Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


181 of 184 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Aussies Do it Again.
It was not long ago that I watched the excellent Australian film "Kokoda 39th Batallion", which brought deserved attention to the less well known conflict in Papua New Guinea during the Second World War. They have done it again with "Beneath Hill 60", which is the true story of the 1st Australian tunnellers, with particular emphasis on their involvement in the Battle of...
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by Bob Salter

versus
34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but missed the chance to be great
Yes - I enjoyed this film. It's well made: well acted, nicely produced and presenting a believable (and as far as I can tell, fairly accurate) view of the first world war. Indeed, both the wider subject matter (WW1) and narrower story (the mining and tunnel war) are not generally well served by the movie industry and it's great to see a quality attempt to bring it into...
Published on 2 Nov 2010 by Crookedmouth


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

181 of 184 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Aussies Do it Again., 16 Oct 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beneath Hill 60 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
It was not long ago that I watched the excellent Australian film "Kokoda 39th Batallion", which brought deserved attention to the less well known conflict in Papua New Guinea during the Second World War. They have done it again with "Beneath Hill 60", which is the true story of the 1st Australian tunnellers, with particular emphasis on their involvement in the Battle of Messines during World War One. It was a story that was truly crying out to be told. The screenplay for the film was adapted from the war diaries of Captain Oliver Woodward who served with the tunnellers. A film about the role played by the tunnellers during the Great War has been long overdue. The novel "Birdsong" brought home the horrors of this type of war to me. Men toiling beneath the earth to set off huge mines beneath enemy positions. Then there were counter mines from the enemy, which sometimes ended in brutal hand to hand combat where men hacked at each other with spades.

The film captures the awful realities of the war under the ground, whilst interweaving flashbacks of the captains romance back home. Whilst I don't pretend to be an expert, the action seems very authentic, with detail such as the listening posts and the reference to digging down to the blue clay to avoid water flooding. The conditions and scenes of World War One action around the Ypres salient are very convincing. I have visited the Flanders field museum in Ypres and the film certainly looked like many of the photos I saw there. It is remarkable to think all this was done in Australia. Prior to the commencement of the Messines Battle, 19 mines were set off simultaneously, in the greatest man made explosion the world had ever witnessed. It was heard in London and Dublin, and changed the geography of the area. An estimated 10,000 German soldiers were killed. It was not until testing the atomic bomb in 1945 that there was a larger explosion. Sadly although the allies gained valuable ground initially it was retaken by the Germans in a matter of months, and the bloody stalemate continued.

The acting is solid by all the cast, and star Brendan Cowell is particularly effective as Woodward. Jeremy Sim's has directed this large production with an impressively sure hand. It is always difficult to bring something new to the canon of World War One movies that has not already been done, and usually done well by someone, but Sim's and his crew have managed this. There might be an even more definitive film to be made about the tunnellers, but for the time being this will more than suffice. It is an entertaining and informative film, that casts light on a lesser known chapter of the Great War. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional!, 13 Oct 2010
By 
S. T. Lord (Norwich, Norfolk, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beneath Hill 60 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
A good honest film about the British Empire forces in the First World War, albeit from an Australian perspective. That said there is not modern stereotypical characterisations, the British soldiers are depicted fairly and there is no modern anti-British sentiment in this. This is just a good honest story about soldiers and the travails that they faced whilst serving on the Western Front. The British film industry could learn a lot from this production, the research on the Uniforms and equipment is first rate and the depictions of the social mores of the time are excellent too. It tells good story of men at war without a ham fisted attempt at making a point. I recommend this to everyone interested in the Great War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great aussi film., 2 Sep 2010
This review is from: Beneath Hill 60 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Released for anzac day in Australia this film is based on a true story and is a gripping tale where you get to know the ins and out of every character. It sees both points of view from either side which is a nice touch and also the effects after its over. Highly watchable with exciting scenes and great attention to detail but amazingly contains humerous moments aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Aussie WW 1 Drama, 9 Nov 2010
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beneath Hill 60 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I would just like to thank the other positive reviewers on this page as it was due to them that I bought this DVD. It is based on the book of the same name and I intend to get that next. This film is based on the exploits of a group of volunteer Australian miners who were employed during WW 1 to undermine and then blow up enemy German positions. This is part of their truly monumentally brave story.

The film is so authentic in its presentation of the terrible conditions endured by all sides at the front and is more astonishing as it was filmed in Australia and funded by inter alia The Australian Film Commission. The acting is spot on, the cinematography though not beautiful does exactly what you would want in terms of conveying the filth and the sense of claustrophobia when below ground. They do not shy away from the gruesome detail and Alan Dukes and Brendan Cowell are both excellent leads.

That said there is not one lack lustre performance and every one comes across as believable. The story is told with a modicum of flash backs but this is so well balanced that it helps the narrative flow. For fans of 'Birdsong' by Sebastian Faulks, this film will add to the plot. For fans of history it also tells a part of the amazing Allied attack on the Messine Ridge. This really is a great film that seemed to just fly by (only one cup of tea - always a good sign)you will not be sorry for the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but missed the chance to be great, 2 Nov 2010
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Beneath Hill 60 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Yes - I enjoyed this film. It's well made: well acted, nicely produced and presenting a believable (and as far as I can tell, fairly accurate) view of the first world war. Indeed, both the wider subject matter (WW1) and narrower story (the mining and tunnel war) are not generally well served by the movie industry and it's great to see a quality attempt to bring it into the light of the 21st century.

However, something about it just didn't click for me. The story should be moving, the plot nail-biting, the ending poignant. All the elements are there to enable that, but somehow it failed to hit those marks. I think it may be that it slipped too easily into war movie cliche: the doughty Diggers, the arrogant, crusty English General, the new lieutenant winning the respect of the hostile Corporal, the girl back home, the race against time and so-on. I'm not suggesting that these are invalid just because they are cliches but you can't help sighing a little cynically when the soldier passes around a photo of his best girl for his comrades to admire.

I think that another of the film's weaknesses was that, in a movie about digging tunnels, it missed an opportunity to crush the audience beneath an overwhelming feeling of claustrophobia. Certainly it provides a great rendition of the filth and squalour of the trench war, but so much of the action takes place above ground (i.e. outside of the tunnels themselves) that the key element of the story (what took place beneath Hill 60) is lost.

I really wanted to *love* this film. I'm afraid to say that I could only *like* it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Watching, 9 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beneath Hill 60 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Having had my fingers burned with some recent WW1 films (e.g. the ridiculous Passchendale) I was a bit wary about this one despite the rave reviews that were printed on the cover. That said, everything about it was good or excellent and I thought it told the story of the tunnellers really well. Can't fault it, and well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beneath Hill 60, 19 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beneath Hill 60 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Brilliant film showing the horrors of the tunnelling war in WW1.Brave men and thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, moving WW1 drama, 10 Nov 2010
By 
Ben Kane (Nr Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beneath Hill 60 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Like Tommy D who posted a review yesterday (9th Nov.), I have other reviewers (and Amazon's recommended lists) to thank for my purchase of this film. When the first review mentioned the film Kokoda - 39th Battalion, I was instantly interested, because I enjoyed that immensely. Birdsong is one of my top five favourite books too, so I was attracted to the idea of a film about sappers in WW1. Plus good films about the conflict are few and far between. There's the seminal anti-war film, All Quiet On The Western Front, based on Remarque's book, Gallipoli, and perhaps a handful of others. Hence the reason my antennae shoot up at the prospect of a good WW1 film.

I won't go into the plot - the blurb and other reviews do that in spades. What's important to me is that with the passage of time, and the deaths of all the suriviving veterans, I sadly feel that in no time at all, WW1 will be consigned to history. Fine films like this, which are realistic (in as much as we can know), while also managing to be gripping and moving will hopefully be one of the ways that the terrible conflict, and the ordinary men who served in it, will never be forgotten. The fact that this film is based on a real man, Captain Woodward, and his exploits, adds to its appeal even more.

(The two tiny spoilers were the poor music, and the shot of Australian mountains in the background of one scene - there are no mountains anywhere near Ypres as far as I know! Not enough to take away a star, however.)

Ben Kane, author of The Forgotten Legion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 17 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Beneath Hill 60 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Definitely one of my top three war films. Have shown it to my GCSE students for the last few years now and every one of them loved it. I disagree with the comments about flashbacks, they help remind us that this is based on a true story with real people and understand their motives for going to war. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really gripping, 10 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beneath Hill 60 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Covers all the aspects a war film needs too. Keeps you interested all the way through, the action is realistic and enjoyable, war is shown to be brutal and pointless and you care about the main characters. It also demonstrates the dirt and confusion of the First World War while telling a true story.

Wasn't sure what to expect from a tunnelling film but can confirm this is an enjoyable watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beneath Hill 60 [DVD] [2010]
Beneath Hill 60 [DVD] [2010] by Jeremy Sims (DVD - 2010)
4.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews