Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars many tracks do you want?
Great CD with many old songs sung by this great artist. Great listening on a damp night! Still a good un after all these years.
Published 16 months ago by CMOT Dibbler

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Call me fussy but I always like a tracklist!
For those of you tempted by this album but put off by amazon's decision not to include a list of the songs on the album; something I find really irritating and which seems to be happening more and more, here it is:
Disc 1
Across 110th Street
Lookin' for a Love
Woman's Got to Have It
That's the Way I Feel About Cha
Harry Hippie
You're...
Published 18 months ago by Attercliffe 461


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Call me fussy but I always like a tracklist!, 2 Jan 2013
This review is from: Check It Out: The Best Of (Audio CD)
For those of you tempted by this album but put off by amazon's decision not to include a list of the songs on the album; something I find really irritating and which seems to be happening more and more, here it is:
Disc 1
Across 110th Street
Lookin' for a Love
Woman's Got to Have It
That's the Way I Feel About Cha
Harry Hippie
You're Welcome, Stop On By
Check It Out
Daylight
If You Think You're Lonely Now
California Dreamin'
Where Do We Go from Here (feat. J.J. Johnson)
Communication
It's All Over Now (feat. Bill Withers)
So Many Sides of You
Everything's Gonna Be Alright
I Don't Wanna Be Hurt by Ya Love Again
Tried and Convicted
Where There's a Will There's a Way

Disc 2
Tell Me Why
Love Has Finally Come at Last (feat. Patti LaBelle)
Nobody Wants You When You're Down and Out
I'm a Midnight Mover
I Don't Know (What the World's Coming To)
Secrets
What Is This
It's Gonna Rain
How I Miss You Baby
More Than I Can Stand
Fly Me to the Moon
I'm Gonna Forget About You
Sweet Caroline (Good Times Never Seemed So Good)
I'm Through Trying to Prove My Love to You
I Left My Heart in San Francisco
It Takes a Lot of Strength to Say Goodbye (feat. Patti LaBelle)
Thank You
Games
I'm In Love
You're Messing Up a Good Thing
(If You Don't Want My Love) Give It Back
Some Day We'll All Be Free

A lot of Womack classics and a lot of filler, hence the 3 star rating.
The Womack classics are of course 5 star tracks, the questionable cover versions like 'Fly Me To The Moon' are best avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars many tracks do you want?, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Check It Out: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Great CD with many old songs sung by this great artist. Great listening on a damp night! Still a good un after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bobby WOWmack, 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: Check It Out: The Best Of (Audio CD)
If you cannot decide which Bobby Womack album to buy, buy this one it has all the old classics plus stuff I used to listen to in my jazz funk days. Lovley memories fantastic music especially the duets with Ms Patti Labelle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Womack at his best!, 2 Sep 2013
This review is from: Check It Out: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Spot on album! It's about as good as it gets for a mixture of 70s & 80s funk, soul and R'n'B - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MOVE OVER CHARLEY PRIDE, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Check It Out: The Best Of (Audio CD)
All his best material is here ,and god is that good, however too much cringe worthy filler like "fly me to the moon" , "sweet caroline" and other peoples songs to make this a classic.Could have been a classic with more of his own material but at least nothing from his country album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great singer, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Check It Out: The Best Of (Audio CD)
i bought this for my brother in law who likes male vocalists, after hearing BW on the radio. I had forgotten what a major figure he is, as well as having one of the great voices. I've had no complaints from the recipient, so am hoping he has been converted and will now be listening to more R&B and less Buble type stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Check It Out: The Best Of
Check It Out: The Best Of by Bobby Womack (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews