Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars32
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2012
A book of great quality that has very good reviews.

It gives a picture of Rome's greatest battle and general. The author also gives us enough (but not too much) political details to explain the context of each parts.

The structure of the book is well suited to its purpose although it tends to be a bit repetitive (History repeats itself).

Well worth a buy and easily accessible. To be read by anyone interested in ancient Rome military history
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
after having read Adrians Roman Warfare and Cannae, i was very much looking forward to this book and it did not disappoint.
the descriptions of each person is very in depth and full of detail. i especially liked the one of Scipio Africanus... what a General! definitely one of the most under rated generals in history.
thoroughly entertaining book that will lead you to research more about all the people in the book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
Any Roman books by Goldsworthy are a must if ur into ur Roman history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
A little dry but ok once you get past the opening notes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
I liked this book easy to read and very imformative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
excellent from start to finish. brilliant author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Good product great price and great service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Roman empire was created, spread and maintained by military power; this book deals with some of the most important military leaders, from Fabius 'Cunctator" in about 217 BC, to Belisarius, about 530 AD. It discusses tactics, strategy, personalities, it describes the battles and the campaigns, the set-up of the armies and the politics behind them.

A wonderful subject. In my opinion, however, the rather plodding prose fails to pull me into the subject or the stories. The split infinitives, the endless 'presumably's, the style - it is all a bit turgid, not very, just enough to make me unenthousiastic, and prone to skip passages. The author may come highly recommended by John Keegan, but I am not keen. Three stars...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Excellent condition/value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
A great insight into the lives and abilities of some of Romes leading generals. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading the book and found it as gripping as some of the better fictions of this period that are currently available, For a factual and well researched book this is an achievement by the author!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)