Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars security concerns
As always this Thule product is of good Quality and fits to my aero bars very easily. Easy to reverse fittings to fit second carrier to passenger side of car. Bought these 10 cheaper than available in Halfords but was disapointed to find them at 30% discount at Ford online only a couple of days later. My only concern is that these carriers although lockable would not...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by Glyn T

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice looking bike Carrier, Watch out, the wheel holders break easily
There a are a lot of dodgy roof bike carriers out there. It's seems that everything is cost engineered. I have been through 3 other lower priced models by Halfords, Mont Blanc and Thule. All proved inferior and lasted less than 18 months of use.

You would think to look at it, that the ProRide 591 was the best one on the market. And, it probably is. But, it too...
Published 5 months ago by COXY_BIKE-SKI


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars security concerns, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 591 ProRide Twin Pack Bicycle Carrier Roof Mounted (Automotive)
As always this Thule product is of good Quality and fits to my aero bars very easily. Easy to reverse fittings to fit second carrier to passenger side of car. Bought these 10 cheaper than available in Halfords but was disapointed to find them at 30% discount at Ford online only a couple of days later. My only concern is that these carriers although lockable would not keep cycles secure from theft. I always lock bikes to roofbars with an additional corded padlock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice looking bike Carrier, Watch out, the wheel holders break easily, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 591 ProRide Twin Pack Bicycle Carrier Roof Mounted (Automotive)
There a are a lot of dodgy roof bike carriers out there. It's seems that everything is cost engineered. I have been through 3 other lower priced models by Halfords, Mont Blanc and Thule. All proved inferior and lasted less than 18 months of use.

You would think to look at it, that the ProRide 591 was the best one on the market. And, it probably is. But, it too is cost engineered.

Thule: Take note. After owning a pair of these racks for a little over 9 months, a level crossing proved their undoing.

The level crossing was not exactly a pot hole, but nevertheless, the bounce it caused, resulted in both rear plastic wheel holders fracturing, their parts strewn over the railway track, leaving two bikes lying on their side on my roof.

Luckily, I had a couple of straps in the car and was able to pick up the bikes, placing the rear wheels directly onto the grooves of the somewhat more sturdy aluminium carrier frame and carry on with my journey.

I note that this seems to be a common spare part on Thule stockists websites so I assume that I am not alone in this experience. At 14.99 per wheel holder, it is not cheap to replace either.

Other than that the overall bike carrier is sturdy. Looks good on the Aero bars. Don't trust the lock though. There are YouTube videos showing how easy it can be broken into. Get a secondary lock to fully protect your bikes.

And, finally, invest in the one-key system. Saves carrying lots of different keys around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product - worth the money, 8 April 2013
By 
Neil Robst (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 591 ProRide Twin Pack Bicycle Carrier Roof Mounted (Automotive)
Very happy with these cycle carriers! I thought it a bit strange to carry bikes vertically on the roof of my Citroen C5 and so was a bit unsure about doing this. However had a look at my neighbours identical cycle carriers and tried my mountain bike on it and it looked quite solid. Plus he was very happy with them and had been using them for a quite a while.

Ordered and delivered wtihin 2 two days - used them at the weekend and just loved the convenience and ease of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made product, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 591 ProRide Twin Pack Bicycle Carrier Roof Mounted (Automotive)
The Thule cycle carrier fit perfectly to Volvo roof bars. I purchased two and they are well made and easy to fit. Bikes are easy to position and are held in position securely. I am pleased with the purchase and delivery time was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong, tough and really easy to use, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 591 ProRide Twin Pack Bicycle Carrier Roof Mounted (Automotive)
Solid, easy to fit very easy to use! Used to struggle getting the bike in and out of the car, putting the seats down etc. Now its much more convenient and quick. Watch the diesel though - these things play havoc with the mpg!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing else comes close, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 591 ProRide Twin Pack Bicycle Carrier Roof Mounted (Automotive)
These are superb. They transform the speed and ease with which you can move your bikes. Once you get the knack (which is generally the second time you put the bike on the roof), you can be driving away in seconds. Once you've got the bike carriers on, you just don't want to take them off.

We've now got four on the car, and the four different bikes fit no problem at all. The clamp has a huge range, so securely attaches anything from a tiny kid's balance bike with a thin tube up to bearing brackets on a chunky full suspension mountain bike. The range is vast and means that you can always ensure a secure fit.There's even a cable channel cut into the top and bottom of the clamp so that you can move cables off the frame (although I have to say to guarantee that there's no scratching, I still use a sponge or cloth).

The wheel grips also cater for a huge range of different wheel sizes - I've yet too find one too chunky to fit. With all this versatility, it's still a doddle to use - the parts move freely and give easy access for tightening things up securely. The simplicity and solid design means it carries on working well for years (even if left on top of the car for long periods).

These really have changed our approach to riding further away from home as it's such an easy job to put the bikes on the roof and drive away.

Other plus points include the fact we no longer worry about mess, and cleaning the bikes before we move them. The locks are also a decent deterrent to opportunists, and work well in all conditions (although I probably wouldn't leave the bikes on the roof overnight).

I would also say that compared to the price of the roof bars themselves, they are truly great value for such a practical design. I'd be lost without them now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always, Thule does a good job!, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 591 ProRide Twin Pack Bicycle Carrier Roof Mounted (Automotive)
This is a very good and easy to use bicycle carrier. They work great and safely keep the bikes during transport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best money can buy, 30 Oct 2010
This review is from: Thule 591 ProRide Twin Pack Bicycle Carrier Roof Mounted (Automotive)
The Thule proride carriers are expensive, particularly when the cost of the roof bars and mounting kit is also included. However they are excellent. Quick and easy to use and very secure. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We have aluminium frames so the clamps are fine. Dead easy to use, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 591 ProRide Twin Pack Bicycle Carrier Roof Mounted (Automotive)
Had two already and four just about fit on a roof rack topping and tailing the bikes. We have aluminium frames so the clamps are fine.

Dead easy to use, our bikes are on and off up to four times a week. Put some padding between the frame and the brake cable if you have non internally routed cables or you can get some scuffing where the cable and frame rub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
By 
Niall "Tutts" (Portsmouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 591 ProRide Twin Pack Bicycle Carrier Roof Mounted (Automotive)
They hold the bikes solidly in position and are perfect for the job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews