Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Yardmerising, birdmerising, most blueswailing."
What a bargain: 40 tracks over 2 CDs with nicely designed, slip case packaging and informative booklet for a fiver - including postage! Disc 1 kicks off with the pop hits (For Your Love etc.) then bounces through the R'n'B Clapton epoch (Smokestack Lightning etc.) to the psyche Beck era (Nazz are Blue etc.). Disc 2 picks up where 1 left off and includes the brief, twin...
Published on 14 Sept. 2012 by Mr. Mungo

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the best of the yardbirds, shapes of things
Once again a fair c.d. not heard many of the tracks before but quite pleasant. Good soundtracking, and good value.
Published 19 months ago by georgina leek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Yardmerising, birdmerising, most blueswailing.", 14 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things (Audio CD)
What a bargain: 40 tracks over 2 CDs with nicely designed, slip case packaging and informative booklet for a fiver - including postage! Disc 1 kicks off with the pop hits (For Your Love etc.) then bounces through the R'n'B Clapton epoch (Smokestack Lightning etc.) to the psyche Beck era (Nazz are Blue etc.). Disc 2 picks up where 1 left off and includes the brief, twin guitar period of Beck and Page (Stroll On etc.). I've docked it a star for 2 reasons: there's nowt from the Page only rock time (White Summer etc.), the band subsequently becoming The New Yardbirds and thence Led Zeppelin and both copies I've had were creased on the slip case, so this could be common. Still a great intro to this important 60s group, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those interest in track lisings, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
PAUL (Wantage, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things (Audio CD)
Someone had to do it!
Track Listing
DISC 1:
1. For Your Love
2. Heart Full of Soul
3. Evil Hearted You
4. Shapes of Things
5. A Certain Girl
6. I Wish You Would
7. I Ain't Got You
8. Boom Boom
9. Good Morning Little School Girl
10. Talking Bout You
11. My Girl Sloopy
12. Jeff's Boogie
13. Train Kept A-Rollin'
14. Here 'Tis
15. Lost Women
16. Smokestack Lightning [Live] - (live)
17. Jeff's Blues
18. The Nazz Are Blue
19. Got to Hurry
20. Too Much Monkey Business

DISC 2:
1. Over Under Sideways Down
2. Happenings Ten Years Time Ago
3. I'm a Man
4. Stroll On
5. Mister You're a Better Man Than I
6. Still I'm Sad
7. Ever Since the World Began
8. Putty in Your Hands
9. What Do You Want
10. Rack My Mind
11. I'm Not Talking
12. I Ain't Done Wrong
13. Psycho Daisies
14. I Can't Make Your Way
15. Someone to Love
16. Mr Zero
17. Honey in Your Hips
18. Sweet Music
19. Steeled Blues
20. Louise [Live] - (live)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Not Everyday You Get Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck And Jimmy Page On A Double CD!, 4 July 2011
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things (Audio CD)
This is R & B and Psych music from 1964 - 1967, total 2 hours and 40 tracks.
Disc 1 is off to a flier with For Your Love, Heart Full Of Soul, Evil Hearted You and Shapes Of Things, however the production on the latter is less than great.
Good Morning School Girl and Got To Hurry, a blues instrumental from Eric Clapton, really stand out, but not everything else, although a live Too Much Monkey Business is good.
Disc 2, here Over Under Sideways Down also suffers from some lack of production quality, while Mister You're A Better Man Than I is interesting and Still I/m Sad has good harmonies.
I prefer the Psych stuff and this is maybe about one third of the total songs, but why not give it a try yourself?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little band!!, 1 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things (Audio CD)
One thing that is irksome about a great company and products of Amazon ,like CD's especially is this=
WHY has Amamzon STOPPED giving a track list on their CD's (certainly on the ones that I buy,anyway!!) I have bought Compilations and Greatest Hits only to find their "greatest hit" or my fav greatest hit is NOT on the CD as there was no track listing and I assumed it would be (bad mistake assuming).
It has happened recently with Heinz Greatest(missing off "Questions I cant answer") and Small Faces "Hey Girl" all because I didnt have a track list to refer to as record labels rarely put ALL the Band's Greatest on one Album (Its a ploy!) so that you buy them all to get all!! If I remember when I selected THIS CD I am reviewing there was no listing and I took pot luck as I really liked the Yardbirds back in the 60s and it was a good price. Keith Relf was an excellent singer ( he died at 33) and a great front man to this Blues/Rock and Pop. It also had Eric Clapton (Pre-Cream)and Jimmy Page (Pre-Led Zepplin) in the band.

It is a double album so you do get quality AND Quantity. Its a fine album by a fine very underated band in their day. All the hits are here(I took pot-luck when I bought this)and they had 7 hits,their biggest hit being "Heart full Of Soul"( No 2in june 65). Their smallest hit being "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl" (no 44 in Nov 64) Which is quite a good pop song but not a big hit and sandwiched between that and " Happening ten years time ago" (43-Oct 66) there is "For your love" No3 (which has some great bongos/tom toms on it)
"Evil hearted you" (No 3 65) "Shapes of Things" (No3 66) "Over under sideways down" (No10 66)
All told there were 7 hits and they are all here on these 2 Cds. Jeff Becks Instrumental "Jeffs Blues" is a great blues track. In fact the whole 40 tracks on these 2 Cds are all worth listening to including the Keith Relf Solo hit" Mr Zero"
I would give this a 5star rating without a doubt and recommend. Its feel good factor music for the Soul!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great band, 17 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. A. E. Roe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things (Audio CD)
great album good price for a band that should be heard and you get 40 tracks iconic and a must for ant RB collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things (Audio CD)
They are all Original Recordings, not remakes made at a later date, this is how it should be for oldies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive selection, 28 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things (Audio CD)
A comprehensive selection of Yardbirds tracks but the version of Got to Hurry is one of the alternative takes and not the Clapton showcase released as a B side in the UK. The production values are not brilliant but for the occasional reminder of just how much I used to enjoy the Yardbirds records as they were first released and the atmosphere of their live shows, this collection does the trick. Particularly look out for Jeff Beck's outstanding version of Guitar Boogie, suitably retitled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just What I Wanted!, 31 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things (Audio CD)
Has all the 60's tracks on it. What more could you ask for! Excellent sound quality, great with headphones on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 60's Nostalga, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things (Audio CD)
Went to see them in Leicester in March and it bought back so many good memories I had to get the CD. You have to be of a certain age to appreciate this music but still classic stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab gear, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
M. P. Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things (Audio CD)
The whole Yardbirds collection, still retaining that gritty meaty sound I so loved when I used to have the singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things
The Best of The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things by The Yardbirds (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews