional mood music of their previous album "Seventeen Seconds", only to these ears the tracks on "Faith" have more sophistication and contrasts and a nice atmospheric use of layers of synth. This time the music is more emotionally engaging. There's a haunting sadness to it.

Although "Faith" sees The Cure sleepwalking further into depression, it was the album that followed, "Pornography", that was the real dark one. There's no epic here like "A Forest" on "Seventeen Seconds" but to me "Faith" is a more satisfying listen; I can hear the progression. And yes the music is mournful but it doesn't actually drag you down. I was 17 when this came out and, along with a mountain of similar musical miserablism, it chimed perfectly with my self-pitying adolescent self. Now I'm older and with real reasons to be angst-ridden listening to "Faith" is almost comforting, like a soothing, slow motion aural soma. Odd how The Cure can be a real tonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it for the bass line, 18 Aug. 2012
By 
Ian Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Remasters are sometimes a bit of a disappointment - typically the treble is boosted to increase "detail" but the result is hard to listen to. This remaster has focused on the bass and the level of detail is very involving and draws the listener in. If you know the album well I'm sure you will be delighted to hear it on such firm foundations, if you are new to The Cure, and have formed a taste for their quieter more reflective work then buy without hestitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered edition of 1981's low..., 20 Aug. 2006
By 
Jason Parkes (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
'Faith' remains the most gruelling of Cure albums, recorded in the wake of family death, the climate following Ian Curtis' suicide and existential crisis in the life of Robert Smith, I think it's their bleakest moment. 'Faith' forms a trilogy alongside 1980's 'Seventeen Seconds' and 1982's 'Pornography'- this is a budget-price remastered edition of an album which got a two-disc deluxe reissue featuring out-takes and the 'Carnage Visors'soundtrack (which would ironically be cited by Red Hot Chili Peppers in relation to 'Californication'!!!). & anyone who has read Marc Almond's memoir 'A Tainted Life' will recall the scene in New York where Almond takes then legal MDMA to this album...

This was an album that fitted with the downbeat zeitgeist and the league of long-coated men who probably all now have paunches, have gone bald and work in offices like the one I toil in. 'Faith' is one of those downer albums from the time, only rivalled by Echo & the Bunnymen's 'Heaven Up Here' and New Order's unlistenable 'Movement' (an album that is unlistenable in part due to the events before, and partly due to the fact the material is largely poor). I suppose it's quite Joy Division-influenced, the humourless song-titles particularly: 'The Holy Hour', 'The Funeral Party', 'The Drowning Man'...

The band had slimmed to a trio - Smith, Gallup & Tolhurst - following the exit of M.Hartley, with producer Mike Hedges they advanced on the keyboard driven sound of the previous album, which was set against Gallup's hypnotic bass and Tolhurst's drumming that sounds like a drum machine. The roots of 1989's 'Disintegration' are most definitely found here...

Single 'Primary' was an odd one, catchy an anything and with a chiming bass-driven sound - it sounds like band very much alive and probably has more in common with the angry climes of 'Pornography.' It sticks out a bit on this album, just like 'Rhythm of Cruelty' did on Magazine's 'Secondhand Daylight' - the other more upbeat number 'Doubt' hasn't aged that well and could have been on 'Three Imaginary Boys.'

'The Holy Hour' drags the listener into the bleak place where Smith found himself, though 'Other Voices' is almost funky - if it wasn't for Smith's grim lyrics!!! 'All Cats are Grey' remains a fan's favourite and is gorgeous in a tragic way, you almost feel respite when 'The Funeral Party' begins - though that sounds like Suicide on valium!! The concluding pair of 'The Drowning Man' and the title track remain the ultimate low - the former is a repetative dirge capturing something bleak happening to Smith, while the latter is another sublime epic with horrifying lyrics that nod to Christ and children christened in blood. It's a bit gothic then...

'Faith' is a great album, but not one I'd play very often - if you did, I might worry. Who'd believe we were just a few years away from 'The Lovecats'????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews