Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, reliable but not tamper-proof
This product is flexible: programable and able to deliver pills once, twice. three times or four times a day.

The clever use of pre-printed labels that indicate the dispensation ("Monday morning", "Tuesday morning", etc) together with the well explained computer set-up make the device easy to program, fill up and use - but do read the small manual...
Published on 23 Oct 2010 by Mr. Raymond Milgrom

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK - But could be better
Plus - Easy to set up/load. Light weight. Plenty of room for tabs.
Minus - Alarm not load enough (no volume control)- 94 year old could not hear it. I intend to drill some holes in the lid to allow the sound out! Light only visible when looking down on the device. (not visible if at eye level).
Had to re-label pre-printed paper labels for Morn, Eve & Bed. Would...
Published 25 days ago by Nikki


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, reliable but not tamper-proof, 23 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. Raymond Milgrom "Ray Milgrom" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AUTOMATIC PILL DISPENSER & REMINDER (Personal Care)
This product is flexible: programable and able to deliver pills once, twice. three times or four times a day.

The clever use of pre-printed labels that indicate the dispensation ("Monday morning", "Tuesday morning", etc) together with the well explained computer set-up make the device easy to program, fill up and use - but do read the small manual.

It proved boringly reliable in operation.

The pills are secured by a locking catch with an unusual key so that the doses only become available when the machine dispenses them. At that time an alarm (you can select the noise) sounds until the dispenser is picked up and the pills tipped out. Very neat.

If this product is to be used by someone with mental problems such as dementia it would be good to think it through carefully because it is not tamper-proof:

1. The lock on the pill compartment can be opened using finger nails and that could result in over-dosing.
2. The battery compartment can easily be removed. If any batteries are also removed, the unit will no longer dispense the pills, even if the batteries are subsequently replaced correctly. The unit would have to be re-programmed. This could lead to under-dosing.

Apart from the aspect of tampering, the unit is well designed and built and is offered at a very low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect bit of kit., 3 Jan 2013
By 
T. Franke (southern UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AUTOMATIC PILL DISPENSER & REMINDER (Personal Care)
We have taken over my 90+ mothers medication (she lives by herself) and ever since we have started using one of these (about 10 months - this one is the 2nd to have one as a spare) she has been taking the medication as prescribed. Before she was using the medicine manager blister packs which to us seem perfectly adequate, but for someone who is a little forgetful and living on their own with no-one to remind them, they don't match the efficientcy of this dispenser which calls her over with its alarm and the alarm only stops when the tablets are tipped out. On the rare occasion when she does forget then at least we are aware as they remain in the dispenser. We have had a much more worry free year knowing the warfarin plus a number of other important heart medication have been taken as and when they should have been. I fill it up once a week (3 doses a day)(can do up to 28 doses so could do up to 28 days once a day or up to 4 doses a day for 7 days.) Perfect! and this is a pretty good price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant idea, but.........., 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: AUTOMATIC PILL DISPENSER & REMINDER (Personal Care)
I was so chuffed to find this dispenser at half the price of the other branded one.
It works extremely well, and I thought, yup, that'll solve the lack of memory problem that my Ma-in-Law has when it comes to taking her medication. She has Vascular Dementia.
However, I didn't think for a moment that she would take the batteries out of the back to stop the alarm , and of course, the whole thing working!
Nor did I bank on her, the following week, leaving the batteries in place, but then use a knife or screwdriver, or even her finger nail, (I don't know which, as she said it wasn't her!)to open the lock, thereby allowing her to fiddle with the timer buttons and alter the times, and turn the alarms off!
So, here I am back to square one! Oh, what to do...........
Saying all that, and even if I'd read about the ease with which the batteries could be got at, and how easy it would be to open the lock without the key,I'd have still have bought the pill dispenser as, in theory, it's an excellent gadget and one which, I'm sure, will come in handy at some other time, for someone not so crafty!
I would highly recommend buying this pill dispenser as it is almost identical to one which you would pay over twice the price for.
Now, where's the super glue?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medelert pill dispenser, 11 Oct 2010
This review is from: AUTOMATIC PILL DISPENSER & REMINDER (Personal Care)
I am so glad I bought this item as it has solved a great problem on how to make sure my relative takes their meds without my constant phoning to check. It has also saved a lot of money as we do not have to pay carers to come in. This is not an insult to carers, I am one myself.It is a doddle to use and the simpicity of taking the tablets is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a great machine, 29 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AUTOMATIC PILL DISPENSER & REMINDER (Personal Care)
Bought this for my mum 6 months ago and it works Great !!! ..
I fill up her tablets every tuesday and it gives her the correct tablets...
Before this my mum never got the tablets or at the wrong time or wrong tablets...
Only slight drawbacks is make sure locked, as could be opened if try hard enough.. and battery cover should have screw in it .. we taped over cover to make it difficult to take battery cover off. Still has the same batteries in it from new.
Also alarm sound is too low and too high a frequency for the older and hard of hearing... A mid range frequency would be better... but the flashing red light alerts my mum or one of the girls who come in to help her..

A great product well worth it...
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pill Dispenser, 23 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AUTOMATIC PILL DISPENSER & REMINDER (Personal Care)
This has been a godsend. My elderly mother is very forgetful and I had to phone her everyday to make sure she'd taken her medication. This pill dispenser works very well and the alarm is loud and continues for a long time which is great. The pills just slip out so nothing fiddly for an elderly person to deal with but they might not catch the pills in their hand without dropping them so my mother drops them into a container and takes the pills from there. The set up is a bit fiddly, more through unfamiliarity though rather than because it's difficult. My mother and I are really happy with this product and compared to other products doing the same thing this is very reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK - But could be better, 16 Jun 2014
This review is from: AUTOMATIC PILL DISPENSER & REMINDER (Personal Care)
Plus - Easy to set up/load. Light weight. Plenty of room for tabs.
Minus - Alarm not load enough (no volume control)- 94 year old could not hear it. I intend to drill some holes in the lid to allow the sound out! Light only visible when looking down on the device. (not visible if at eye level).
Had to re-label pre-printed paper labels for Morn, Eve & Bed. Would have been good to have a blank label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exellent piece of kit, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AUTOMATIC PILL DISPENSER & REMINDER (Personal Care)
I bought this to dispence warfarin for my father who at 83 gets easily confused with his madication. So far we have had it about a month and it has worked faultlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would be better, 6 Jan 2014
By 
M. Bose - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AUTOMATIC PILL DISPENSER & REMINDER (Personal Care)
Would be better if it came with the see thru lid and not a solid colour one where you cant see which meds have been taken and when its time to refill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Product Review, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AUTOMATIC PILL DISPENSER & REMINDER (Personal Care)
Supposedly easy to set up. Have tried several times and failed to make it dispense more than once per day!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AUTOMATIC PILL DISPENSER & REMINDER
AUTOMATIC PILL DISPENSER & REMINDER by MEDELERT - YOU DONT HAVE TO PAY THE MOST TO GET THE BEST
Used & New from: 79.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews