Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The weakest season so far.
If you ask a Desperate Housewives fan what their least favourite season is, most will say season 2. Not so with me, i would say this season is the weakest. But saying that it doesnt mean it's bad because it really isnt. It just felt like on some of the situations... yeah we've been there before. Such as Tom having to explain to Mrs McClusky's new fella (you read right)...
Published on 8 Jan. 2011 by S. Firth

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Desperate - in more ways than one
I am a huge fan of DH but S6 is not a patch on earlier series and I feel that it should finish soon. What made this show so appealing to viewers has diminished to such an extent that it won't be worth making another series after this. The creater/producers seem to think that fans will go along with anything they are shown but that is not the case.

The...
Published on 20 Mar. 2011 by CC


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Desperate - in more ways than one, 20 Mar. 2011
By 
CC (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Desperate Housewives - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of DH but S6 is not a patch on earlier series and I feel that it should finish soon. What made this show so appealing to viewers has diminished to such an extent that it won't be worth making another series after this. The creater/producers seem to think that fans will go along with anything they are shown but that is not the case.

The storylines have always been far fetched, which was part of the fun and suspense, but this is now becoming increasingly tiresome rather than exciting. I don't want to give too much away to those who have yet to watch the series but it seems that many of the characters have had personality transplants. They seem to behave completely out of character and any sign of growth and personal development in earlier seasons seems to have been quashed (Carlos blindness storyline is a good example). Katherine's infatuation with Mike Delphino goes to such extremes that she ends up hospitalised and then, when she recovers, she goes down a completely new road (just wait and see....). Honestly, it is laughable.

Gaby, who really did grow up during the first part of S5, reverts to type - spoilt, juvenile, petty. On the plus side, Lynette is still grounded and Susan is still as scatty as ever.

I am not particularly interested in the new family on the block and their dark secret is not exactly gripping either.

As I have critised the show, you may be surprised that I gave the season 3 stars. I have done so because it is still streets ahead of anything else on TV at the moment but I don't believe that this box set is worth buying at full price. Save your money and borrow a friend's or buy it second hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The weakest season so far., 8 Jan. 2011
By 
S. Firth (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desperate Housewives - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
If you ask a Desperate Housewives fan what their least favourite season is, most will say season 2. Not so with me, i would say this season is the weakest. But saying that it doesnt mean it's bad because it really isnt. It just felt like on some of the situations... yeah we've been there before. Such as Tom having to explain to Mrs McClusky's new fella (you read right) why he lets Lynette be the boss, because of her bad childhood and her needing to feel in control, yeah we know, we've heard it before.

And yes, Mrs McClusky has a new man, bless her i actually felt chuffed for her.

I would say the first half of this season is quite so so, but it definately does pick up for me. Although they did kill someone off who i just loved! Last season they killed Edie off, and i was ok with that. I liked her but i could live without her, but this character, probably my favourite i shall miss a lot. And one of my most favourite characters was Eddie, and you might think i'm weird saying that but, oh god that poor kid. I just wanted to hug him. At least Lynette saw good in him. Bless, those episodes actually hurt to watch because i cared for this character straight away.

The new family, the Bolen's, they were ok. They got better as the season progressed. Although i knew John Barrowman was going to be in it and i was dreading it because i'm not a fan of him or his cheesy grin. But he was actually quite good, he wasnt in it too much too so i was ok with that! Also, i'm really loving Bob & Lee, i laughed so much when Lee thought Susan's house was on fire and he came running out.

All in all, if anynone says DH's is on it's last legs, do not believe them. I believe that there's much more life in this show yet! And i cant wait to get season 7 because of the cliffhanger ending here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best, 2 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Desperate Housewives - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Its Desperate Housewives so compared to most shows on telly this is still amazingly entertaining viewing. Unlike other reviewers though I actually found this to perhaps be the weakest season yet. They seem to be struggling for origional storylines for the main 4 housewives and some of the early episodes are far to farsical even for DH.

The story with the Bolen's does get better as it goes along but they feel far too detached and out of place with the rest of the characters especially at the start of the season. I suppose this is to be expected with them being outsiders but it lacks the impact of season 5 where Susan and Mike where under threat from Dave.

The truly standout moment of the series though is the revelation of the identity of the mystery strangler and how things proceed from there. The season ends on a high and sets up season 7 great.

All in all a good series but perhaps a bit of a drop in quality. It was always going to be hard to follow up the amazing series 5 reboot and having watched the 1st quarter of season 7 I can say it starts much better. 100% recomended viewing but I feel the series where the writers needed to recharge their batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desperate housewives! Take 6!, 24 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Desperate Housewives - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
this season has been great! I don't think they've used so many story lines in one season, before. but this series ranged from stranglers, to baby mama drama, and of course the new neighbor story line. I do think that this series has been the best in quite a few years, and i cannot wait until season 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desperate Housewives - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I am really enjoying this series. It is better then season 5 in that there are more characters and a faster moving plot. There are several new characters including the Bolan family with a history and a glamorous new girlfriend for one of the Scarvo sons. There are many funny scenes such as the 'healthy competition' between Susan and Gaby's children at school. They each are part of a animal grouping system for maths and English. Once Gaby breaks the code of hierarchy then tears and arguments follow. I found myself laughing more this series as well. Although the stories are deeply moral there were just more smiles to be had this season. Bree aims to work on her marriage with Orson and Katherine makes a recovery following her breakdown after Mike married Susan again. Susan also helps out an ex stripper which delights all the men on the lane! Well worth buying for a DH fan or those who are curious-its well worth a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars how annoying, 1 Jun. 2014
Was enjoying the series until they took it off of prime and you have to pay NOT HAPPY would of been nice to be told they change what you get free..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DESPERATE HOUSEWIVES - desperate indeed, 28 Nov. 2010
By 
Avid reader (South West France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Desperate Housewives - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
An extremely and relentlessy talented cast working with 'desperate' story lines. You sometimes have the impression (the stripper and ...) that the writers have taken the week off. Entertaining but jaded. Doesn't have the moreish quality of the first series'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desperate Housewives - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desperate Housewives - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Delived fast in good condition was very pleased will not move untill i have seen every episode. Very happy customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars one of the DVD's wasnt working!, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desperate Housewives - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
probably copied CDs as one of them wasnt working at all! and the cd's were printed on and looked very weird, im not sure if this is a genuine product. i guess you get what you pay for,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Desperate Housewives - Season 6 [DVD]
Desperate Housewives - Season 6 [DVD] by Teri Hatcher (DVD - 2010)
£11.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews