Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heart-rending, thought-provoking biography
I bought this book while in Phnom Penh and reading it while there, added a poignancy to an already heart-rending experience. The first lines of the book said it all to me because I fell in love with the Mekong myself, and the people who live on its banks. Jon Swain's book River of Time touched me like Cambodia touched me and I came away from the country utterly...
Published on 21 Jun 2001 by angela_robson@hotmail.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
I chose this book for a friend who was going off travelling in this particular area - he found it interesting & an insight to the country he was going too.
Published 10 months ago by Ann E. C. Baker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Shocking, 28 Mar 2010
By 
M. Parr "music fan" (sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: River Of Time (Paperback)
The story of Cambodia and the horrors inflicted on it are central to Jon Swain's life. He tells it like it is, and does not feel the need to avoid mentioning his own flaws. Highly recommended - though a couple of pages about Vietnam under French occupation would have shown the motivations at work.

Note: if you read the book, he mentions Bizot, who he respects. Bizot also has a book about Cambodia, on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book., 16 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Cr Winspear (Cleveland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: River Of Time (Paperback)
i loved reading this book. very sad in places but still that was the place and time he was in, a very sad part of human history. i would recommend reading The killing Fields too as they interlink in some points. have to admit some big fancy words used maybe too much. great story anyway. i hope you enjoy it as much as i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fine book, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Of Time (Paperback)
The most melancholic moving and yet informative travel book I have read. In a time when fascist theocratic groups want to return countries to the Middle Ages this touches on the last time a political movement tried to do this. Pol Pot may have claimed to lead a left wing movement but his and its actions were of the right. The extreme right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Ann E. C. Baker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Of Time (Paperback)
I chose this book for a friend who was going off travelling in this particular area - he found it interesting & an insight to the country he was going too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A love affair with Indochina, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Of Time (Kindle Edition)
A hugely evocative tale of wanderlust, nostalgia, courage, horror, love, guilt, indulgence, loss, life, death.

As the title suggests, as much a reverie about time and place colliding into beautifully unique moments of your own journey through life as one journalists recounting of war in South East Asia in the 1970s.

Swain shares tales that span from his 5 years living in Cambodia and Vietnam, in which he experienced more than could be lived in 100 lifetimes in another time and place. A phenomenal read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Of Time (Paperback)
A touching and enchanting book. I have read several books based on this subject and have visited Vietnam and Cambodia a couple of times. It provides yet another perspective on the war and its effects on different people. I wish I had read it before I travelled though as it provides such a vivid image of the past and gives a deeper understanding of the countries and the people living in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Of Time (Paperback)
Loved the first hand account of the fall of Phnom Penh. But he talks a lot about all the things he got up to as a young journalist in south east Asia like the opium dens and those parts felt a bit narcissistic. But otherwise the accounts he gives of the impact on the region are great. He tells his story well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really enjoyable read, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Of Time (Kindle Edition)
Jon Swain's recount of his time in Vietnam and Cambodia offered a unique insight into a war journalists experiences during the war in India-China. However, this book told a whole lot more about the author 's personal love for a country long since changed beyond recognition by a despotic regime. The sadness of the situation is palpable in the reading of the text.o
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to history of the region, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Amy K. Raisbeck "Amy" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Of Time (Paperback)
I didnt know anything about indo-china and liked learining about it from the perspective of the author's personal/professional experience... a good blend of history, geography and personal drama. I would highly recommend it for anyone who wants to learn about the history of indo-china.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you feel like you were there and wish you could have helped., 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Of Time (Paperback)
Such a harrowing time in the history of Vietnam and Cambodia. Written with honesty and passion. This book was much better than I anticipated it could be. Having been to these amazing countries in Oct 2012, it brought their history to life, with the brutal reality and sensitivity that they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

River Of Time
River Of Time by Jon Swain
£4.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews