Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional voice
In an era where moderate singers become household names through the power of the radio, espcially the light weight classical channels, It is nice to spend time listening to a voice of real quality. Cecila Bartoli is arguably one of the finest opera singers around. Her diction, sense of drama, willingness and ability to draw the listener in with her tonal range, her...
Published on 26 Jan 2012 by Andrew

versus
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a botched disc set
Don't get me wrong - Cecilia Bartoli is fantastic and some of the tracks on this 'Special 2-CD Deluxe Edition' of 'Sospiri' are truly memorable, even if there's not much that is new. The problem is that the track numbering and titles printed on the album don't correspond to what is displayed when you put either CD into your player. For example, Track 7 (Voi che sapete...
Published on 16 Dec 2010 by C. D. OCONNOR


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional voice, 26 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sospiri (Audio CD)
In an era where moderate singers become household names through the power of the radio, espcially the light weight classical channels, It is nice to spend time listening to a voice of real quality. Cecila Bartoli is arguably one of the finest opera singers around. Her diction, sense of drama, willingness and ability to draw the listener in with her tonal range, her exquisite sense of melodic line all show her to be at the very top of the tree. This album is a selecttion of varied show pieces from across a number of musical periods. Cecilia Bartoli shows that she can meet the period, style and artistic task head on and create some magical moments. Whilst not an album exploring a particular composer or era in depth it is a must for anyone who just wants to hear singing of exceptional quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, great find. Bartoli might have gained a new fan :-), 1 Dec 2010
By 
Oyarsa (Madrid, ES) - See all my reviews
I knew who Cecilia Bartoli was but never reached to hear any of her recordings before this one, which I bought as an impulse only yesterday.

It's the third time I listen to it and I'm not tired of it.

Beautiful voice, fantastic control and high emotion are in these renditions. I've also found a truly wonderful "Casta Diva" that surely will be played often in parallel with the unsurpassed (for me) performance of Caballé in 1974.

Bartoli has gained, if not a new devoted fan (must listen to other recordings before that), surely a new happy and deeply moved follower.

Long-term followers might not find enough new material here that justifies the spend but I would recommend the purchase to people who, like me, doesn't have any recording from this mezzo and wants to know more of her artistry. I think it's a splendid start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine!, 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sospiri (Audio CD)
Cecilia Bartoli at her best.
I listened to this recording on KLM flight (it was part of their entertainment program) and then bought it. No regrets - this is one of the finest classical recordings you can get for the money in this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unrivalled quality of singing and presentation, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The `prestige edition' of Sospiri is the one to own, with two discs being presented in a CD size hard back package comprising 54 glossy pages of track list, track notes (English, French, German), libretto of the sung text, and some lovely romantic photos of Cecilia Bartoli. The quality of presentation and detail is outstanding.

As for the choice of songs, the list pushes the boundaries with a world premiere recording and a first time on CD recording (arias by Vinci and Rossini respectively). There are many lesser known works interspersed with the familiar such as Handel's `Ombra mai fu' and `Lascia la spina', both of which are sung with a sublime mix of passion and restraint, and certainly not in the usual style associated with these baroque favourites.

Cecilia Bartoli continues to combine the unfamiliar with the popular, and performs with her usual dedicated passion and virtuoso skill which I think is becoming almost unrivalled in this generation of opera singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sospiri - Cecilia Bartoli, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sospiri (Audio CD)
This is a truly beautiful CD, her voice, as ever, is faultless. This will be a hard one to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time favourite CD!, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sospiri (MP3 Download)
This is my all time favourite CD. If you need to get your shoulders down and breathe, this is it. So beautiful and so relaxing. I give this CD as a present to my good friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sospiri (Audio CD)
This lady is superb, and this particular selection REAL quality.
I could listen to it for hours.
How does she sing like that?!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars melted chocolate, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sospiri (MP3 Download)
this is like drowning in chocolate, a beautiful rich voice. I love laudate dominum, and this version is divine, as is casta diva
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 24 Jan 2013
By 
Tunny (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very relaxing to listen to, all I need now is "me time" to listen to it all the way through without a break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sospiri, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sospiri (Audio CD)
Listening to Cecilia Bartoli is like being wrapped in melted chocolate.....can't fault the tracks and the more I listen the more I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sospiri
Sospiri by Cecilia Bartoli (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews