Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get SNAP SE instead
There's no doubt this is an excellent collection of singles but why buy this when you could buy the SNAP special edition double CD £1 cheaper. That has every song on this "best of" CD plus another 8 including "Away from the numbers" and "English Rose".
Published on 10 Aug. 2006 by Richy Fingers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My favourite album of all time but unfortunately when it arrived ...
My favourite album of all time but unfortunately when it arrived the disc case was broken and one of the hinge things had been snapped off so i was unable to properly open and close it but the disc was perfect and plays fine so didn't bother getting a replacement.
Published 2 months ago by Alex Preece


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get SNAP SE instead, 10 Aug. 2006
By 
Richy Fingers (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
There's no doubt this is an excellent collection of singles but why buy this when you could buy the SNAP special edition double CD £1 cheaper. That has every song on this "best of" CD plus another 8 including "Away from the numbers" and "English Rose".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever Singles band, 17 Oct. 2003
Growing up in the late 70's and early 80's the Jam were my Beatles.
The Greatest Hits package is a great place to start with, as the Jam were really a great Singles band.
When the first Greatest Hits package (called SNAP!)was released back in 1983, it came with a large volume of standout album tracks and B.sides which have some of the Jams finest 3 minutes, but I can't recommend this enough as a great album to buy to start with, Tube Station, Eton Rifles, Going Underground ,Thats Entertainment, Town called Malice and Precious are masterpieces of Singles.
For a snapshot of English life, you won't find better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Fantastic, Superb, 14 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
What can I say, The Jam have never disappointed me with any of their albums or individual tracks. There is a real mixture of Jam hits on here - from their very early stuff to their last hit, Beat Surrender. Totally inspiring music from a band who had so much talent. A must, must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Career spanning best of, 5 July 2010
The Jam are one of those perfect bands that start as you're getting into music, provide a soundtrack of hits to your youth and then break up after several albums without ever turning in a bad one. In the late 70's & early 80's music was still very tribal; mods `n' rockers, soul boys & greasers `n' all that. And one had to be in one in order to have any kinda gang to roam with. Shame. As a rocker it meant that certain bands were against the rules inc. The Jam. Sod that. The music fan finds a way. I had smart dudes in other tribes to feed me. I remember hearing All Around The World on 7" vinyl in a music class at school but it was All Mod Cons with the awesome Down In The Tube Station At Midnight that really did it for me. The story it tells and the images it creates as well as that killer bass line. The Eton Rifles, Going Underground, Precious & Beat Surrender all followed over the years leaving things on a high. Best of all though are floor filler Town Called Malice and the awesome, classic Strange Town about Weller's first trip to London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great band, great collection, great price!, 28 Jun. 2011
By 
J. Godding - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Classic band; everyone will have heard at least one of their songs at some point I can gaurantee it, although it is probably a genre that will have a fairly limited appeal these days.

Still, regardless of that fact, you get a lot for your money in this 'best of' album meaning if you're unsure you can give it a try without losing much.
I personally think some of the treble and bass could have done with a bit of a rebalancing, but it still sounds great and brings back many memories!

Why don't you get back in touch with your punk/mod side as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected?, 28 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this mainly for the singles that I already knew and was surprised to learn how many songs the Jam have released. The sound is a lot harder and more punky than I expected (only having the singles to go on) and I have been very pleased. This is more the type of album that I, personally, would put on to jump around to the songs that I know rather than listen to from beginning to end - but that's just me.
There's a lot here to like.
Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brings back a lot of memories, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Jam (Digitally Remastered) (MP3 Download)
Bought 'In The city' when it first came out in Tower Records in Oxford Street or Regents Street in London and it seems like yesterday when I listen to this with all the raw energy of those early days. The later tracks are mostly pretty good too. Great introduction to the Jam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hadn't heard much of The Jam before I bought this CD, but for a fiver I though I might as well. I was not disappointed, every song on there is cleverly written and the album is great to listen to and at times very entertaining. Weller is an excellent lyricist, as is Foxton. Would recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Jam (Digitally Remastered) (MP3 Download)
Just love it and can describe the whole album in 1 word fantastic. British music at its best the Jam are up there with the other great groups in my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ageless Class, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Jam (Digitally Remastered) (MP3 Download)
Absolute Class, ageless tunes from the maestro that is Weller. Turn it up loud and roll back the years Rock On....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews