Customer Reviews


490 Reviews
5 star:
 (402)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


212 of 224 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a try!
What more can I say other than I enjoyed them so much that I've watched all three episodes twice? Cumberbatch's dark, thrilling Holmes was perfect for the modern setting and the growing relationship between him and Martin Freeman's quietly brave Watson was kept integral to the plot as it always should be. And what great plots they are, although I would expect nothing less...
Published on 15 Aug 2010 by Katherine Leadbetter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cumberbatch is an excellent Holmes and Freeman - well Freeman plays Freeman playing ...
Modernising Sherlock Holmes? Nothing wrong with that - in fact it raises many exciting possibilities which are fully explored in this series. Cumberbatch is an excellent Holmes and Freeman - well Freeman plays Freeman playing Watson, but it works well enough for all that. The Aghanistan conflict screamed out for a parallel here and Dr Watson's post-traumatic stress was...
Published 4 months ago by NB


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

212 of 224 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a try!, 15 Aug 2010
By 
Katherine Leadbetter (Portsmouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
What more can I say other than I enjoyed them so much that I've watched all three episodes twice? Cumberbatch's dark, thrilling Holmes was perfect for the modern setting and the growing relationship between him and Martin Freeman's quietly brave Watson was kept integral to the plot as it always should be. And what great plots they are, although I would expect nothing less from Stephen Moffat and Mark Gatiss who rarely fail to impress me: They clearly know their Sherlock Holmes and borrow selectively from the original short stories and novels to create something that is new and fresh. Each episode is clever and thoughtful, with interesting modern twists; such as the particularly effective use of text to allow you to see what Sherlock is thinking as he surveys a crime scene or texts on his phone. It really is worth getting past the images of gaslight and hansom cabs that Sherlock Holmes normally brings to mind and letting yourself be drawn into the show. I thought I would hate 'Sherlock' when I first heard about the series and I couldn't have been more wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


157 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A show that turned me around, 30 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit that I had never read the original Sherlock Holmes stories. I was familiar with them, of course, and have many friends who hold them in high regard. I was also a big fan of the tv show House, whose main character is based on Sherlock Holmes, but that was pretty much my knowledge of it. I watched Guy Richie's 2009 movie Sherlock Holmes, and walked away feeling nothing, despite liking the actors in the movie.

And then I watched BBC's contemporary adaption simply named Sherlock, and there it was, the magic that made me fall in love. I had not expected it at all, but there was no denying that Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss had created something extraordinary. That the stories work so well put into modern times, who would have thought? I think Gatiss made a good point when he in an interview said that one reason it worked so well was that since they did not have to spend a lot of time and energy creating a visually convincing Victorian London, it gave them much more room to focus on the characters. And I am a character-focused viewer, and Sherlock gives us a beautiful and modern take on who two young men like Sherlock and John, as they call each other, would be like today, running around London, hailing cabs, bickering and occasionally grinning at crime scenes.

It also got me into the original Conan Doyle stories, and there is no doubt that Moffat and Gatiss adore them as well. The show is literally littered with reference, names, places and lines and conversations from Conan Doyle's stories, remixed and put into other situations and with other people. The show can be seen by a Sherlock newbie, but I must say that it definitely gives you an even more pleasurable experience watching the show while snickering at all the familiar bits from the old material.

The cast is spot on, too. Benedict Cumberbatch is a perfectly intense, flamboyant and otherworldly Sherlock. Even his physical appearance match with the description of Sherlock Holmes in Conan Doyle's "A Study in Scarlet". As his room mate and newfound friend, Martin Freeman's down-to-earth jumper-wearing everyday man is the perfect anchor for a Sherlock that doesn't always know when he goes too far.

A real gem for both new and old Sherlock Holmes fans indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holmes Run, 10 Nov 2010
By 
I. A. Price "CWMSAERBREN" (WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a modern day rendition of Holmes and Watson. It s slick, quick has excellent characterisation and is filmed in a manner to keep one on one's toes.

The modern day London setting didn't matter to me at all as the lead actors performed with much aplomb being both instantly recognisable from previous incarnations and easily fitting into the present day.

The plots are an amalgam of Conan Doyles' original stories with modifications allowing them to fit in with their modern settings.

It's a hoot from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game's afoot: 21st century style, 17 Sep 2011
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sherlock: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Lots of great fictional characters have been reinvented from time to time as their original era fades into history.

The Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce Sherlock Holmes films were hugely popular and are still fondly remembered. But they weren't strong on 19th century period detail.

Thus writers Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss figured why not reinvent the characters again for the 21st century?

Here are the results.

Three ninety minute long episodes are presented here, in a two dvd set. Episodes one and two on the first disc, and episode three plus various extras are on the third.

This does keep the London and Baker Street settings of the originals - and also starts with Doctor Watson coming home from Afghanistan. Regular supporting characters with familiar names turn up, keeping the characteristics of the originals. And the scripts do draw on those stories, sometimes though putting a slightly different spin on things.

A show like this does though hinge on the casting of the two main characters and the chemistry between them. And here this succeeds perfectly. Benedict Cumberbatch making a compelling screen presence as Sherlock, making him a genius at observation and a man whose mind clearly works much differently to everyone else's. He receives excellent support from Martin Freeman as Watson, who makes the Doctor a superb foil for sherlock and yet someone who is quite intelligent as well.

The episodes are all quite long at ninety minutes each [according to the making of documentary the writer originally envisaged sixty minute long episodes but the bbc wanted ninety minutes] but time does fly by as you watch them. There are hints of a story arc in the first two. All of which come sharply into play in the third. Which ends on a cliffhanger after a genuinely chilling scene. This to be resolved in the forthcoming second season of the show. I'm looking forward to it.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

There's a commentary from Mark Gatiss Steven Moffat and producer Sue Vertue on episode one.

A commentary from Benedict Cumberbatch Martin Freeman and Mark Gatiss on episode three.

A making of documentary that runs for just over half an hour and is very good and well worth a watch.

Plus the original sixty minute long version of the first episode. Which they went back and reshot after the bbc, as mentioned, asked for it to be ninety minutes. There are some minor differences between the scenes from this that got into the final version of it compard to what you see here, and it runs at quite a blistering pace, so it's an interesting comparison to the broadcast version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern and New, 14 Jan 2011
By 
Alies (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sherlock: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Sherlock. As a Doctor Who fan I as bound to watch this with enthusiasm. But the fact that it was written by two writers of the Doctor Who team had me doubting to watch it. I thought that the cries - about how brilliant this show was - weren't 100% objective, where I only heard the side of the 'Whovians'. So I didn't follow it untill it came on the Dutch televion.

How wrong I was to assume that my fellow Whovians were only telling half the truth. When I saw my first Sherlock episode, the BBC could be sure they had another buyer.

The episodes are great fun to watch. Clever written. Enough humor. Quite some oneliners. And very well adapted to our 21th century. The use of mobile phones and other modern objects and software, translating old object into new (old watch to mobile phone, Watson's diary to a blog, Holmes' articles in the newspaper to a website); it was all done perfectly.
Next to that: The writing is original. I love how the authors used those tiny details from the original Doyle stories and yet made brand new out of it. This by mixing different stories into one episode and by taking a complete other turn with the details they've picked out from the original. I like that it is original and new. Cuz if we were to stay 100% true to the stories: Wouldn't the adaptations being made bore us in the end? Wouldn't the original stories loose their uniqueness?

Next to the three already broadcasted episodes this DVD has more things to offer.
First of all the pilot. It was great to watch and see the differences between this 60-minute episode and the 90-minute A Study in Pink. Compared to the later, the pilot looks of lesser quality. But then again they did a very decent job! Where it's shorter it's bound to have differences to the final one, and therefor is something you should really watch. Though while having watched this, my little brother guessed the outcome too early on.
Secondly we have Unlocking Sherlock. Very informative piece of work about how Sherlock came to exist. A bit behind of the scenes. Very nice.
Finally the commentary. Interesting and funny listening material. It's like being part of the conversation yourself. One thing that dissapoints me a little bit is that the commentaries only give the subtitles from the actual episode that's being discussed. For none native speakers or people with hearing problems that's a bit difficult. Manageable, but difficult.

I'd say: If you like Sherlock Holmes, or you like modern detectives: You should really try this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Reinvention Of The Great Detective, 3 Jan 2012
By 
A. Foxley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
On paper, the idea of bringing the character of Sherlock Holmes into the 21st century sounds terribly misguided. Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss' BBC drama 'Sherlock' casts any doubts one might have about such a reinvention aside within the first few minutes. The key lies in remaining utterly faithful to the spirit of Holmes, his methods and eccentricities, whilst placing them in a believable modern context, which this series does from the off. Moffat and Gatiss' Holmes (Benedict Cumberbatch) is the same brilliant yet maddening figure Conan Doyle conceived, and he still lives at 221B Baker Street - but he's very much a 21st century character. He texts, for instance - an ideal way for the reclusive sleuth to communicate with others without having to speak directly to people. He still plays the violin, though his pipe has been replaced by nicotine patches (a particularly difficult conundrum is referred to as a 'three patch problem' in a nice nod to Doyle). Similarly, Watson (Martin Freeman) is still an ex-Army medic, returned from Afghanistan, who finds himself thrown into a flat-share with the Great Detective, and then becomes caught up in his investigations. Essentially, the brief appears to have been 'what if Sherlock Holmes was invented today?', and as such, whilst the settings may be different, the spirit of the books is very much present here, more so than most recent film and television productions to feature the characters. Cumberbatch and Freeman have a great screen partnership, and the burgeoning relationship between Holmes and Watson is one of the joys of the series. All three of these 90 minute episodes are good, though it's the first, 'A Study In Pink', which stands out as my own personal favourite. As the title suggests, it takes 'A Study In Scarlet' and places it successfully in a modern setting, surprisingly faithfully as it turns out. The other episodes are 'The Blind Banker' (inspired by 'The Adventure of the Dancing Men') and 'The Great Game' (which borrows from 'The Adventure of the Bruce-Partington Plans', 'The Final Problem' and 'The Five Orange Pips' among others).

The Blu Ray release of this first series is excellent, with the episodes and special features spread across two discs. All the content is presented in 1080i, and it looks stunning - and certainly worthwhile getting this version over the DVD. As well as the three episodes, there are audio commentaries on two of these (featuring Mark Gatiss, Steven Moffat and Sue Vertue on Episode 1, and Gatiss, Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman on Episode 3), and a behind-the-scenes documentary, 'Unlocking Sherlock', all of which provide some fascinating information behind the making of the series. Even more fascinating, and extremely welcome on this release, is the original 60 minute pilot version of 'A Study In Pink'. This was expanded upon and re-filmed for transmission, so the pilot is very interesting as a glimpse of how the series might have turned out. Although not substantially different in terms of its style, it is well worth watching in order to compare the two versions.

Not only is 'Sherlock' one of the best TV dramas of recent years, but this is one of the best TV Blu Rays around. Ideal for fans of both the original Conan Doyle stories, or indeed followers of great crime drama, this comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic mini-series!, 7 Nov 2010
By 
V. Millar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Sherlock is a fantastic little 3 part mini-series! Although slightly slow at the beginning of the first episode - the action and storyline soon take off! The sociopathic tendencies of the BBC's Sherlock are easily off set by the honesty of John Watson, and other lovable characters such as Mrs Hudson and Lestrade. The twists and turns are easy to follow, whilst still leaving the ending a surprise and all of Sherlock's deductions and observations are explained beautifully either through dialogue or running text - showing texts, internet searched and observations (pointing out what Sherlock sees and what hes deducing as hes doing it)! A great series for an older teen/adult audience looking for something that will make them think whilst simultaneously having them on the edge of there seat by the end of the episode. I personally cant wait for series two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, but I want more, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: Sherlock: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I must confess to never reading any of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's novels or seeing any of the previous televised Holmes so I came into this with an open mind and I must say this has been the television highlight of the year so far (not that its had much competition). The brilliantly named Benedict Cumberbatch is utterly compelling in the lead role, playing Holmes as a sort of cross between Dr Who and Derren Brown, using his almost superhuman powers of observation and deduction to solve crimes and save lives. Holmes also has a rather anti social personality, leading to some hilariously insenstive lines of dialogue throughout. Martin Freeman as Holmes assistant and flatmate Dr Watson,a shellshocked army doctor, brings his usual everyman quality to the role and manages not to be completely overshadowed by Cumberbatch, no small achievement.

There are only three episodes, but each one is feature length and there are no duds. The second episode is the weakest of the three but still better than most television. Holme's arch enemy Moriarty is mentioned at least once in every episode and I wont say if or when he makes an appearance only that the third episode ends in a cliffhanger that had me swearing at the TV like Malcolm Tucker demanding more episodes right now. Still its been a pleasure to watch a television show that doesnt require you to leave your brain on auto pilot and Ill just have to read the novels as I rather impatiently wait for more episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the haters, this is brilliant, 17 Aug 2010
When I first saw the adverts for this I thought "Oh bloody hell, another silly reboot".

Then I read that it was being helmed by Steven Moffat and Mark Gattiss. Then I watched it.

Simply genius. Fantastically intricate and clever, funny, superbly (and I mean superbly) acted, brilliantly written and incredibly enjoyable to watch.

Yes, they don't call each other Holmes and Watson but then this is the 21st century and that kind of thing needs updating. Short of that, the original texts have been honoured down to every detail (read: noone says "elementary").

Buy it, watch it, love it. Simple as.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant Surprise, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a real fan of Sherlock Holmes. From the original stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and the original sketches by Sidney Paget, through the great series starring Jeremy Brett and now this. I groaned when I first heard that it was being produced.For every decent production of Sherlock Holmes there are 20 poor ones. It had all the hallmarks of a true classic being cocked around with. The BBC produces some great drama, but recently it has been churning out some series which are so lightweight, i can feel my IQ falling as I watch them.

How wrong could I have been? The original stories are treated tenderly and retain all of their quality, albeit with a modern flavour and new twists. The casting is great and the setting of modern London Perfect. I really enjoyed the series. My only complaint was that it was so short.

My top five Sherlock Holmes
1 Robert Downey Jnr - I cant believe it either, but with the two latest films, he has made the character his own.Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows [DVD] [2012]Sherlock Holmes [DVD] [2009]
2 Jeremy Brett - I never tire of watching the old Granada TV classics.Sherlock Holmes - Complete Collection [DVD]
3 Benedict Cumberbatch - Loved both series.
4 Michael Caine - "Without a Clue" is a massively under rated film. The on screen chemistry between Michael Caine and Ben Kingsley is great to watch.The Michael Caine Film Collection (The Fourth Protocol / Educating Rita / The Ipcress File / Kidnapped / Without a Clue) [DVD]
5 Basil Rathbone - Inaccurate storylines (altered for wartime propaganda in most cases), pompous on occasions and showing their age. But again the on screen chemistry between Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce is worth seeing.Sherlock Holmes - The Definitive Collection (Digitally Remastered) [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock: Series 1 [DVD]
Sherlock: Series 1 [DVD] by Paul McGuigan (DVD - 2010)
£5.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews