Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poppy's war first novel
Poppy's War was bought for me (Mrs P. Gowen) for Christmas by my husband as he had read a review and realized it was just the sort of book I would read. I have just finished reading this excellent first novel by Lily Baxter. Being over 80 myself it brought back memories of children being evacuated to the country during the second world war, land girls who did a...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by Robert G. W. Gowen

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for a light read
Well, I wanted a light read and this was fine. I read it in one sitting because I was in the mood and it was a very easy, comfortable read. If I was going to criticise it, I would say it was mostly rather predictable and those bits that weren't were slightly ridiculous! As I say, though, I was in the mood for a cosy read and this fit the bill nicely. (I would have been...
Published on 21 Jan 2011 by P L Willsmore


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poppy's war first novel, 11 Jan 2011
By 
Robert G. W. Gowen (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poppy's War (Paperback)
Poppy's War was bought for me (Mrs P. Gowen) for Christmas by my husband as he had read a review and realized it was just the sort of book I would read. I have just finished reading this excellent first novel by Lily Baxter. Being over 80 myself it brought back memories of children being evacuated to the country during the second world war, land girls who did a wonderful job while the menfolk were away etc.
I found it was difficult to put it down, it was so well written and very intersting all the way through to the end. Well done to Lily Baxter for her first novel - more to come please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: Poppy's War (Paperback)
This is an addictive and exciting book written by new author - Lily Baxter. The story of Poppy Brown is written in an intelligent and interesting manner. Only downside is that the chapters themselves are quite long but that shouldn't be too much of a problem as once you begin reading this book, its hard to stop! 5* from me (:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poppy's war, 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: Poppy's War (Paperback)
This is a great book about the wa,r its about a young girl and her toubles during the war. Never seen it in the shops where i live. Only took a couple of days to come thoughly enjoyed it. one to read if you like family sagas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for a light read, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Poppy's War (Kindle Edition)
Well, I wanted a light read and this was fine. I read it in one sitting because I was in the mood and it was a very easy, comfortable read. If I was going to criticise it, I would say it was mostly rather predictable and those bits that weren't were slightly ridiculous! As I say, though, I was in the mood for a cosy read and this fit the bill nicely. (I would have been disappointed had I paid full price though!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Poppy's War (Paperback)
I had this book given to me for my birthday. I'd never heard of Lily Baxter and I was a bit dubious as to wheather I'd enjoy this book. Well I needn't have worried. As soon as I started it I couldn't put it down. I finished it in two sittings.

I loved the character of Poppy and I am so glad that she got the man of her dreams. The book was very well written and easy to read and not drawn out to the point of reading this book as a sleep aid. Far from it. Don't read this book if you want to get off to sleep in reasonable time as it will hold your attention right until the last page.

Lovely story. Good page turner. Will be looking out for more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poppy's war paperback book, 1 Dec 2010
By 
J. W. Terry (lincolnshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poppy's War (Paperback)
Bought for my wife, she found this book a very good read, and has passed it on to her friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poppy's War (Kindle Edition)
A nice easy read, a gentle read not my normal page turner but enjoyable light hearted read. Poppy is a love person who if you met you would like her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need a second book!, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poppy's War (Kindle Edition)
Loved it! Great romance war time read but gutted it ended! Would love a follow up to know what happened in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poppy's War, 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: Poppy's War (Kindle Edition)
A gentle sweet story. Unfortunately you can accurately predict the end by the time you have finished the first chapter. Worth a read though despite that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pilot's War, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poppy's War (Kindle Edition)
A simple story, well told of life as it was before, during and after the War years and its effect on all classes.

Enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poppy's War
Poppy's War by Lily Baxter
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews