Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music Hall triumph for Benita Brown
This is a most enjoyable novel, and in my opinion, the author's best so far. The characters are well drawn and the plot well planned. The author's knowledge of, and love for her native Newcastle provide an authentic and interesting background.

I was drawn in by the characters from the first page and lived with them their highs and lows, their doubts and...
Published on 27 Nov. 2007 by Helen Robbins

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, easy to read romance
A story about a child kidnapped from her actress / singer mother in New Castle England in the 1880s. The story recounts the emmotional trials of her adopted life with a well-to-do family and ends with her re-uniting with her birth mother, following in her footsteps and taking to the stage.

Lacks depth but has some good characters, descriptive and hard to put...
Published on 5 Oct. 2007 by H. Rhodes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music Hall triumph for Benita Brown, 27 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Fortune's Daughter (Paperback)
This is a most enjoyable novel, and in my opinion, the author's best so far. The characters are well drawn and the plot well planned. The author's knowledge of, and love for her native Newcastle provide an authentic and interesting background.

I was drawn in by the characters from the first page and lived with them their highs and lows, their doubts and certainties. All the characters, whether they are benevolent or unpleasant, are deftly drawn and completely believable, with no jarring inconsistencies.

The plot takes you from the agony of Daisy Belle losing her beloved daughter to the highs of stage success with heartbreak, happiness, love and hate in between.

I was sorry when the book ended, and the characters had made such an impression on me that I carried on thinking about them and their lives for a long while after finishing the book.

An added bonus is the 'Just for you' section at the end, specially written by Benita Brown. Sections include Mrs Brown's typical day, her favourite reading and some very useful and inspirational tips for writers from a professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, easy to read romance, 5 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Fortune's Daughter (Paperback)
A story about a child kidnapped from her actress / singer mother in New Castle England in the 1880s. The story recounts the emmotional trials of her adopted life with a well-to-do family and ends with her re-uniting with her birth mother, following in her footsteps and taking to the stage.

Lacks depth but has some good characters, descriptive and hard to put down once you have started reading. Enjoyable novel. Rather in the style of Catherine Cookson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 15 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortune's Daughter (Paperback)
I loved this book!

In true Benita Brown fashion this book takes you on an amazing journey and by then end even though I wanted certain things to happen and then I just wanted to book to never end. This book was truly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 16 Feb. 2010
By 
LindaJ, Hampshire (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fortune's Daughter (Paperback)
For anyone who enjoys a Catherine Cookson novel this book is an absolute must. I have read all of Benita Brown's novels and find her style of writing engaging with good plots and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fortune daughter., 25 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Fortune's Daughter (Paperback)
what a great story of a mother and daughter who are separate. by ambitious man must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortune's Daughter (Paperback)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fortune's Daughter
Fortune's Daughter by Benita Brown
£4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews