Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wise sayings
A book that is full of wisdom, esay to get into and each time one reads from it there always seems to be an oppurtunity to gain isight into a spritual nugget of enlightenment. A very good and interesting publication.
Published on 10 Jun 2010 by K. Fitzpatrick

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Whilst there are some nice quotes and references to aspects of Zen thought
Whilst there are some nice quotes and references to aspects of Zen thought, this book is presented along with dualistic religious thought and occasional references to God, which Zen is not really about. If I was new to Zen, this book could be misleading and certainly misses some of the real wisdom of Zen that is better explained in other books that quote directly from Zen...
Published 15 days ago by M BAILEY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wise sayings, 10 Jun 2010
By 
K. Fitzpatrick "Red Reader" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Book (Paperback)
A book that is full of wisdom, esay to get into and each time one reads from it there always seems to be an oppurtunity to gain isight into a spritual nugget of enlightenment. A very good and interesting publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Book (Kindle Edition)
A book of short stories and anecdotes which explain the principles of Zen in a very relaxed and informative way. Some are simply a few sentences, some are a page long. It can be read cover to cover, or simply as a "dip in and out" book. Very highly recommended as an introduction to the principles of Zen, written in a casual, informative style which suits me and probably many other readers. highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thoughtful, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Book (Kindle Edition)
As one would expect this book contains Zen thoughts and concepts. It is easy and accessible to read. A good 'kindle reference'.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Whilst there are some nice quotes and references to aspects of Zen thought, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Book (Kindle Edition)
Whilst there are some nice quotes and references to aspects of Zen thought, this book is presented along with dualistic religious thought and occasional references to God, which Zen is not really about. If I was new to Zen, this book could be misleading and certainly misses some of the real wisdom of Zen that is better explained in other books that quote directly from Zen and Taoist Masters as the two belief systems (if we must pigeon hole them) are very closely linked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and thought provoking little gem, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Book (Kindle Edition)
I got this for my iphone/ kindle, I started to read some in the mornings as its very uplifting. I found this a lovely book and so insperational! Many of the little stories and verses really make you think. I enjoyed reading this very much and can go back to it when I feel low. I think its a must read for all !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Book (Paperback)
A great book, which I keep by my bedside table. Handy for a sober moment before going down and upon arising ........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Book (Kindle Edition)
I have just started to study Zen buddhism. This is a very good book on the subject and is very interesting to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Zen Book
The Zen Book by Daniel Levin
1.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews