Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aniseed balls tasty treat and/or squirrel ammo
As a kid i always enjoyed aniseed balls which i bought from the corner shop 2 ozs at a time. These do not disappoint and have a good flavour and last well. I wouldn't normally require this quantity but they make fantastic ammunition for my catapult which i use to deter the pesky squirrels (tree rats) from demolishing my many bird feeders. I don't want to kill the little...
Published 21 months ago by J. Adams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The item was opened slightly
Most of the sweets were in the box as opposed to the jar. This was very disappointing, however they still taste great.
Published 6 months ago by Francis Swift


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aniseed balls tasty treat and/or squirrel ammo, 10 Mar 2013
By 
J. Adams (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Love Retro Sweets" Large Sweet Jar (Aniseed Balls 1.4kg) (Misc.)
As a kid i always enjoyed aniseed balls which i bought from the corner shop 2 ozs at a time. These do not disappoint and have a good flavour and last well. I wouldn't normally require this quantity but they make fantastic ammunition for my catapult which i use to deter the pesky squirrels (tree rats) from demolishing my many bird feeders. I don't want to kill the little blighters just give them the odd bump and bruise to scare them off. Aniseed balls are perfect for this and are obviously bio degradeable which means they disappear totally after a few showers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The item was opened slightly, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Love Retro Sweets" Large Sweet Jar (Aniseed Balls 1.4kg) (Misc.)
Most of the sweets were in the box as opposed to the jar. This was very disappointing, however they still taste great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy with caution, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Love Retro Sweets" Large Sweet Jar (Aniseed Balls 1.4kg) (Misc.)
I purchased these because of the price, & it saves going to retro sweet shops. Only trouble is, they are so addictive! Still trying to resist temptation to buy more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Aniseed Balls, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Love Retro Sweets" Large Sweet Jar (Aniseed Balls 1.4kg) (Misc.)
Bought these as a gift for a friend who live abroad. He was delighted to get something that he ate daily from the tuck shop in boarding school. Will keep you going for time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot., 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Love Retro Sweets" Large Sweet Jar (Aniseed Balls 1.4kg) (Misc.)
SO. MANY. SWEETS. I didn't realie just how many aniseed balls can be found in a kilo and a half! Most tasted brilliant, although there were a few broken and odd ones in there (expected really). Absolutely everyone who has tried one has said 'this reminds me of my childhood.' No joke, every. one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great memory jogger!!!, 16 Mar 2013
This review is from: "Love Retro Sweets" Large Sweet Jar (Aniseed Balls 1.4kg) (Misc.)
What a great memory jogger, taking you back to your childhood, when you could get a bag of sweets for 25p...what a time!!!

These sweets were delivered fast and great quality, great present for my mate, great to share!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Love Retro Sweets" Large Sweet Jar (Aniseed Balls 1.4kg) (Misc.)
As a fan of these when I was a kid I was over the moon to find a company who supply the real thing. These are really aniseedy if there is such a word and I love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweets, 27 Jan 2013
This review is from: "Love Retro Sweets" Large Sweet Jar (Aniseed Balls 1.4kg) (Misc.)
Cracking product, would definitely use this company again still eating anaseed balls very good value for money, thanks very much, J
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Love Retro Sweets" Large Sweet Jar (Aniseed Balls 1.4kg) (Misc.)
Fantastic - my husband loves aniseed balls and this tub was very reasonably priced. They are quite hard to find in the shops and this jar was actually bigger than it looks on the picture, so I was very pleased with this as a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There IS such a word as 'aniseedy'..., 13 Dec 2013
By 
C. Baker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Love Retro Sweets" Large Sweet Jar (Aniseed Balls 1.4kg) (Misc.)
To quote from another review of this product, there is indeed such a word as 'aniseedy', and it applies in spades to these magnificent balls. Quite apart from their flavour, which I'll come to shortly, the balls in themselves are not perfectly round, but don't let this put you off. It means they don't roll all over the place like some other, inferior (but perfectly round) brands - a huge advantage when eating them from, say, a kitchen work surface, or the back of a knife. They are also just the right size, for my mouth at least. If you have a small mouth you might find them rather large, but I've been told I have a big mouth so yours is probably just average compared to that, so probably no need to worry (but check in a mirror and / or with a tape measure before ordering). Now onto the taste, as promised earlier. One word - Wow! Pop one in your mouth (but see what I say earlier in this review) and an intense hit of aniseedy flavour literally kicks you in the tongue. This might sound a bit 'OTT', but I don't exaggerate, and it's very nice rather than very unpleasant. These are aniseed balls, after all, and in all fairness you get what it says on the tin. After this initial onslaught of taste sensation, the balls settle down a bit and follow through with a few minutes of just nice, enjoyable aniseedy taste, and then, almost before you know it, the ball's gone, leaving a lingering, slightly sweet aftertaste, and a bereft tongue asking "where's my aniseed ball gone?" (if tongues could talk, that is!). Time for another - luckily, if you are like me, you've ordered this great big jar!

ps - tongues can, of course, talk, hence the expression "speaking in tongues".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews