Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars French Zombie Film so it's actually quite good!
Very full on and very violent in a RoboCop way as the violence in certain scenes just goes on and on but in a good way!

More violent than Mutants but not quite as scary or atmospheric, but still way better than anything coming from the US.

Recommended!

There is an "UNCUT" version released only in Germany so far but all of the extra 9 mins...
Published on 20 Aug 2010 by ShawnDuHast

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good effort
Let face it - if you are going to buy this you will get exactly what it says on the tin - loads of zombie action, violence and gore. This does not disappoint in any of these areas although you would be forgiven for feeling this is already a well trodden path.

One of the films stronger points is the interplay between characters which sets them up with at least...
Published on 19 Feb 2011 by Mayzee


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars French Zombie Film so it's actually quite good!, 20 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: The Horde [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Very full on and very violent in a RoboCop way as the violence in certain scenes just goes on and on but in a good way!

More violent than Mutants but not quite as scary or atmospheric, but still way better than anything coming from the US.

Recommended!

There is an "UNCUT" version released only in Germany so far but all of the extra 9 mins is at the beginning before it really gets going and is mainly talking! I would rather say it's an extended cut.

So you are not missing any of the gore/violence with this UK disc.

In fact I preferred the 93 min version as it got the action quicker which is really what we are all buying this for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A french 28 days later......, 9 Aug 2010
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Horde [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
.....with more guns, gore and violence. Mix in some of the ingredients of the dawn of the dead remake and the left for dead game and you get the picture. The film has a frantic pace and the first scene is the discovery of a police officer found dead in a rubbish pit. At the funeral his collegues vow to kill the men responsible and track them down to a condemned and abandoned tower block on the city outskirts. The raid isn't too successful and the police find themselves at the mercy of the violent gang members. However, something stirs outside in the night and within minutes all hell breaks loose. The cops and gang members must reluctantly work together if they want to escape from the tower block alive. There are one or two scenes of complete overkill and plenty of blood to keep zombie fans happy. Don't really know to refer to them as zombies or not but they are like the infected in 28 days later. The film only really slows down in the middle for a short period before heading to a bloody and violent conclusion. Certainly one of the better zombie films to be released in the last few years and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the horde, 28 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Horde [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
What starts off as a movie about cops raiding an african drugs gang holed up in a tower block ends up as a full on zombie gore fest...good story line, but could ave been a better end....a few niggles, no info on how the outbreak began and a bit more info on the characters would have helped, but overall a good film especially if you like your zombie movies fastpaced and very bloody...and you dont mind subtitles..similarities to 28 days/28 weeks later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gangs, Police and Zombies!, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Horde [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
The Horde is an absolute blast of a zombie film. If you like foreign horror and the Rec films you'll love this. The plot is original, given how the zombie genre has been overdone to death. The pace of the film is relentless and chaotic and the terror and gore is great. The subtitles don't ruin the film one bit. One of the best zombie films in recent years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good effort, 19 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Horde [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Let face it - if you are going to buy this you will get exactly what it says on the tin - loads of zombie action, violence and gore. This does not disappoint in any of these areas although you would be forgiven for feeling this is already a well trodden path.

One of the films stronger points is the interplay between characters which sets them up with at least some interest before dispatching them over the course of the film. The action set pieces are very good and the zombies themselves convince. (note - these are zombies in the mould of '28 days' later and the remake of 'Dawn of the Dead' - i.e sprinting hissing ghouls not shuffling awkward and gormless.)

Don't be put off by the the fact its a french film - I actually preferred watching it with subtitles and it did not mar my enjoyment of the film.

There are one or two slower sections in the film and i liked the ending although its pretty nihlistic. I think part of my reason for not giving this a higher rating is I like my zombie films to be more global in their approach - we rarely find out anything about the zombies Ie - Why has it started, who is affected what is the government doing etc. Apart from a few token shots of the city burning and a blurred newscast everything is held in the microcosm of the appartment building.

That said - a good video thats a cut above some of the other zombie flicks about at the moment.

Mayzee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin...., 29 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Horde [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
This gritty little horror flick doesn't slow up for a second. Ninety minutes of violence, panic and semi darkness; this film is worth a watch by any fans of Rec or of the viral-zombie genre in general.

If, like me, you are constantly in need of a good fix of "zombie", then this film will certainly scratch that itch. With the lights off it is sure to make you jump and there is rarely a boring moment.

Unlike many of its American counterparts, La Horde doesn't sacrifice atmosphere for the sake of hollywood endings and trends. I found it more of an experience than a story, and it captures the desperate, brutal feel of a zombie scenario well. Whilst it certainly contains its share of gore, La Horde does not fall victim to gratuitous blood and guts like so much horror does these days- it manages to avoid being an assault on the senses whilst at the same time not censoring itself.

This is an action horror and it doesn't forget that- there are a few emotional scenes but they are extremely limited; it is hard to introduce deep and meaningful monologues when all the characters are either screaming or shooting. There are also a few attempts at character depth etc, but thankfully all of this rather falls by the wayside and so does not slow the film down unnecesarily.

Be under no illusions- this isn't the most truly stunning piece of cinema you will ever see and there are no oscar winning performances. But for what it is, and for its genre, there are really very few faults with La Horde and. As these flicks go it is certainly amongst my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real breath of decomposing air, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Horde [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I have been waiting what seems an eternity to see this film and I was not in the least bit dissappointed when I finally got to see it on DVD.I won't bore you with the plot as eveyone has already said that in their reviews.What I will say is that if you love zombie movies,over the top violence and games like left 4 dead and dead rising then do yourself a favour and buy this DVD.
I really do think this is the best zombie film since the remake of Dawn of the dead or possibly automaton transfusion and it would definitely get into my top 5 zombie flicks of all time.In fact I think I might watch it again tonight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hugely derivative but quite entertaining zombie yarn, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Horde (Blu-ray)
As other reviewers have already pointed out, The Horde owes a huge debt to films like 28 Days Later and The Raid but, if you aren't bothered with unoriginality and the (very American) subtitles, then The Horde manages to deliver some pretty entertaining action. I found it very difficult to empathise with any of the characters though, as the dysfunctional cops are only marginally less repugnant than the sadistic drug dealing gangsters (not to mention the utterly loopy Vietnam vet who joins in the carnage around half way through). It is the action, and occasional moments of black humor, that makes this worth a look. Zapping dozens of zombies with a machine gun in a narrow corridor was a terrific scene and rang faint echoes of the automated guns in Aliens. But surely the protagonists have seen enough zombie films to know you're supposed to SHOOT THEM IN THE HEAD?

Picture quality is reasonable but, as much of the action takes place in dimly-lit surroundings, I doubt if there's much benefit in paying extra for the BD version. Surround sound is used to pretty good effect and there are the usual making-of and trailer extras on the disk.

Overall, not a zombie classic, but still worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie actioner with a macabre sense of fun, 10 April 2011
This review is from: The Horde [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Some of the best horror movies of the past 10 years have come from France (Haute Tension, Martyrs, Inside) you can now add The Horde to the list.
The best way of describing this film is like taking the cast of Spiral (superior French crime drama) and dropping them in the middle of a zombie apocalypse !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Horde [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Good horror movie. Very much in the tradition of '28 days later' & 'Dawn of The Dead'. Some enjoyable human on zombie violence but it just lacks a certain something to lift it to status of classic and make it re-watchable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Horde [DVD] (2009)
The Horde [DVD] (2009) by Benjamin Rocher (DVD - 2010)
£4.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews