Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of 2010
Almost a year on, I am puzzled by the muted commercial success of this outstanding album by the Scissor Sisters. It just seemed to receive little airplay, on radio, tv and in clubs too, so across the board really.

Fire With Fire was perhaps a curious choice of the first single, but its a terrifically catchy song and reached No.11 in the UK charts. But the...
Published on 27 July 2011 by Rob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album.
A good enjoyable Album. Not as good as their Debut but better than the difficult 2nd album (which I did like) I look forward to the next instalment.
Published 22 months ago by MARK BROOKES


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of 2010, 27 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Work (Audio CD)
Almost a year on, I am puzzled by the muted commercial success of this outstanding album by the Scissor Sisters. It just seemed to receive little airplay, on radio, tv and in clubs too, so across the board really.

Fire With Fire was perhaps a curious choice of the first single, but its a terrifically catchy song and reached No.11 in the UK charts. But the fantastic Any Which Way, which I would have thought should have been the lead-off single, only scraped the lower part of the chart when it was released as a follow up. And then Invisible Light sank without trace! All of these were really good, catchy and enjoyable songs, but fell on fallow ground ...

As a whole, this album is unbeatable in both musical and lyrical quality, and I am still listening to it and enjoying every song on my ipod. If you haven't bought it (and not that many people seem to have done) you can snap it up now at a bargain price and I'm sure you will be playing it forever! Every song is excellent, and I feel the album is better than the debut Scissor Sisters and Ta-Dah!, both of which fared better than this one in the charts.

The songs Whole New Way, Skin Tight, Sex and Violence, Night Work, are bespecially outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to form, 9 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Work [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I've been a fan of Scissor Sisters since the days of 'Laura', and I was a little disappointed with their second album. This album, however, is just amazing. It's catchy, the lyrics are interesting, and there's at least 10 possible candidates for future singles here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good album, 11 Aug. 2011
By 
S. Watton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Work (Audio CD)
Had the last album & was okay, but this album is so much better. Every track great especially Invisible Light. Could play over & over again. Usully have to listen to an album a couple of times for it to grow on me, but this one was an immediate like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth the Wait, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
G. McAdam "garymcadam" (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Work (Audio CD)
Although this album took a fair time to come to fruition (with one or two bumps & bends in the road along the way), it's fair to say the end result was well worth it. The Sisters' last offering "Ta Dah" was rather like the proverbial Curate's egg (i.e good in parts), but this one hits the ground running with the bouncy title track and keeps right on going. Both Jake Shears and the velvet-voiced Ana Matronic are on top form, Stuart Price does a fine job behind the producers desk and an impressive list of guest contributors (Kylie, Sir Ian McKellan, Santigold and former Culture Club backing singer Helen Terry all chip in at various points) round things off nicely.
Highlights for me are the aforementioned "Night Work", "Harder You Get", the wonderfully catchy "Running Out" and the epic closing number "Invisible Light", but to be honest there's not a weak track to be found on here. Has to be one of the best albums of 2010 for me and it still features prominently on my "favourites" playlist even now. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different and great, 17 Feb. 2011
By 
A. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Work (Audio CD)
The first album was released at that perfect moment and it got bigger and bigger and was a fantastic record. But we've moved on from then so Ta dah the 2nd album was a let down cos it was too much like the 1st

However the 3rd is excellent great songs great sounds and production and lyrics. I've been working from home listening to this CD, by far their best album, no it wont have a tonne of hit singles but i dont care this is inventive and rude and cheeky but dark and serious skirting through strange but familiar worlds.

I was worried SS would fade away and be no more than a one album band but this album proves they really are a good band long may it stay that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth getting just for Invisible Light, 30 April 2011
This review is from: Night Work (Audio CD)
Jake Shears recently said that he wished he never released Fire with Fire as the lead single for this album but Invisible Light. Not that it's any good but just that the centre piece of this entire album is that last track, Invisible Light. It's what you'd get if you mixed Donna Summer's I Feel Love with Michael Jackson's Thriller. Throw in a couple of Pet Shop Boys more uptempo moments and the result is a dance floor monster. When they leaked the track on-line before the album was released, it got everyone very excited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 2 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Work (Audio CD)
I did not buy this when it came out in 2010, I heard this album for the first time several weeks ago. I felt that I needed to add my "5 stars" as this is one of those rare albums that you listen from the start until the end as each and every song on this album is very good. They have done an excellent work especially after the miserable 2nd album. I strongly sugggest this album to anyone who is still thinking whether or not to listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it..., 1 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Work [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
It has been quite a long time since I bought an album & this is my first via MP3!!! I am extremely happy with my purchase, the album has shades of 'Welcome to the Pleasuredome' by FGTH among other influences. Catchy tunes and interesting lyrics, give a go and see what you think...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coolest album for summer nights and sleazy parties!, 2 July 2010
By 
Dark Paths "Dark Paths" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Night Work (Audio CD)
This is the album I'll be playing at parties this summer, indoors, or (cough) outdoors!

This third studio album by the Sisters is a mixed bag, and a lot of fun because of it. Listening to the tracks, in darkened spaces, is a little like going to a really cool cabaret bar, with no lights on! You can ceratinly imagine some of the acts, given Ana Matronic's 'Skin This Cat' and Jakes innuendo, on 'Whole New Way'. Also, as quest vocalists go, I think Sir Ian McKellen is a triumph! Delivering a 'Vincent Price - Thriller' voiceover for 'Invisible Light' is just brilliant. Shame he couldn't make Glasto, to shock and amaze the crowds, but he sounds brilliant anyway!

Bottom Line: This is a great album, maybe not as commercial or as chart ready as previous efforts, but I think that's a sign of a band with staying power, but who must be left to do their own thing. Don't let daft over-reaction and negative reviews put you off. If you're a Scissor Sister, then you'll love this! But, don't play it in front of your parents, unless they're swingers!

This kitten has a lions roar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 3 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Work (Audio CD)
Simply, dirty Disco! an amazing record. Give it a few spins and it will grow on you!!!! This record deservved a lot more attention, and was unfortunately not very well promoted. ( I was looking forward to billboards of the record sleeve ;-))This is by far their best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Work [Explicit]
Night Work [Explicit] by Scissor Sisters
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews