Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't fear it, embrace it!
This album is full of the complex rhythms and quirky tunes mixed with admittedly bizarre lyrics to make something that works unusually well. If you have listened to a little Talking Heads or own a 'best of' compilation, I would highly recommend this as a must buy album on the way to becoming a full-blown fan. Very infectious!

As a bonus, this version has a...
Published on 17 Jan 2008 by C. R. Moorhead

versus
4 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars overrated
It's not that I dislike the Talking heads. I don't. Their first 2 albums were fun, I consider Little Creatures to be a minor masterpiece, and everything afterwards is interesting and listenable. But I don't get their middle period, and I don't want to. If I'm looking "African rhythms", I'll listen to Sly Stone, Funkadelic, James brown, or any other good R&B, funk, or...
Published on 6 Feb 2010 by Try4the sun


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't fear it, embrace it!, 17 Jan 2008
By 
C. R. Moorhead (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album is full of the complex rhythms and quirky tunes mixed with admittedly bizarre lyrics to make something that works unusually well. If you have listened to a little Talking Heads or own a 'best of' compilation, I would highly recommend this as a must buy album on the way to becoming a full-blown fan. Very infectious!

As a bonus, this version has a nifty DVD disc thrown in. There are live videos of 'I Zimbra' and 'Cities' as well as the whole album in a snazzy 5.1 format. 'Surround yourself in Talking Heads', is what they suggest and it isn't a bad idea, especially at such a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 Jan 2006
This review is from: Fear Of Music (Audio CD)
This album is one of my all-time favourites. The production still soudns brilliant more than 25 yers after its original release and the music is at once quirky and tuneful. Byrne's voice is quite unique and complements the music perfectly. From start to finish this is a proverbial tour de force of psychadelia mixed with influences of world music and tuneful guitar. The highlight for me is proabably Cities but every song is a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fear is a man's best friend, 5 Dec 2002
By 
This review is from: Fear Of Music (Audio CD)
the third talking heads album & probably their greatest begins with a Dada sound-poem & ends with what sounds like an LSD trip gone horribly wrong, in between all kinds of fear are examined with a sly grin. David Byrne appears through the album to be some kind of refugee from a Kierkgaard mindscape although his fear & trembling is punctuated with humour. life is a trap & it's the ultimate one so how best to deal with all that useless anxiety about Cities & Animals & Drugs (not to mention Heaven itself)? well, Byrne says if you can make a mockery of it - sing it all out & feel better.for my part i believe anxiety is the best source for any Art to mine so this album lays close to my heart. Eno's production is just right - a sense of manic unease bubbles throughout. the conclusion? "paranoia is a great mood propeller" (Don Van Vliet)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No fear of this music!, 13 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of Music (Audio CD)
Made during their most creative period - this awsome record is to be treasured - not quite as brilliant as the one that followed (Remain in Light) but then very different so difficult to compare. This album is classic Talking Heads, all spikey, tension laden stuff with weird lyrics and strange moods.
If you want some classic new wave American punk in your collection - you could do worse than starting with this, then go collect the other 3 early 'Heads albums (77, More Songs about Buildings and Food and Remain in Light) I promise you, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part 3 of a run of 4 excellent albums, 25 Jan 2007
This review is from: Fear Of Music (Audio CD)
There are loads of "Greatest Ever" and "Top 100" lists in magazines, on TV and the radio. There's really no point in trying make one album the greatest ever, as people's favourite music changes depending on so many different circumstances and variables. However there's no doubt in my mind that this album is "one of" the best albums ever made. OK so I'm a big fan, and of course that will always cloud my judgement, but careful listening to this album will bring you hours of pleasure. It's not easy listening pop, but hell its worth listening to. A definate 5 star album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talking Heads at their best, 15 Nov 2002
By 
J. Bloss "jethrox1" (Buckingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fear Of Music (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album from an excellent band. There are a variety of styles on here that all work. From the almost anthemic Heaven, the guitar heavy Memories can't wait and the brilliant Life During Wartime. The music is a mix of guitars and electronics that compliment David Byrne's vocal style perfectly. It sounds as good now as when it was released and is a definite must have for any Talking Heads fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for 70s nostalgics: exciting as any music today, 5 Jan 2003
By 
Dobester (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fear Of Music (Audio CD)
Astonishingly fresh almost 25 years after it was first released, this is Talking Heads masterpiece. The lyrics are as weird as they are inspired, the music is loose and muscular in its post-punk rocky confidence.
While most people buying this are probably going through the process of replacing vinyl, this album is far too good just for that audience. This is dynamite, exciting music, that makes you want to dance as much as it makes you think. Talking Heads lyrics were always far beyond the standard romance, regret or rage topics of pop, and this album includes songs about urban guerrillas, the boredom of eternal life in paradise and the sneakiness of animals.
Perhaps surprisingly, the greatest song on the album is "I Zimbra", which has meaningless "mouth-music" lyrics in an invented nonsense language. This may be one of the most influential songs after punk. As well as being a great dance track, it must be one of the first examples of world rhythms injecting rock with their hybrid vigour, a precursor to Byrne and Eno's ground-breaking album "My Life in the Bush of Ghosts" two years later.
So, if you owned this before, get it again. If you've never heard it, buy it anyway. At under a tenner, you can hardly go wrong, and you'll love it. No doubt about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heads at Their Best, 17 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Raymond L. Hall "TareeDawg" (Taree, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent and quirky in the best TH's manner. An essential addition for all serious Head's fans. Great sound too. A minimalist masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fear Is The Key, 17 Jan 2006
By 
Dudley Serious - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In the early days of the New York New Wave, Talking Heads were scorned by many of their cooler than thou contemporaries because they were "nerds". But their debut album showcased a fresh, immediate sound and the nerds were well on the way to becoming cool themselves. 'Fear of Music', their third album, fulfilled the vast potential demonstrated on their previous releases.
Rumour has it that when Sire signed them David Byrne made Tina Weymouth re-audition for the position of bass player. Whether that's true or not, if the band (not just Weymouth) had technical limitations their creative vision was virtually boundless. On this album the spiky urgency of before has a new sure-footedness. Tracks like 'Cities' and 'Life During Wartime' for example motor forward with a well-oiled self-assurance to complement that spikiness.
Other tracks like 'Drugs' and 'Heaven' strip the sound to its bare essentials, thus bringing to the fore Byrne's edgy vocals exploring themes of urban dislocation and paranoia. But despite all this unease this imperfect modern world is celebrated too because Heaven is, as Byrne observes, "a place where nothing ever happens".
Right down to its mostly one-word song titles, 'Fear of Music' is a minimalist masterpiece. Talking Heads made many other great albums but even if they hadn't this alone would have ensured their place in rock history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Talking Heads, 12 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a true Talking Heads fan, you can't do without this title.
Unfortunately, I lent this to a friend, and well, was one of those which never came back... :) Gonna have to buy it again some day :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fear Of Music (Deluxe Version)
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews