Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars18
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2006
Glad to see an artist who has took there time on a album and it is worth the wait. With pop, rock and ballads Duncan has co-wrote a album that truely fits him. Not one song i don't like i must admit the main reason i purchased this cd was for the credits as i am a big fan of both producers Stephen Lipson & Peter Vetesse and co-writers such as Eg White & Andreas Carlsson rank up the top. Even if you are not a fan of blue don't hesitate take a chance this is a excellent album.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2006
After waiting almost a year for this album to emerge, I'm most certainly not disappointed. The single, Sooner Or Later had me a little sceptical for a while, but having heard the rest of the album, I can safely say that the single certainly hasn't given a taste of what's to come. Sooner Or Later is probably the weakest song here. There's a nice mixture, from the upbeat tracks I Come Alive, Frequency and Turn My Head to the beautiful ballad Letter To God, there's something here for every taste. Even his cover of Lonestar's Amazed does the original justice.

Duncan's album is the third to be released after the disbandment of Blue, following ex bandmates Lee Ryan and Simon Webbe. In my opinion, Duncan's effort has exceeded that of Lee's debut, though perhaps I would be torn to choose between this title, and Simon's record.

It's certainly been worth the wait, despite the weak choice of a debut single. There's a fair few tracks on here that would have made better choices.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
I'm a huge fan of Blue and when Duncan released this CD I bought it right away. It's 5 years old and it's still on my iPod and played constantly. It's such a classy CD and the vocals and songs are excellent. Why didn't he ever release another CD? It boggles my mind as I think he's so talented. I'm from the US and seeing Duncan or even Blue are extremely remote, so I think it's a shame more solo music from Duncan isn't forthcoming. Oh well-----!!
Anyone know something I don't know!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2006
assume this to be the Japanese Import of Future Past - that being the case I would recommend it for Duncan fans! there are bonus tracks, I bought it for Part Time Love alone - which is a rocky upbeat song, there are additional inserts and photos - and this is a very good price too!

For anybody who has not yet heard this album - buy it, you will not be disappointed! a great selection of classy, beautiful songs and some great uptempo tracks, really excellent album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2006
There's a number ballads including one that Seal penned 'Can't Stop A River' but dont think that the albums just ballads, theres a vairety of upbeat songs too. A hidden track also features at the end of the last song. It's clear to see that Duncan's voice has matured since the days of Blue and with that so has his songwriting skills. A slightly rockier pop sound than Blue, overall id give it 9 out of 10.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
I was very happy with Duncan James- Future Past album. Amazon.co.uk had all the details I needed to know before I purchased the album. There was also no problems with shipping the ablum from the UK to Melbourne, Australia. Thank you Amazon.co.uk! q:-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2006
i cant believe how good this album is!! i have listened to it three times today already!!!! i love it! it is brilliant, i thought it might be not very good, but i obviously didnt expect much of Duncan (i was a lee fan lol) but now i am a duncan fan too!

my favourite song is suffer, dont wanna stop and what are we waiting for!

great stuff! totally recommend this album to all!

dont be afraid like i was! BUY IT!

Duncan - congratulations on your 1st album! xxx
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2006
I am not a Blue fan but I do like quite a few songs of theirs.I have got Lee and Duncan's solo albums. I love Lee's voice but I love Duncan's album more as the songs are more catchy and consists of a great variety.

It's a fab pop album with carefully selected songs with consistent genre.It suits Duncan's unique voice perfectly. My fav are Suffer, Somebody still Loves You and I love the bridge in What Are We Waiting For.I play it in the car stereo over and over on my daily commute.

Just buy it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
My first CD by Duncan James and quite surprising. Good music easy to listen to. I can highly recommend it especially because it doesn't sound exactly like Blue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2006
Like other Duncan fans Ive waited a year for this album - I feel it was worth every minute of the wait!.

The album is full of classy pop songs; beautifully written ballads sung with feeling and passion. 'Cant Stop A River' (written by Seal) is a wonderful, powerful song, and 'Somebody Still Loves You' is genuinely moving.

There are some great upbeat numbers too such as 'I Come Alive', 'Turn My Head' and 'Sooner or Later', and an excellent cover of 'Amazed' which Duncan has made his own.

Overall - Duncans voice is sounding better than ever; in my opinion this is an unmissable album - get out there and buy it!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)