Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars36
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 7 August 2007
Fantastic old style good versus bad with no mucking about and a few grey hats thrown in for good measure.

This in my opinion is the 2nd best Rutger Hauer film after Bladerunner. Rutger plays a very successful bounty hunter after an arab terrorist played brilliantly by Gene Simmons. Story has been told so many times where bounty hunter loses everything after being used for bait by some rather dodgy CIA people to the extent of having his boat blown to bits with his best mate and girl friend in it. There are some lovely explosions and the way he disposes of some of the guys shooting them in cupboards and blowing their heads off with grenades is just pure movie gold. The casting is brilliant including Robert Guillaume who is Rutger's inside man.

If you want a great oldy you cant get much better than this.
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2008
OK so you've seen this story a few times before but at least you know that with Rutger Hauer you're going to get value for money and pure entertainment.Nick Randall (Hauer)a seasoned bounty hunter with a home arsenal catches the scum of the earth to build up his bank balance and is doing fine until the CIA use him unknowingly as bait for one of the worlds most notorious terrorists,Malak Al Rahim played menacingly by Gene Simmons.Unfortunately Nicks girlfriend and closest male friend are killed in an explosion on a boat which was meant to kill him and this makes the hunt for Rahim vey personal.He is assisted by Robert Guillame whereas everyone else appears to block his path.Well worth a view.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2009
To begin with, I love this movie. I saw it as a young lad when it was released direct to video in the mid to late 80s (before it's much promised, but never realised ''theatrical release'') and it has stayed with me ever since. No matter how many times I see it, or how dated it appears - it holds a special place in my 80s action movie loving heart.

The story isn't the most revelatory, but let's give it a go anyway: Rutger Hauer stars as Nick Randall (a descendant of Steve McQueen's Josh Randall TV character from the 50s), an LA based bounty hunter and ex-CIA operative (sic) making good money tracking down skip tracers for a living and also semi co-habiting with his new girlfriend Terry (Mel Harris). To shatter his near perfect existence, he is approached by former collegue Philmore Walker (played by the ever reliable Robert Guillaume) to help track down terrorist Malak Al Rahim who is blowing pieces of LA away with makeshift bombs and terrorism. Malak is played to the manor born by Kiss frontman Gene Simmons who threatens to steal the show, but can never out weirdo our Rutger, who when pushed can crank up the strangeness dial to 100.

As the story progresses and through a series of events which I won't spoil here, Randall becomes a target of Malak and vice versa which leads to a cat and mouse chase between the two, resulting in what has to be one of the best endings to an action movie . . . quite possibly ever. Both Simmons and Hauer are genuinely good in the movie and the intensity between them is what fuels this actioner along - it isn't just the usual 80s shoot 'em up. Behind the bombs and bullets is a real tension going on and that is what makes the finale all that more satisfying.

Besides a great a job from the two leads, the rest of the cast are suitably good as well. Mel Harris and Robert Guillaume are strong in their supporting roles and character actor Jerry Hardin is great as a bent FBI agent. Director Gary Sherman keeps everything moving well and orchestrates some fine action sequences on what is obviously a limited budget, but never lets the pyrotechnics get in the way of character or dramatics.

As a straight direct to video adventure flick, the movie keeps on giving in spades, but with it's topical terrorist plotline (remember, it was made in 1986) - it spookily echoes what has been going on for the past few years in our time and watching it again today it does makes you think more about the actual story than what a regular 90 minute actioner usually does. I'm not saying it has the power of a 'Syriana' or 'United 93' (yes, I really did just compare this movie to those!), but it does resonate a little more than 'Rambo III' for example...

Anchor Bay's disc is it's usual level of quality, except you only get the movie and a few trailer's - but, nothing much else. The transfer is fine and is presented in 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen. If like me, you love the movie, go for this Anchor Bay release but don't go expecting a loaded special edition.

All in all, it's a guilty pleasure of mine and I would probably defend it a little more than it actually deserves - but, for me it works and keeps on doing so. If you have a fond memory of 80s action movies and don't mind spending 90 minutes with a dutch blonde guy with an assortment of heavy artillary - then, this could be the one for you. Plus, that ending is a doozy... sorry, did I mention that?
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2003
International terrorism hits los angeles with cruel ferocity dozens of innocent people are ripped to shreds in a massive cinema bomb blast.The cia turns to former agent Nick Randall(Rutger Hauer)great granson of bounty hunter josh randall. randall now a bounty hunter himself collects criminal low:life for a very hefty price! when malak the terrorist (Gene simmons)kills two of randalls closet friends hunting him down becomes a personal vendetta his relentless pursuit through the bomb ridden streets of los angeles finally ends in an explosive and bloody confrontation" which will mean life or death to tens of thousands of people....
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 April 2013
Rutger Hauer is on fine form as bounty hunter Nick Randall and Gene Simmons does an excellent job as the terrorist Malak al Rahim who gets on his wrong side. The casting is good with even Robert Guillaume making an appearance as a decent FBI guy who joins in the hunt. This movie might not have been as big as some others during that golden decade but it's better than most of them. It gets an extra star for that explosive ending!
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 February 2015
A solid piece of 1980's action thriller. Sometimes comical, sometimes violent, full of naff dialougue that's quote happy, full of that era's example of gun shoot out's and explosions, it is not as glossy as todays over stylised affairs, but a good entertaining thriller.

Rutger Hauer plays the ex agent turned bounty hunter whoncomes to blows with enemy Gene Simmons terrorist. aThe plots pretty basic as each man wants the other dead. Cue lots of gun shoot outs, explosions and the obligatory car stunts and what you have is a decent enough piece of action entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Received in Excellent order and a very good DVD to watch and brighten up the day. Rutger Hauer showing how good he is no matter what roll he is playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
Not going to write a long review of the film as others have done that, but would say its a great movie and if you like this type of action film, just get it, very good value.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
I liked the film and added to my rutger hauer collection recently good ending when he pulls the ring!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The most interesting thing to do with this film is to watch the first few minutes and then try to predict who will be left alive at the end.
I'm sorry to say that I got this right, it's so easy to predict what will happen.
The plot breaks no new ground. An Arab terrorist, Malik Al Rahim (Gene Simmons) enters the US with the intention of blowing up a Los Angeles chemical plant in revenge for the accident at Bhopal. The authorities persuade Nick Randall (Rutger Hauer) to come out of retirement to help hunt down his old nemesis. It's a kind of reversal of Blade Runner where Harison Ford is the cop dragged out of retirement to hunt down and kill Rutger Hauer.
The film deals up lots of action, it is fast paced and Rutger Hauer's sardonic wit helps to keep things moving along. Sadly, at no point does the film ever really create any sort of tension or suspense. Nor does the film really add any depth to the characters.
It's the sort of film that you will enjoy watching with a small group of friends a takeaway pizza and a six pack but the Lethal Weapon series do this kind of thing much better.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)