Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, disturbing and a gruesome eye-opener to London's violent thug life
A brilliant read this will keep you hooked from the very beginning. It is a scary yet very real and very telling view on the 'gangster culture' that is taking over the streets and youth of today. A grueling read this novel will not be for the faint-hearted. It is testimony to a life that thankfully I do not lead but which is filtered through the media - television,...
Published on 14 May 2010 by D. Delalande

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not great but not garbage
not a bad read but i was expecting more and it didnt really deliver, alot of people in the book are nameless, and although i understand this is due to legal reasons, it doesnt read very well. doesnt really go into great detail when he could have and spends far too much time on the lowest ranking footsoldiers when the reader really wants to read about the mr bigs...
Published on 14 July 2012 by brettjoynson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, disturbing and a gruesome eye-opener to London's violent thug life, 14 May 2010
By 
D. Delalande (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A brilliant read this will keep you hooked from the very beginning. It is a scary yet very real and very telling view on the 'gangster culture' that is taking over the streets and youth of today. A grueling read this novel will not be for the faint-hearted. It is testimony to a life that thankfully I do not lead but which is filtered through the media - television, newspapers etc on a daily basis. Drugs, gangs and brutal 'respect' killings this book tells it like it is.

For those out there that adopt this attitude towards life have a read. If you think killing someone because they looked at you 'wrong' is the means to gaining a gangster rep - think again. This book separates the boys from the men in that sense. Those that kill for business means and those that kill in order to gain status. The older 'gangster' generation and the new more ruthless youth of today.

It doesn't paint a nice picture but it paints a realisic one. The irony of the postcode wars. The general understanding that regardless of criminal acts or the wrong look, or something as stupid as stepping on a persons shoe is what is causing these pointless murders. The creation of 'clicks' and 'gangs' all this is nothing because when you scrape this away all you have are people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the money and time, 17 Sep 2011
Having only just finished this book I can honestly say I could not put it down.

Outstanding journalism from a man who has obviously got the contacts (and the kahuna's) to delve into the depths of Britain's underworlds. Extremely well written and indepth research has produced what I would call a modern classic of todays underworld, or in the case of CR0 todays underclass. Having lived in Croydon the way he opens up the DSN and SMN is a like a light being switched on, all of us who live there know of the gangs, but the way in which they operate is totally close knit even to those in the communitites in which they prowl, this book has given me a glimpse into their world where beating people for the slightest of reasons such as living in the wrong postcode, surreal.

It then goes on to the higher eschelons of the criminal world such as the Adams and the Green's who rule the roost at the top without getting their hands dirty and for whom killing is only done as a nesscessity, the men who hate having their names mentioned in the papers for the unwanted attention and heat that it places upon them, this is something the street gangs should take note of, these men have not risen to the top of their trade by doing time every five minutes for some minor offence, they can even trade off of the fact the their name is used on a job, talk about brand marketing.

Without a doubt one of the best books of this genre I have read for a long while, would definately recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ross Kemp- Don't make me laugh, 17 Aug 2010
I first read gangs by Tony Thornton about 5 years ago and I was absorbed by the detail and insight into the criminal world. There were very few shocks involved as everyone knew of the existence of the underworld, the markets, methods and players.

This is in effect an update on his earlier works and it is quite shocking how crime has evolved. The racial bariers are no longer an issue and at times it is crime for the sake of crime. Money, pride, ego and a desire for status still remain factors but the advances in technology and its impact on society are now also factors.

Tony Thompson really does get to the heart of the underworld and comes across as convincing and authentic. He has made some excellent contacts and through the years as a quality reporter has built up a degree of respect and trust in the underworld that allows him a unique insight that the reader gets to enjoy the benefit of.

I liked the structure starting with street hustlers peddling drugs for phenominal risk and little return and advancing upwards throughout the hierarchy to the Kingpins that evade capture for several years or even remain still at large.

The book is funny at times but also depressing, particularly when the streets of Croydon are featured and come accross as a very dangerous place with adolescents just entering their teens carrying swords and prepared to kill at random, just to be given a little more kudos from their peers.

In short an excellent book that proves that original is best. Tony Thompson was writing about gangs when Ross Kemp was in East Enders and it is not difficult to establish who is the master of this area and who is the young pretender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shocking!, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gang Land (Kindle Edition)
another well researched master piece from this great writer! This book will open ur eyes to what has been happening in the u.k the last few years. its a good read but u may find it makes u angry and sad sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True Crime, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An inside look at crime in the UK. The author has written several true crime books and if you like this book then try "Bloggs 19".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not great but not garbage, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not a bad read but i was expecting more and it didnt really deliver, alot of people in the book are nameless, and although i understand this is due to legal reasons, it doesnt read very well. doesnt really go into great detail when he could have and spends far too much time on the lowest ranking footsoldiers when the reader really wants to read about the mr bigs.

did make good use of his journalist background by including various newspaper articles at relevant stages, which i thought demonstrated various points well...

as stated previously, not an absoulte must read but not a bad read either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gangland, 7 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Slightly Boring.

The book did educate me on a few thigs about gangs and such and i got a giggle here or there but i found the writer to be a bit ego driven, a lot of "self stroking".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 May 2012
By 
Deano (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant insight into so many different gang cultures. Will definitely be looking out for Tony Thompson books again. Worrying and useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK not the best !!!, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am a big fan of real life crime stories, but this was is a little boring for me. Not the best crime book Iv'e read. I'd would suggest Carltol Leech autobiography if you are looking for a good read into the grittyness of the underworld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gang Land
Gang Land by Tony Thompson
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews