Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fine parcel from Steeleye
For those of us who obtained the first parcel this second package is most welcomed.
This set contains:
Rocket Cottage (1976)
Storm Force Ten (1977)
Live At Last (1978)
Sails Of Silver (1980)
Tempted And Tried (1989)
Some of you will be asking where is Back In Line.This album was released by Flutterby records hence the jump in...
Published on 28 Jun. 2010 by G. Muskett

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
No problems
Published 8 months ago by Eileen Pratt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fine parcel from Steeleye, 28 Jun. 2010
By 
G. Muskett "Music Man" (Northern Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Parcel of Steeleye Span (Their Second Five Chrysalis Albums 1976-1989) (Audio CD)
For those of us who obtained the first parcel this second package is most welcomed.
This set contains:
Rocket Cottage (1976)
Storm Force Ten (1977)
Live At Last (1978)
Sails Of Silver (1980)
Tempted And Tried (1989)
Some of you will be asking where is Back In Line.This album was released by Flutterby records hence the jump in recordings on this set.Firstly,i am glad to say the quality matches the first parcel which for ardent Steeleye Span fans will be the main reason for buying this box set.Some of you will relish the thought of owning these recordings for the first time as some of the recordings were originally quite hard to find especially Rocket Cottage And Sails Of Silver.
There are two bonus tracks contained in this set The Boars Head Carol and Rag Doll.It should be noted that the bonus live tracks from Sails Of Silver have been omitted from this set as they were recorded in the nineties.
All in all another great selection of Steeleye in remastered form to enjoy at a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good collection, 16 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Parcel of Steeleye Span (Their Second Five Chrysalis Albums 1976-1989) (Audio CD)
This is the third of three box-sets containing their earlier albums. Good value if you like Steeleye!

The three boxed sets containing Steeleye Spans earlier 13 albums are:

The Lark In the Morning - The Early Years (2009). containing:
Hark! The Village Wait - 1970
Please To See the King - 1971
Ten Man Mop, Or Mr. Reservoir Butler Rides Again (including General Taylor) - 1971

A Parcel of Steeleye Span: Their First Five Chrysalis Albums 1972-1975 (2009). containing:
Below the Salt - 1973
Parcel of Rogues - 1973
Now We Are Six -1974
Commoner's Crown - 1975
All Around My Hat - 1975

Another Parcel of Steeleye Span, Their Second Five Chrysalis Albums 1976-1989 (2010). containing:
Rocket Cottage - 1976
Storm Force Ten - 1977
Sails of Silver - 1980
Live At Last - 1978
Tempted And Tried - 1989

Later Albuns (all still available) are:

Back in Line (1986)
Tonight's the Night...Live (1992)
The Collection: Steeleye Span In Concert (1994)
Time (1996)
Horkstow Grange (1998)
The Journey (1999)
Bedlam Born (2000)
Present--The Very Best of Steeleye Span (2002)
Live In Nottingham (2003)
They Called Her Babylon (2004)
Winter (2004)
Bloody Men (2006)
Folk Rock Pioneers In Concert (2006)
Cogs, Wheels and Lovers (2009)
Live At A Distance (2009)
Now We Are Six Again (2011)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value package completes the Chrysalis releases, 10 Aug. 2010
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Parcel of Steeleye Span (Their Second Five Chrysalis Albums 1976-1989) (Audio CD)
Identical in style and presentation to EMIs original collection which contained the first five of Steeleye Spans albums for the Chrysalis label, this new set contains the next (and final) five for the label. With the exception of the 1986 release "Back in Line" the bands complete back catalogue from 1970 to 1989 can now be obtained easily with the purchase of just three competitively priced compilations - that is thirteen full albums and a small selection of bonus tracks. "Back in Line" was not released on Chrysalis hence its absence from this new collection - however Amazon now have it available as an MP3 download if you don't want to pay a high collectors price for the CD.

This new collection was once again co-ordinated and compiled by Tim Chacksfield and the tracks have been newly remastered for this set. The thin booklet contains full album track details, and other information about the original releases including album covers. The five albums are split chronologically over the three CDs so "Storm Force Ten" and "Sails of Silver" each run across two CDS - slightly annoying but keeps the cost down I suppose! However, if you transfer the CDs to iTunes you just get one long album on your iPod, which makes it easier to get the running order you want.

There is some excellent material gathered here and fans will be eager to add this new set to their collections. Perhaps not quite as strong as their earlier work there are still enough classic Steeleye tracks here to make this new set well worth buying, and for shear value it has to be five stars. Packed full with all the albums there was just enough space left to squeeze in two bonus tracks, a '77 and a '78 single, to keep collectors happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocket Cottage ..... at last!!!, 1 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Parcel of Steeleye Span (Their Second Five Chrysalis Albums 1976-1989) (Audio CD)
Hurrah hurrah, they did it! Here are the next 5 albums in the Steeleye canon for a knock down price! I have been waiting for Rocket Cottage on CD for YEARS! I think it did appear, but only briefly, and was never widely available for some reason. It's one of the best ever albums in my book, and I am overjoyed to hear it again, especially the Bosnian pipes and Orfeo. It's from their Mike Batt period, and there was a time in there when they really rocked!

Also stunning, and again never widely available, is Storm Force Ten. Fiddler Peter Knight wasn't with them at this stage, which was a great loss, of course, but with the addition of the master, John Kirkpatrick, on concertina/melodion, and Mr Carthy popping back with vocals, the sound, although different, is AMAZING! I particularly rate Sweep Chimney Sweep for it's stunning harmonies.It's quite awesome.

In addition you have Live at Last, Sails of Silver and Tempted and Tried. These contain more self-penned material, which is sometimes a bit a bit patchy, but there are also some real crackers - Seagull (don't misinterpret the "three in a bed" line. It's about Shove Ha'penny!!) being my favourite, but Sails of Silver also a goodie. There's also the floor-filling version of the Padstow May-Day song, and Shaking of the Sheets (quite a jolly little ditty until you realise it's about death coming to get you!), etc etc etc.

These boxed sets are just great. They are fantastic value, and are very nicely presented. They even look good on the shelf! I would advise getting rid of your separate albums, and buying these lovely things! They certainly make good replacements for your vinyl, and very nice gifts for a fan! I await the next set with anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not their strongest albums by any means, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Donald Fear (Telford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Obviously this is nowhere as near as good as the first five Chrysalis albums, but this collection still contains many gems. "Rocket Cottage" is an excellent album, and "London", "Sir James the Rose" and the magnificent "Fighting For Strangers" are almost worth the cost by themselves. I'm not a fan of Storm Force Ten or Live At Last! Sails of Silver is decent enough, but no tracks on it would make any Best of Steeleye Span compilation. It's a pity the excellent Back in Line album is not part of this collection and Tempted and Tried rarely rises above the merely worthy. I gave it four stars for filling gaps in my collection rather than its great merit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Mar. 2011
By 
John K. Hodgson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Parcel of Steeleye Span (Their Second Five Chrysalis Albums 1976-1989) (Audio CD)
Having bought their first "Parcel" I had to have this one. I was not dissapointed. A really good feast of traditional Folk Music with their own style coming through. A fantastic collection of albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An audio upgrade, 7 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Another Parcel of Steeleye Span (Their Second Five Chrysalis Albums 1976-1989) (Audio CD)
As the proud (and perhaps slightly steeleye-obsessive) owner of the original CD releases of these albums, I have to say that the remastering performed on these discs is exceptional.
The quality of the music speaks for itself; the remastering simply enhances the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lesser Known But No Less Qualitative, 7 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: Another Parcel of Steeleye Span (Their Second Five Chrysalis Albums 1976-1989) (Audio CD)
Most fans of the British Folk scene that came alive in the late 60's are aware of the first 5 Fairport Convention Albums, as well as a smattering of the early Steeleye Span albums, most notably "Parcel Of Rogues" and "All Around My Hat." Several UK singles helped buoy "Commoner's Crown" and "Now We Are Six" as well, but as the 70's gathered steam, Fairport fell prey to numerous line-up changes, and audiences gravitated toward punk, dismissing conventional guitar bands as artifacts of a dead era. As Steeleye's chart entries became less, their albums became more adventurous, and this collection gathers five of their best, uncommercial offerings in one package. They had a hit with "London" which kicks off "Rocket Cottage," an album which also dropped gems such as "The Bosnian Hornpipes," the second single, "Fighting For Strangers," and the sublime "The Drunkard." "Storm Force Ten" which follows, was a richer, more sophisticated Steeleye, with layers of harmonies, accordians, and tricky time signatures. "Live at Last' was a mild hit in the U.K., being their first live offering, and while "Sails of Silver" was seen, at the time, as a slight let-down, over the years, it has become one of their stronger efforts, and led the way toward "Temped and Tried," one of the best albums of their career. So, definitely track down "Lark In The Morning," and without a doubt, the first "Parcel..." box set, but once you've tired of hearing the familiar, get this to delve into a rich, and underrated period of Steeleye Span's 40-year catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have but rather disappointing sound quality, 14 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Another Parcel of Steeleye Span (Their Second Five Chrysalis Albums 1976-1989) (Audio CD)
Considering how hard it is to get separate CDs of all the early albums, it's great that these box sets are available. It's a shame that they've split the different albums across physical CDs but I suppose they were limited by the CD box set manufacturers.

The only specific thing I can add to what others have said is to comment on the sound quality, which is rather disappointing. I suppose in this age of digital production we've come to expect CDs to have brilliant crisp clarity, which these recordings certainly don't offer. It's probably a limitation imposed by the quality of the original masters, and perhaps they could have cleaned them up a lot given more investment, which would of course have ended up coming out of our wallets, but as it is they sound distant and a bit muddy, with even the occasional apparent very brief drop-out. Not quite bootleg-low quality but certainly not top-class either. Yer gets wot you pays fer.

So, worth having if you yearn for an inexpensive and comprehensive collection of early Span, but not something to revel in sonically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Span 2, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always liked steeleye span from All Round My Hat through Rocket Cottage etc but never had all the tracks I wanted - now I am nearer.
Suitable for Folk-Rock Fans of the 70's to 90's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews