Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Someone has a point to make...
You have to respect an artist who's willing to write off a good percentage of his own catalogue - records that millions of people bought and a good majority of those enjoyed. Eminem isn't happy with Encore and that's understandable - it wasn't very good. More surprisingly, he's pretty scathing about Relapse as well, which many fans - including this one - saw as a return...
Published on 12 Jun 2010 by Matt Black

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best!
Not his best. Played it a couple of times and filed it away under boring to be honest.

Eminem for me is one of those artists that make good individual songs but when you listen to a full album it just gets boring and repetitive listening to him regurgitate the same lines over and over again in different songs.
Published 1 month ago by Steve W


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

111 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Someone has a point to make..., 12 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Recovery (Audio CD)
You have to respect an artist who's willing to write off a good percentage of his own catalogue - records that millions of people bought and a good majority of those enjoyed. Eminem isn't happy with Encore and that's understandable - it wasn't very good. More surprisingly, he's pretty scathing about Relapse as well, which many fans - including this one - saw as a return to form, albeit a partial one. Relapse suffered from being inconsistent but its two bonus tracks and the 'Relapse:Refill' release seemed to point in a more encouraging direction; less silly accents and more focus on flow and technical ability. The good news is, this trend has continue unabated with Recovery.

Recovery is an album that grows with each listen. It's not perfect, but is it better than Relapse? Yes. Is it better than The Eminem Show? Narrowly, yes. This is an album that can stand comfortably alongside the 'LP's although perhaps not on first listen - it's definitely a grower. The accents have gone. The skits have disappeared. To his credit, the change in Eminem's style is tangible - this isn't self-declaration, it's very evident that things have change momentum.

The guest appearances may be surprising. We're mercifully spared any 50 Cent, and there's no D12 here either. After rapping about how he was on the verge of putting out a diss record against Lil' Wayne, he actually appears on this album, although ironically, Eminem destroys him on 'No Love'. There are uncredited appearances too - '25 To Life' and 'Almost Famous' both benefit from a female hook, but the biggest surprise will surely be one time nemesis Pink, who actually adds so little to 'Won't Back Down' that she might as well be anyone. Rihanna continues to demonstrate that any collaboration she touches turns to gold; she's the female Nate Dogg in that respect.

And so the man himself. This is a self-conscious album from Eminem, but unlike his lesser records, he's no longer moaning about the price of fame. Instead, this is autobiographical as he brings us up to speed with where he's been and attempts some kind of redemption after his last two albums. Lyrically, Eminem has never sounded better. His flow is, incredibly, superior to any of his past albums. He dances around each beat; his trademark polysyllabic rhyming style often dazzles and leads to multiple rewind-moments. On one or two occasions the sentiment of the flow is sacrificed for an easy rhyme, but moments like these are few and far between. It's hard to think of any better technical lyricist, alive or dead - if Eminem set out to re-establish his skills, this album is a triumph.

I won't go through every track, but suffice to say, this is an album that is destined to be a classic. It isn't perfect - there's too much singing here, and although Eminem can hold a tune, he's better off leaving that to people who can do it better. There's also one too many try-hard cultural references (multiple jabs at Michael J Fox are neither topical nor particularly funny). In addition to that, the Proof tribute song 'You're Never Over' is out of place and indulgent. There's also been an error of judgement in terms of song order - the second track should have been the first, and the 'untitled' song is too good to remain hidden.

That being said, this deserves a place in the collection of anyone who can claim to enjoy hip hop, or music. It is a bold, unmistakeable statement of return from one of the most skilled rappers in the game, and I for one love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eminem's Evolution., 2 July 2010
By 
J. Cullen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Recovery (Audio CD)
I've grown up with Eminem's music since I was 9, and been a genuine fan since The Eminem Show. The previous albums haven't been his best; Encore was flawed, a number of brilliant songs in between tunes which seemed more an imitation of Slim Shady rather than the real Slim Shady. Relapse I enjoyed, but I can understand why it wasn't popular.

Recovery is a change in Eminem's style. If anything, it conforms to many current hip-hop and pop styles. Simple examples are the use of Pink and Rihanna in songs, where before Dina Rae (a relative unknown outside of rap) featured. Beats are faster, there are genuine hints of love ballads (instead of murder ballads), and it just seems like Eminem's accepted he's changed rap forever, but he can't change it any more. This may not be a bad thing. Slim Shady/Eminem/Marshall Mathers are each different entities, so leaving Slim Shady to rest, with the brilliant work he did may be the best way for Slim to quit as the dominant entity.

As for individual songs on Recovery, Not Afraid is brilliant, while So Bad is a classic (the fact it's produced by Dr Dre may not be a coincidence). Going Through Changes is probably my favourite, for the moment. W.T.P. is a weak song, and I wish someone else sang the chorus to You're Never Over, while the absence of D12 (even without Proof) or Dre is disappointing. It can be difficult to get into as you compare Recovery with Eminem's old work, but once you're past that, you can recognise the album's brilliance.

Inevitably, Eminem has grown up throughout his career. From rebellious lunatic, to annoyed genius, to concerned parent and American to grieving friend, most with healthy doses of humour included. We've grown up with him. Recovery is a veteran rapper masterfully plying his trade, and another evolution of Eminem for us to experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guess whos back?, 10 Aug 2010
By 
diamondgeezer1 (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Recovery (Audio CD)
Got my hands on a copy of Eminem's new album, and its great.

He is literally a genius, and he doesn't let his fans down with his latest offering, ever single one of the songs on this album is brilliant

Eminem back to his best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shady's BACK, 12 Aug 2010
This review is from: Recovery (Audio CD)
I was extremely dissapointed with the previous album and was not really going to buy this until i heard Not Afraid and i am thankful i did i have only listened to a few songs but here is review of the ones i have Heard
Won't Back Down Feat P!NK: a great song with a good beat, and of course P!NK EMINEM is back with song song although i dnt know the lyrics it is a amazing song
Going Through Changes: This song is about all the changes in Eminems life and taken from alot of personal experiences. the beat is good and lyrics speak to you if you know them
Space Bound: This song really does not mean much to me but it has a good chrous and some lyrics that will stick with me
Cinderella Man: With this song Eminem has bought my Faith back, i haven't stopped listening to this song since I first heard and wot a song.
25 to Life: I find this song a bit weak compared to other songs on the album but altogether it is abrill song
Love the way You Lie Feat Rihanna: This is probebly the stand out song on this album and i must say it is also a song that has some hunting lyrics which will stick with me for ages, Rihanna was a Amazing choice for this song as she has lived through wot she is singing about and she puts alot of feeling into the song

Overall this album is one i will be listing to till hopefully there is another one and a recommended buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuine grand return from the king of wordplay, 30 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Recovery (Audio CD)
Eminem is one of those artists that just can't go unnoticed. Your grandparents have probably heard of him even if they have never listened to the music.
I think that if people are not into him, it's either because they're not great fans of such music genre, or fail to understand that the often present violence in his lyrics is really just him exorcizing his demons. He's very clear about the fact that what he writes is not to be taken literally. It's instead more of a situation of a troubled artist accessing all that's negative in his life and putting it to paper. A way of coping with his own hardships.
With this, a question arises: Is his music suitable for children and young confused adolescents? It's probably not.

Now, there's certainly no doubt that he's pretty much standing alone in his own league since the release of his first album and especially since the release of The Marshall Mathers LP. Why? Because he took hip-hop music and rapping and upgraded it beyond measure. Because he's confessional. Because he's a contemporary poet that has mastered the art of writing and wordplay. He intrigues you and most importantly he makes you relate to what he writes, because he came from a place of nothingness and fought his way to a place of where he, as an artist, found fullfilment by doing what he loves. We relate because we, as human beings, love success stories. And I'm not talking about wealth, I'm talking about personal success, growth. About not being happy where you are and taking the steps in order to get to where you want to be. It's our every day life story.

Eminem has come a long way, from clear homophobe to supporter of same sex rights. From being addicted to prescription pills to a sober, aware parent. He's made many improvements in all areas of his life. I think that's a very positive thing and something that can be found in this album here and there.

Having that said, this is a glorious return. Eminem himself is not happy about 2 of his albums, namely "Encore", which I find a great album and don't really get all the negative buzz about it but also "Relapse" which is an album with some strong moments but is mainly very very inconsistent. I'm with him on that one and understand why he's not happy about it.
Recovery is nothing like that, and in all reality is far from being a failure. This is a collection of killer track after killer track. Even if the occasional filler steps in for a while we're quickly blown away again with yet another in your face rap rollercoaster filled with adrenaline. I honestly have no idea how he came up with such a great album in such a short amount of time but he definitely played his cards right on this one.
Is this his best album to date? It's not, but great portions of it are really up there with some of his best material.
The music and beats are mostly top notch again and the lyrics are what we're used to from Eminem, they just flow incredibly well throughout the songs. The way he bends, breaks and pronounces some words in a slightly different way in order to make rhymes is outstanding. Everything here is just pure fun to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 16 YR OLD SON LOVES IT, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. B. Preston "beverleyboo" (warrington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recovery (Audio CD)
AM QUITE PARTIAL TO SOME OF THE TRACKS MYSELF, ALTHOUGH BOUGHT FOR SON. VERY TALENTED AND CLEVER LYRICS SUNG WITH HONESTY AND PASSION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eminem, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Recovery (Audio CD)
A very good album, Eminem or Marshel has produced an extremely clever piece of work the colabarations on this album are particulay worth a listen, No love with lil wayne was a real gem taking a sample from haddaway was so funny i remeber boppin to the original,, {i hope that dosent show my age) This album will not Dissapoint,..,.,,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eminem Recovery CD, 13 Aug 2010
This review is from: Recovery (Audio CD)
wow
Recovery at first i was not over keen with but it is one of thos Cd's that grows on you and in a short while will have you singing along looking into the deeper meaning of the lyrics.

I love this CD and would deffo recommend especially if you are a 'Shady' fan :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to form, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: Recovery (Explicit Version) [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I purchased Relapse when released then Recovery, Relapse was not the best work of Eminem (musically) but I have some knowledge of addiction and the journey that an addict takes; so I purchased Recovery hoping for a return to form musically. This is exactly what I got, a return to form. The Lyrics have struck home with many addicts who are now in recovery and with a stronger soundtrack to back up the salient lyrics, it has also been a success with a wider fan base. I've enjoyed it immensely and would recommend it to anyone, not just those who have experienced the issues first hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All killer no filler, 4 Aug 2010
By 
T. Newport (Windsor) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Recovery (Audio CD)
This CD is awesome. My first Eminem CD, took a gamble on it and now after 2 listens my head doesn't know which song to keep popping up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews