Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Williams
John Williams’ score is, typically, immensely thematic. However, the themes do not construct the score in the manor themes operate in Williams’ immensely accurate leitmotif design for the Star Wars trilogy. The score boasts two amazing primary themes. Both are heard in ‘Theme from Jurassic Park’, ‘Journey To An Island’ and...
Published on 14 Jan. 2003 by P. C. Marston

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet another famous movie theme
It's amazing when you realise just how many famous film themes John Williams composed. This two-part theme is a classic and the tracks 'Theme from Jurassic Park' and 'Journey to the Island' are enough to warrant a purchase. The rest of the disc, however, is rather average. There is a four note 'Dinosaurs are dangerous' motif that doesn't quite grab and although the Raptor...
Published on 19 Sept. 2005 by Juan Iglesias


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Williams, 14 Jan. 2003
By 
This review is from: Jurassic Park (Audio CD)
John Williams’ score is, typically, immensely thematic. However, the themes do not construct the score in the manor themes operate in Williams’ immensely accurate leitmotif design for the Star Wars trilogy. The score boasts two amazing primary themes. Both are heard in ‘Theme from Jurassic Park’, ‘Journey To An Island’ and ‘Welcome to Jurassic Park’. The themes composed in illustration of the velociraptors are also used in various cues. But it’s the two main themes which have rightly garnered such public acclaim. As with most Williams themes, the construction is relatively simple. The first theme is slow and stately. The second theme utilises a sense of rhythmic marching. This is provided by the lower brass, similar to the opening to the theme from Indiana Jones. Both are brilliant and memorable. They go round ones head for days!! (or maybe it’s just me).
The outstanding track on the album is most definitely ‘Journey To An Island’. It contains both main themes and its orchestration is breathtaking. Williams surrounds this music with such complex and magically rich orchestrations, producing a sense of magic constant throughout the entire 9 minutes running time. The trumpets soar, the strings swirl whilst the woodwinds dance in scherzo like figures. This style of ‘fantasy’ orchestration has become a staple of Williams’ style and extends orchestrational practices from Hook and ET. He tinges occasional cues with various ethnic flutes and native percussion, reflecting the geography of the film.
In returning to the genre which produced ‘Jaws’, Williams produces action music of a high calibre. However these cues are never as downright scary, arguably because the musical ideas are not as simple. The music is certainly not as heart stoppingly fear inducing.
The action music is frenetic and fast paced as one might expect. The string section of the orchestra is severely taxed with the brass and percussive displays providing real bite. As in Star Wars, the timpani pound in the T-Rex cues among forceful trombone stabs. Personally, I don’t find this action music as texturaly impressive or as orally pulsating as the percussive and rhythm driven ‘The Lost World’. The music for the raptors, utilising growling bassoon turns and a rumbling bass sonority, is not as gritty and dirty as Williams’ sequel score. However, it’s Williams melodies and his touch for lighter music which is on display here and ultimately steals the show.
The score is about fantasy, and some of the most successful music on the album is the music composed to convey the sense of awe and power of creation. Williams’ use of chorus is particularly effective in producing this tone. ‘Hatching Baby Raptor’ employs a beautiful and haunting female chorus whilst towards its end enthusing an eerieness through its subtle manipulation of dissonance. Tracks such as ‘Petticoat Lane’ and ‘Welcome To Jurassic Park’, see Williams use the celeste and piano to offer solo performances of the main Jurassic Park theme. This writing, whilst reminiscent of Home Alone and ET, is effective in providing variations of the themes, whilst still maintaining the tonal feel of the album. The use of the celeste is actually rather melancholic.
The only poor track on the album is ‘Dennis Steal The Embryo’. Its a rather boring listen due to an over repetitive electronic ostinato. ‘My Friend The Brachiosaurus’ contains a brilliant use of harmony and harmonic progressions. The track is beautiful despite lacking the more ‘glossy’ orchestrations.

This score is not John Williams best work ever, but it is still brilliant. In my opinion it is one of the best score of the 90’s. The Lost World is equally impressive but for different musical reasons. The album contains all of the major music from the film and is worth every hard earnt penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The soundtrack for a generation., 18 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr. R. Mayou "mayou316" (Solihull, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jurassic Park (Soundtrack) (MP3 Download)
This is the soundtrack to my childhood. Its hard to explain just what the original Jurassic Park meant to my generation or how huge this film was. Star Wars I never got. The films had been long out and even though British TV showed them all their initial impact had been and gone so I missed the hype surrounding them Jurassic Park though was different. I can still remember seeing the trailer on TV for the first time and the moment when you see the Brachiosaurus, Ive never felt that about any film since and for an eleven year old boy who for years before had collected the model dinosaur range the London natural history museum issued it was unbelievable. Here was a real life breathing and living dinosaur on the screen and you then had to see the film. All my friends at school were the same, it was the number one talked about topic for weeks. Even now the first few bars of the Jurassic Park main theme send my heart racing. For my generation this was our Star Wars. Anyway enough nostalgia and lets look at the soundtrack on its own merit. (A review of the film will follow when its finally released on blu-ray. My number one most wanted.) Only very few film scores have the capability of adding to the sense of magic and wonder of a film in quite the way that this one does. Just think of the famous parts of the film and you hear the soundtrack. The helicopter entrance onto Isla Nublar with the incredible main theme playing is probably one of the great movie scenes of all time. Then theres the graceful beauty of the theme that plays when theyrre in the tree with the Brachiosaurus. But of course any film soundtrack stands and falls on its dramatic track and JP's does a terrific job of adding to the almost tangible tension. This is the great John Williams at the absolute peak of his powers., and as close as any soundtrack has come to sheer perfection in achieving its purpose. So get this soundtrack and remind youself of all Jurassic Park meant to its legion of fans ahead of the new game release in the autumn and hopefully the imminent arrival of the series on blu-ray, when we can all wonder at it all over again. Its time for the great JP to take its rightful place along the other truly great series in film history. And remember if its not got the symbol on it its not official!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding., 16 April 2013
This review is from: Jurassic Park (Audio CD)
John Williams' genius here is taken to new heights. For those who study music its clear but for those more laid back about such matter then I just suggest that the pauses and variation in pace in this soundtrack set it apart from any other and inject suspense that is so clever and to leave me smiling for a long time. A stunning album. It stands alone as a music collection and not many soundtracks can say that. BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, 12 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. R. J. Juden "R. Juden" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jurassic Park (Audio CD)
Another reviewer mentioned the poor editing of the album - and i have to agree, however for me this does not detract from the quality of the compositions.
Judged in context of the film, and as a listening piece, Williams' score for Jurassic Park is a purely thoroughbred product - huge, powerful and dynamic to the extreme with contrasting shades of delicacy and subtle detail that would leave most other composers dumbstruck. (As many of them seem to be these days!)
It's fair to say this was the first score that really grabbed my attention - as a young boy in the cinema I was intrigued... and in my later years as my tastes matured, I re-discovered my love and appreciated the music on a whole new level.
Enough has already been said about the themes... timeless, epic, ridiculously infectious etc, and a fair bit has been written about the action scoring. No one does it better in my book - full orchestral work-out sessions that thrill with their divine complexity and explosive power.
There's no doubt this will stand the test of time - a truly landmark achievement that set a new standard for intelligent blockbuster scoring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever!, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park (Audio CD)
Got to be some of the best music ever written for a film!! Brings everything to life and you can picture every scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Williams does it again., 10 Sept. 2005
By 
Mr. Andrew Moore "lord derfel cadarn" (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jurassic Park (Audio CD)
I have a confession to make; I love film soundtracks. I like the film music of John Williams more than any other, and that's not easily said with the likes of Horner, Zimmerman, and a miriad of others. But Williams... Star Wars had me hooked as did Fiddler on the Roof, Jaws, Schindlers List, Superman the Movie, even his TV stuff like Lost in Space (credited as Johnny Williams).
So Jurassic Park... the dinosaurs were so realistic in the film butwould it have been as good without the music? try watching the film with no sound... it doesn't work.
To my mind, the mark of a good soundtrack album is one you can listen to and appreciate without having seen the film and Williams' scores do just that, Jurassic Park being no exception. The music is a character in itself, and I think he does this by composing themes and not music to a scene. The themes are then used to accompany appropriately timed scenes in the film thus enhancing the mood of the scene. However, the album returns to the themes and as such work brilliantly.
Jurassic Park is an album which I return to regularly, the music is simply terrific, uplifting, exciting, relaxing, even comical at times. This is Williams at his best, get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely music, 7 Dec. 2013
By 
Ms. Dw Clarke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park (Audio CD)
This is a CD that you will not tire of. I have played it a lot. One of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Renewed Hope, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park (Audio CD)
I love this CD because the theme in it renews my hope every time I listen to it. It is so full of life and power.
This music is a classic and anyone serious about good music should, in my opinion, try to get it. The price is good also, so to me, this is a very worthwhile bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park (Audio CD)
John Williams has a way of writing the type of music that sticks in your mind. Having seen the film on several occasions each note of the score seems to bring to mind the big-screen action whilst just listening to this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Class!, 30 May 2014
By 
J. P. Boyle "Gungans&Ewoks" (Malaysia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park (Audio CD)
Fantastic CD. Brilliant service! John Williams at his popcorn peak. Unparalleled awesomeness.Memorable timeless compositions. Simple alluring yet absolutely captivating. Jurassic Park 2 and 3 doesn't even come close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jurassic Park (Soundtrack)
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews