Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars guitarfiesta
In the last many years the illustrious Carlos Santana have led kind of a double life. Playing adventurous, spiritual and explorative concerts and releasing some highly commercial rather glossy albums.

And though there is some fierce playing on this album, not least by Carlos himself - might be his most guitar heavy CD in years - "Guitar Heaven" does not really...
Published on 14 Sept. 2010 by Bodhi Heeren

versus
61 of 68 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars oh dear.......Carlos, you are better than this.
I love Carlos Santana's playing. I think he is an amazing guitarist and musician, and one of my all-time favourite guitarists. But this album is SO disappointing.

I did not read any other reviews before buying this. Knowing Santana's ability, and the subtlety, flair and emotion that he is able to put into his playing, I was really expecting some great...
Published on 22 Sept. 2010 by Colin


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bring on the next album, Carlos., 6 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. Peter Franklin "Pedro" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Carlos, I don't know if you read these reviews. Hope so. Like many of the other reviewers, I've loved your music since the 60's. I loved your first 3 albums. I loved what came after and I love your later collaborative work. You've evolved, brought us new stuff whilst mesmerising us with your musicianship. Man, I LOVE you. Your music is what I'd have on my desert island. There's nothing intrinsically wrong with covers either. BUT..this isn't well mixed, the tracks don't add anything to the originals (yeah they may be different, but that doesn't mean anything) and it's stagnant. How about you lock yourself away somewhere - go to Africa or something and come up with some more original stuff? You may think it won't sell as well, but I'd buy it. It's what made you. It's what you are. I think you've still got it. You just ain't using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars heaven help us?, 26 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Guitar Heaven: Santana Performs The Greatest Guitar Classics Of All Time (Audio CD)
Wish I had left it alone, going to see him live next week. hope not to many of this trite collection are featured as it could end up an early night. What is it about artistes recording their own versions of so called classics, usually not doing anything that good or re-mixing in a different exciting way.
Listen to it first before parting with your hard earned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oooops!, 21 Sept. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Guitar Heaven: Santana Performs The Greatest Guitar Classics Of All Time (Audio CD)
Carlos Santana sits high in the pantheon of guitar gods, his place assured by a combination of sheer talent and an absolute insistence on ploughing his own furrow and making his style both instantly recognisable and completely his own....until now because, yup you've guessed it, the Latino legend has finally sold out! This is no doubt a one off blip but by gum what a blip! Complete nobodies getting a rare chance to perform with real talent and a set list of clapped out old standards that are painfully repeated every Friday night at a local near you by some naff tribute band.
Only the Chris Cornell partnership on 'Whole lotta love' has anything worthwhile to offer.
Even Carlos' usually excellent playing is just a copy of every shredding, noodling & finger tapping Van Halen, joe Satriani wannabe out there.
I'm sure normal service will soon be resumed but what a shame such a superb musician should succumb to the marketing mens wishes with drivel such as this. Next time they come knocking Carlos tell them to jog on. This truly sucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Santana still great, 22 Sept. 2010
By 
A. Boers "stoneswhokinkswinwood" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guitar Heaven: Santana Performs The Greatest Guitar Classics Of All Time (Audio CD)
Carlos is still great. Not in the studio however. Hard to listen through this new recording. Except for Little Wing (with Joe Cocker) this is a superfluous album. I went to a Santana concert 2 months ago and it was awsome, not the mudded sound and bad repertoire from the 80's and 90's performances, but really great authentic 69-74 sound and a fantastic band. The only dissonant in that concert was Can't you hear me knocking (from Guitar Heaven), when introduced I hoped for a real Santana sound, which was imitated by the Stones in this song, but he changed it to pop/rock so it didn't work for me at least.

Still go see this guy when coming to Europe this fall!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 28 Sept. 2010
By 
as with most of the reviews for this cd,i have long been fan of santana,but recently i,ve realised that its all about the four or five albums starting with caravanserai.there is a spirit and energy in those albums that cannot be missed.i have been praying for a return to this kind of form,maybe adding sax etc to add variety.unfortunately we get this cd which is so bad i won,t even buy it.even the version of little wing,which most reviewers like,what about the awful howler on the solo after verse 1.how did that get past the producer/mixer etc,is carlos too lazy even to do another take?amazing,maybe its a message that he thinks its rubbish too.come on get your head out of the money bag carlos and play some music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad., 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are asking about the price with free delivery then this CD is very good and I have no complaints. As for the music then it is OK. It is not as good as other Santana CDs but not one which makes me feel I have wasted my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Master, 22 Jan. 2014
By 
A. Herkes "H" (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Heaven: Santana Performs The Greatest Guitar Classics Of All Time (Audio CD)
Not everyone's taste i accept but he does grow on you and how.
A real guitar master with great tracks.
His career is full of incredible tracks. this only scratches the surface but is a good start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars positive, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
CD with 14 songs makes an attractive material fills in the arrangement of Santana, with interesting artists. I am disappointed with the DVDs, too much talking, not enough music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Santanas best albums-a bit of a disappointment from this artist who ..., 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Heaven: Santana Performs The Greatest Guitar Classics Of All Time (Audio CD)
Not one of Santanas best albums-a bit of a disappointment from this artist who is still doing much more imaginative music than this- buy Shape Shifter instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 21 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. Matthew Gilchrist (Dundee, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All the songs have amazing guitar as you would expect from Santana, but the singers chosen for some of the songs are just wrong.
Like a rapper singing Back In Black, thats a crime against good music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews