Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have
What a sound.
This album has some absolutely massive D&B tracks such as Golddust and Kryptonite and of course Hypercaine, but it also features some brilliant tracks that veers more to the dub step side of the sprectrum(Fight and Starfall are killer tunes).
The album is very well produced and is one of these albums you listen to in a loop.
If you like bass,...
Published on 8 Jan 2011 by Dudster

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hit n miss
ok this one is a bit poo. to be fair it has got good tracks though they would have been better if they would have been remixed x
Published on 9 Nov 2011 by shell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Kryptonite (Audio CD)
What a sound.
This album has some absolutely massive D&B tracks such as Golddust and Kryptonite and of course Hypercaine, but it also features some brilliant tracks that veers more to the dub step side of the sprectrum(Fight and Starfall are killer tunes).
The album is very well produced and is one of these albums you listen to in a loop.
If you like bass, beats or both, you know what to do...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wowee., 15 Aug 2010
By 
A. Henderson "N.i.N.j.A" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kryptonite (Audio CD)
Well i've been a fan of DJ Fresh for many years now wayy before he became popular.
I do like his new direction where he has become more commercial, the new sounds are great.

With much anticipation i finally managed to get myself a copy of this album a little early.
I expected something brilliant. When track one began playing I said to myself, wow.

Right off the bat your hit with a sensation of rush as your carried into the world of DJ Fresh. Thats just track one, the rest does not disappoint either.
There is a kind of split. 50% which is very mainstream like his new sounds like Golddust and Hypercaine. Then theres some that a little more true to his old way such as Acid Rain.

All in all a great album wether your not familiar with DJ Fresh already but a fan of liquid and mainstream Drum & Bass such as Pendulum then this should be to your liking. Also if your a fan of fresh already, but not his new sound, you may not like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kryptonite? more like dynamite!!, 11 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Kryptonite (Audio CD)
I have stopped buying a lot of d n b over the last couple of years. Safe to say, i am truly sick of 170 bpm but at the same time, if music isnt 170bpm,I generallly dont like it(junkie??) - producers I need better quality sound! Having sampled 1 minute clips of each track, I HAD to buy this album. There are about 3 non dnb tracks which are each superbly produced. So thats the slow ones dealt with!

Overall, the production quality throughout this album is out of this world! It sounds a lot more polished than normal dnb albums. And although I still like Pendulum, I think Fresh gives them a music education on this album, seriously!
I have been collecting d n b since around 1996 and own hundreds of albums. I absolutely love the title track "kryptonite". This track alone had me pull my credit card out. It has everything I want out of a drum and bass track. The drums take a back seat and the track is made by the atmospheric sounds and the fantastic rhythm. Acid rain is just plain dirty. Talk box takes you on a great journey with a big melody that keeps the track fresh all the way through.

My only little niggling problem with this album is that it contains old tracks like hypercaine, gold dust and heavyweight which I have owned for a while and happen to be the main DnB tracks that make up this album. So it isn't as "fresh" as I would have liked. Apologies for the horrible pun by the way.

Of these 3, the heaviest is "heavyweight". It has that 1996-1997 feel to it, and then after 20 add seconds in, the mayhem begins with some big big sounds and some rolling bass line and then once fresh is done with this, he then adds some gut busting bass stabs to make sure you are overpowered! It just keeps morphing and morphing all the way through - What a tune!!

Hypercaine is well produced and has great vocals. It is a top tune (even though I owned it already).

Overall, a much better offering than Fresh's last offering in every way and I really really like the sound on this album when played on 5:1 surround sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Golddust., 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite (Audio CD)
All the songs on here are 7 or 8 out of 10, then Golddust and kryptonite crank it up to 11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bril, 4 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite (Audio CD)
This album is my favourite of all the albums I hold, it has so many great songs on it, not like most where you get the two or three you like and don't listen to the rest. It was delivered within 2 or 3 days from sending the order, which is outstanding for where I live.
I would advise everyone into anything drum&bass/electronic to buy this, soo worth having on your iPod ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yep its rather good, 3 Sep 2010
This review is from: Kryptonite (Audio CD)
i've been let down by so many dnb / dubstep acts this year, with a lot of hype surrounding the scene right now it was nice to hear this and still be blown away by the freshness on display, maybe its because i wasn't expecting great things, 'fight' is my particular favourite right now, one of the best dnb tracks i've heard this year.

buy now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite (Audio CD)
Great, Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hit n miss, 9 Nov 2011
This review is from: Kryptonite (Audio CD)
ok this one is a bit poo. to be fair it has got good tracks though they would have been better if they would have been remixed x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DJ Fresh - Kryptonite, 18 Aug 2010
This review is from: Kryptonite (Audio CD)
Active since the mid 90's, Fresh has been in the game some time, exploring the timezones of underground and evolution in D&B. Now with 2010 reaching midway point, the man himself has made a mark on the rise of drum & bass, with his second studio album. His debut release off the album `Gold Dust' has crept into the commercial whirlwind, to the tune of number 24. Much to his credit, while that very single is packed with Camo & Crooked/Sub Focus sounds, topped off with rapid-fire female vocals belonging to Ce'cile, reminiscent of Shy FX. The remainder of the album is full of up-beat, quick-fire, stabbing, pulsating tracks.

From the harshness of `Acid Rain', we explore all the realms of his sounds, in a very catchy and listenable album, the question is - will it have longevity in a few years time? Probably not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kryptonite
Kryptonite by DJ Fresh (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews