Customer Reviews


640 Reviews
5 star:
 (305)
4 star:
 (132)
3 star:
 (71)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (95)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Few Things You Need to Know before Buying this Excellent Product
When I was buying this product known as Iron Gym, I was thinking, hey it's about £10 including the postage, so why don't give it a try...

Within two days the product arrived. And I usually wouldn't bother to review a product unless it's very good or very poor. Now this product proved excellent with such a low price.

What's in the Box...
Published 10 months ago by Gre4t Moments

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Made
This product was fiddly to put together. The whole thing does not sit straight making it extremely hard to use. The metal hook that is meant to hold the entire bar and your weight, bends without any effort, making it impossible to hang on a door.
Published 19 months ago by James


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Few Things You Need to Know before Buying this Excellent Product, 7 Jun. 2014
By 
Gre4t Moments (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXERCISE BAR / DOOR BAR, PULL UPS, CHIN UPS, SIT UP, UPPER BODY TRAINER (Misc.)
When I was buying this product known as Iron Gym, I was thinking, hey it's about £10 including the postage, so why don't give it a try...

Within two days the product arrived. And I usually wouldn't bother to review a product unless it's very good or very poor. Now this product proved excellent with such a low price.

What's in the Box...?

1. Plastic bar
2. Arched bar grips (2x)
3. Long bar (2x right half and left half)
4. Plastic ring attached to the left half bar
5. Long bolts (2x)
6. Medium bolts (2x)
7. Locking nut (4x)
8. Spring washer (4x)
9. Saftey wedge tool
10. Hex open wrench tool
11. Iron gym leaflet - manual, workout and nutrition guide
12. CD

Product in General

Iron Gym multi-function extension bar is an excellent product with such low price which can be easily assembled and use for a variety of exercises. It is a sturdy strong bar that can supports 300 lbs of weight, that is about 136 kilograms.

Assembling
When it comes to assembling things I am such a hopeless fellow, every time I try to assemble something, chances are there will be some screws and bolts left. I am probably the worst "assembler" ever walks on the earth. So don't worry when you read this product comes with a little assembling. It would only take a few minutes, and if I can do it in minutes, you are going to take only a couple of minutes. The hex open wrench tool is excellent; it's very easy to tighten the bolts. As I said in a couple of minutes your multifunction extension bar is ready to use.

Door Frames

Once you attached to the door frame it will be ready to go, however, please make note the ideal standard door frames are from 24" to 32". Unfortunately my door frame in my bedroom has less exposure, and I have found it to use with additional caution, It latches, and I can chin up, but as long as the pressure on the long bar, thanks to the gravity and the firm grip. However, once the pressure is relieved the extension bar will detach. This is where you should check your door frame that is not too deep into the mortar, in my case it was very thin.Then I found other door frames are standard ones If you've a door frame, 24" and above and exposed frame, this bar will be a pleasure to do exercises. The safety wedge tool is helpful here; this tool is designed to keep the extension bar on the frame, preventing it from falling off. Still, it's a good thing to check the door frames and the depth of the exposed frame before you buy this product, and even if your door frame is not standard it may be used with caution and you can also do a variety of exercises that doesn't require door frames.

CD

The mini CD comes with it is just an overview, actually a tv advertisement about two minutes only! There are two files in the CD

1. Fox Flash-player installation programme
2. Iron gym VCD.

Don't get your hopes up. The Iron Gym VCD is just an advertisement - you can see it as a kind of overview (the one I mentioned as a two minute advertisement). If you decided to watch it you don't need to install the Fox Flash-player, instead right click on the Iron Gym VCD and select "open with" and choose your browser. It will play on the browser as I am almost sure that your browser has flash player installed.

Exercises

With Iron Gym multifunction extension bar you can do a variety of exercises which include
1. Pull ups
2. Push ups
3. Chin-ups
4. Sit ups
5. Arms and shoulder exercises
6. Triceps Dips
7. Ab Crunches
Basically this multifunction extension bar is for the whole upper body. These exercises can build and tones the biceps, triceps, chest, back, shoulders and abdominal muscles. Place the extension bar in the base of the door frame to use sit ups.

A word of caution

Be very careful, if your door frame is not the standard one mentioned here or is very thin - not enough frame exposed but deep in the mortar, please be very careful (again) that you may not be able to use the safety wedge tool and if the pressure is not equalized in both handle it can simply detach, it won't be a pleasant experience when you're doing chin-ups. Read the manual and make sure you're doing it the correct way. Safety first. The good news is that some of the door frames in your house must be standard, so try those frames.

Check everytime you use the extension bar that its bolts are tightened and the extension bar is locked (the long bars attached to each other). If not use the wrench (included with the pack) to tighten the bolts.

Update 06-11-2014
P.S. I didn't bother to use all the washers, and it is still working fine...

Update 20-12-2014
Wall Scarring: I was using this exercise bar regularly since last June, it's foam padded and I haven't had any scarring on the wall. The point of contact is the upper part is foam padded, the other two contacts are the steel bar, again with rubber grips on the sides of the door, so I was wonder how it scars the wall as mentioned in many reviews. I was checking all these months if it scars the wall. It didn't, so I guess either the reviewers who mentioned about the scarring have either got wrong item or they were using it wrong.

Pros:
Quality item
Budget wise
Heavy duty steel construction
Fits standard frames (24" to 32" wide)
Easy to assemble
Protective form (to prevent scarring and marring of the walls)
No drilling or fastners necessary
Variable grip positions possible
Saftey wedge tool that prevents the bar from falling off.
Manual includes assembly, installation and workout explained.
Maximum weight 300 lbs (around 136 kgs)

Cons:
CD is useless as it's only just an overview advertisement.
Manual also claims to be a nutrition guide but there is no nutrition mentioned.
Maximum weight 300 lbs (around 136 kgs)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 135 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good sturdy design, 29 Sept. 2010
By 
C. S. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: EXERCISE BAR / DOOR BAR, PULL UPS, CHIN UPS, SIT UP, UPPER BODY TRAINER (Misc.)
I did have some trouble with one of the bolts during assembly, but once finally assembled this is a strong sturdy design.

I was a bit sceptical about buying one of these door bars as a lot of the reviews i have read had people complaining about how they would not fit them in their door frames properly. After searching around a bit i noticed that this door bar, although the same design in the pictures as others i've seen, stated that it should fit most 24-32" width doors. Unfortunately none of the designs state how deep your door frame can be which is the worry i had as my door frames are all 7" deep. But i decided just to go for it and if the worst had happened i would have just got a refund. Thankfully my instinct was correct and it operates perfectly, all i need now is to actually use it all the time :P

Also, i am 6'4" so i was a bit sceptical about how close i would be to the floor whilst fully extended during a pull up, but all i have to do is bend my knees a bit and its fine :) also doing this helps strengthen my stomach muscles :D. Hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Item, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXERCISE BAR / DOOR BAR, PULL UPS, CHIN UPS, SIT UP, UPPER BODY TRAINER (Misc.)
This item is able to support 17 stone (108kg) with no issues. It has lasted longer than I thought, caused no damage to door frame and is now sitting there... staring at me... telling me that I am lazy... Be warned: Just buying this wont make you healthy - you have to actually use it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good sturdy bar, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXERCISE BAR / DOOR BAR, PULL UPS, CHIN UPS, SIT UP, UPPER BODY TRAINER (Misc.)
Easy to put together despite the vague instructions. I weigh around 95kgs and the bar holds me fine, it doesn't flex. Really good product and good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ideal, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXERCISE BAR / DOOR BAR, PULL UPS, CHIN UPS, SIT UP, UPPER BODY TRAINER (Misc.)
Item exactly as promised. It was a gift for my grandson who is over the moon as it is helping him with his daily workout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have done around 20 pull-ups pr day and the material is still holding good. I'm super pleased with the fact that you ..., 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXERCISE BAR / DOOR BAR, PULL UPS, CHIN UPS, SIT UP, UPPER BODY TRAINER (Misc.)
Price! Its an amazingly cheap purchase considering the results you are able to get within a short period of time. I have done around 20 pull-ups pr day and the material is still holding good. I'm super pleased with the fact that you can set it up and pull it down easily. I rarely use it for other than pull ups and chin-ups but if that's what you're going for then buy it. Personally I prefer a metal bar with no foam covered handles but it works just fine despite. Set it up at the door frame to your bedroom so you feel obliged to do a few pulls up before bedtime and when you wake up. Good luck :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Made, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXERCISE BAR / DOOR BAR, PULL UPS, CHIN UPS, SIT UP, UPPER BODY TRAINER (Misc.)
This product was fiddly to put together. The whole thing does not sit straight making it extremely hard to use. The metal hook that is meant to hold the entire bar and your weight, bends without any effort, making it impossible to hang on a door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXERCISE BAR / DOOR BAR, PULL UPS, CHIN UPS, SIT UP, UPPER BODY TRAINER (Misc.)
I did one pull up on this exercise bar and it cracked straight down the middle and bent in half! I weigh around 13 stone too so it's not like I'm overweight! Extremely poor quality. Spend a bit more money for decent quality metal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and crafty idea works well as a home gym, 25 Nov. 2013
This review is from: EXERCISE BAR / DOOR BAR, PULL UPS, CHIN UPS, SIT UP, UPPER BODY TRAINER (Misc.)
The home gym Pull up bar/ sit up/ and press up bar, is a very interesting and unique concept.

The bar itself arrived very quickly in strong and large packaging which held it well. The pull up bar came with a small spanner and screws so I could assemble the bar itself. It comes in 4 parts in the box which does not take longer than 10 minutes to assemble together. The manual explains it quite well.

Moving on to the bar itself, it is made of quite a cheap material but still seems to be quite durable and sturdy.

One of the main worries when buying a door frame pull up bar is that it will not fit in your door frame, but with this one it seems to have fitted in most of the door frames in my house- I believe the size is roughly from 24"-32". This is quite a good size so it is adaptable to different people in different size door frames.

Another worry you may have is that it will fall when doing a pull up, I do not think you should worry too much as this as unlike other bars it seems to bee very solid when in position and does not look shaky at all. Just make sure the bolts and screws are tied very tight! Also i would advice to have a solid door frame also...

The only problem which prevents me from giving it 5* is that it seems that it may not last me a very long time due to the quality of it and I do not always feel to comfortable using due that.

But for that price, I would find it difficult to complain as it is well worth every penny.

It is extremely multi functional as it works perfectly for sit ups and press ups also, so go get one and get yourself fit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 86 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not if you've got a fussy Wife, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXERCISE BAR / DOOR BAR, PULL UPS, CHIN UPS, SIT UP, UPPER BODY TRAINER (Misc.)
I'm 5' 11" and just 13 stone. When I used this, despite the foam padded bar - it market the door frame and the Wife went off on one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews