Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Front light better than the rear
Pros
- Lights are amazingly bright, you will definitely be noticed on the road
- Both lights use 2 AA batteries; I use rechargeables so this is great
- Simple design, very easy to use, to attach and take off again
- Do not need a clamp to use them
- Lights seem to be very stable when attached

Cons
- In my opinion, the front...
Published on 30 Oct. 2012 by Terrence

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Having gone through a few of these...
I'm on at least my third front and second rear one of these in the course of about 5 years, due to a combination of theft and on one occasion, collision damage. Obviously I liked them enough to overlook a few issues and buy again, but at the same time I hoped the manufacturers might have addressed a couple of issues in the intervening time. I think these lights have a lot...
Published 3 months ago by RichardM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Front light better than the rear, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knog Boomer Hi Power 1 LED Front & Rear Light Set (Sports)
Pros
- Lights are amazingly bright, you will definitely be noticed on the road
- Both lights use 2 AA batteries; I use rechargeables so this is great
- Simple design, very easy to use, to attach and take off again
- Do not need a clamp to use them
- Lights seem to be very stable when attached

Cons
- In my opinion, the front white light is much better than the rear light. It seems more durable and attaches much better to the bar.
- As everyone else said, the on / off switches are far too sensitive. If you put them in a bag, you WILL accidentally switch them on eventually. This affects both lights but the rear light seems much more sensitive.
- Rear light: parts of the silicon casing look fairly thin, and as you need to stretch it a fair bit I am not sure if it will last a long time before it breaks. time will tell
- Rear light: The way it attaches does not seem as stable as the front light. It is a bit trickier to make sure that the catch really locks in; it seems like it would be fairly easy to not attach it properly and then have it fall off over a bump.
- Frong light: the light is highly visible to the rider. Some people might find this very annoying; I don't mind it so much, it lets me know the light is still on! Perhaps knog could have designed it to not be so visible to the rider though.
- Occasionally, if you hit a large bump, the lights may switch modes on you. I think this comes down to the super sensitive switches again. This seems to be a common problem with bike lights, and while its not so bad on these ones, it is still there.

Conclusion
These are great lights, not without their flaws, but overall I love them. Would I recommend them / buy them again? Yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Having gone through a few of these..., 23 Nov. 2014
I'm on at least my third front and second rear one of these in the course of about 5 years, due to a combination of theft and on one occasion, collision damage. Obviously I liked them enough to overlook a few issues and buy again, but at the same time I hoped the manufacturers might have addressed a couple of issues in the intervening time. I think these lights have a lot going for them, but have had similar problems now with successive lights, and will be opting for an alternative next time.

Pros:
- Very simple to fit and remove.
- No need to fit a holder/clip, so less clutter. No prospect of the clip breaking and rendering a perfectly good light useless. Also very easy to relocate or even swap to a different bike altogether if desired.
- Using rechargeable batteries in both lights.
- Very easy to adjust the angle of the front light when riding, for whatever reason, e.g. for changes in light, terrain, road conditions or just personal preference.
- At the same time the lights grip solidly and don't move unless intentionally moved.
- Strong rubber casing survives countless fittings, removals and battery changes with no issues at all.

Cons - quality of electronics:
- The button on my current front light has become very temperamental - on/off is absolutely fine, but it is now almost impossible to make it switch to solid beam when required. It also seems to have become hyper-sensitive (same problem I think), so a bump easily puts it back into flashing mode again. This is annoying and potentially dangerous if it were to happen at the wrong time. The buttons in particular seem to be a weak point on these and also the smaller Frog lights (I bought one of these once as well).
- On my old rear light, the outer LEDs (or that part of the circuit) died, leaving only the brighter central one. However it remained adequate for my purposes.
- One of my old front lights lost its water resistance and decided to go into low-battery strobe mode whenever exposed to rain or snow.

Cons - design:
- Dazzling glare from the top of the front light. I solved this with a bit of black electrical tape - another reviewer had the same idea.
- While they are simple to fit, as others have mentioned they can be fiddly, especially in cold or wet weather. It pays to make sure the rubber strap is properly hooked on and secured by pressing down on what is actually a very small area - not always easy with gloves on, or frozen hands.

Battery indicator (lack of instructions):
As others have mentioned, the red and white flashing on the front light is the low battery indicator. If ignored, it eventually goes into a strobe mode and refuses to switch off until you take the battery out. However as the instructions neglected to mention any of this, you could be forgiven for thinking it was a fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 27 April 2013
This review is from: Knog Boomer Hi Power 1 LED Front & Rear Light Set (Sports)
Bright,light weight. Really good purchase an much cheaper than bike store locally. Pleased with purchase. Would recommend to other cyclists x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Light years ahead!, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent bit of kit. Very bright. I have the USB version and bought these AAA battery version (by mistake) for the wife. Still great. In reply to the comment below about the front light blinking white-red-white-red: that's the "low battery" indicator not a fault! Change the batteries (or charge it if USB version) and you're good to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended, 4 July 2011
We bought two sets of these lights and have had nothing but trouble with them. They come on by themselves and the switches are very poor hard to use. Its a shame as they are such a cool product. I've heard there is a recall but don't know whether thats correct or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRIGHT LIGHTS, 5 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr A Georgiou (Central London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
FRONT LIGHT - Great - Easy to attach and remove from handlebars, on the minus side the brightness causes glare in eyes, remedied with some opaque tape on top edge of lens.

BACK LIGHT - Nice and bright, on the minus side - AWKWARD and fiddly to attach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knog Boomer Hi Power 1 LED Front & Rear Light Set (Sports)
very trendy, very simple to fit and move from bike to bike, very bright in use, would recommend them although bike lights seem very expensive gnerally
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Steer clear, 11 Mar. 2013
Agree with all the negative reviews on here. Have had a couple of knog front lights and they have always been hopeless. It is a shame as they are so convenient to affix to your bike. Would strongly recommend you don't buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars faulty, 12 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my front light started fine but after a few weeks it blinks white and red(!). Like white-red-white-red-white-red. Overall you need to press the buttons three times until it 'gets it' and I'll try and return mine. Shame as it looks like a quality product, but had nothing but trouble with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Nov. 2012
By 
Sarah Smith "Sarah" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knog Boomer Hi Power 1 LED Front & Rear Light Set (Sports)
Brilliant lights for the bike. people certianly know you're coming!!
Amazingly bright and clear.
These arrived nicely packed and very quickley.
My only concern if for the hooks, how long will they last? and getting to the battery compartment is a little tough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews