Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid and well made piece of kit
Good, well made and effective pump. I have deducted one star because of the complete absence of instructions for use. If you have never used one before it is far from obvious, particularly with presta valves. Unscrew the valve nut and push the head of the pump firmly onto the valve with the lever positioned parallel to the hose. Lift the lever so that it is at right...
Published 18 months ago by Natatores

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good quality but let down by fiddly dual valve design
The Airace Infinity is well-made metal barrelled floor pump with easy to read gauge up to 160psi, pressure release valve for deflation, sturdy feet and comfortable handles. The flex is a good length, allowing connection to the valve even when at the top of the wheel, and the head will fit both Schrader (wide) and presta (narrow) valves.

It is the dual purpose...
Published 1 month ago by Mart


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid and well made piece of kit, 1 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good, well made and effective pump. I have deducted one star because of the complete absence of instructions for use. If you have never used one before it is far from obvious, particularly with presta valves. Unscrew the valve nut and push the head of the pump firmly onto the valve with the lever positioned parallel to the hose. Lift the lever so that it is at right angles to the hose and pump. If you need to release any pressure press the silver button. To remove do the reverse. There, simple when you know how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay but take note of the negative comments, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Often, you get what you pay for. Pumping tyres on a road bike, to 80psi, demands effort and accuracy; you need an air-tight floor pump and a gauge. Shopping around, you can find pumps easily selling for £50 plus so I was in two minds about dipping below the £20 mark, Poundland territory. The positive reviews made me do it. I needed to pay attention to the negative comments.

It's a solid pump, lighter than I thought it would be (is it really steel?), the gauge could be higher up the shaft to save eyesight but there is an adjustable ring with a marker arrow which you set to your requirements. The pump has a nice smooth action, feels like it will last without too much unnecessary punishment. When storing away, the hose is clipped to the body making it all tidy.

I agree with the comments about lack of instructions. There aren't many instructions needed but they are essential. I mean, there's a fine piece of shiny cardboard branding hanging around the body and hose, how hard would it be to print a diagram and some words on one side? It's ridiculously short-sighted, for reasons explained below;

The stated "Clever Valve Automatically Detects Schrader or Presta Fitting" isn't clever at all. It's simply a one-size-fits-all head. It's fine on Schrader valves (mountain bikes etc.) but fiddly on Presta valves (road bikes). It's not impossible, there is a knack. Just don't try to master the knack in 30 deg. of heat, in full sun, immediately before setting out on a ride. It'll take the edge off your day. Once you've unintentionally deflated your tyre attempting to lock the head on, things get worse as air-tightness requires the head to be pushed right down over the valve body and, when flat, the valve doesn't push back; it just wants to retreat into the tyre. You know when it hasn't locked on because the gauge twitches but stays on zero, or you succeed in getting some air in only for the head to move, releasing the air. By now I'm thinking, it can't be right, where are those damn instructions! More by luck than judgement, I managed to get both tyre up to around 80psi. The gauge seemed to work, judging literally by rule-of-thumb (pressing the tyre, old school style), though I have not tested its accuracy.

I am now looking for a replacement head, a dual type, to replace the one-size-fits-all. Like pumps, these vary in price enormously but even if I spend £15, I reckon the whole kit will be good value. Those looking for a new floor pump, I would probably recommend going straight for one with a dual head. You may even get instructions!

I'm knocking off one star for lack of instructions and one star for the dumb head. But I'm adding a star for the overall value for money. Four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good quality but let down by fiddly dual valve design, 10 Oct 2014
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Airace Infinity is well-made metal barrelled floor pump with easy to read gauge up to 160psi, pressure release valve for deflation, sturdy feet and comfortable handles. The flex is a good length, allowing connection to the valve even when at the top of the wheel, and the head will fit both Schrader (wide) and presta (narrow) valves.

It is the dual purpose head however which lets the pump down, for although it is claimed to be `clever' by detecting the type of valve it is being pushed onto, it is actually just a tapered fitting which fits both styles of valve once the locking lever is turned.

There is a knack to getting the head securely onto the valve, but considering the many alternatives on the market I find it disappointing to have to overcome this fiddly design which is labelled as clever.

For Schrader valves I found no problems. The head pushes onto the valve tightly and the lever is turned to lock it on. The tyre is inflated with no problems.

Presta valves I found difficult to fit. Valves with a thread and locking nut are easier for the head to lock on to. The thread gives the head some grip, while the locking nut stops the valve being pushing into the wheel innertube when locking down the head. Presta valves without a thread or locking nut are smooth and as such are difficult for the head to grip, and tend to get pushed into the wheel when the head is pushed on.

The knack is to hold the valve tightly and push the head firmly down onto it, quite hard so that it grips as much valve as possible but not so hard as to cause damage. With practice it can be achieved every time, but despite following this method I still occasionally find the head pops off the valve midway through inflating the tyre.

A dual head design would be more reliable - adapters are available at low cost - and it's a shame this pump wasn't fitted with one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steel Floor Bike Pump, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airace Infinity Sport Floor Steel Bike Pump (Sports)
The pump looks very stylish and it is very stable and solid too.
It works excellent.
In use since Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airace pump, 11 May 2013
By 
TonyD "biotone" (Up North) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with this - robust metal tube, comfortable handle, stable on the floor and a secure fitting that automatically locks on to either Presta or Schrader valves when the lever is raised. Quick and easy to get my road tyres up to pressure - good piece of kit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality pump, fits presta valves fine, 27 Aug 2013
By 
T. Baker (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this pump for my road bike which has 120psi tyres and presta valves. My previous pump struggled to get these over 60psi using a presta adapter, so I was very keen to get something better.
I read a few reviews saying that using this pump with presta valves was difficult or fiddly - I didn't find this to be true at all. It fitted perfectly the very first time I tried, with no air leaking.
Pumping was also much quicker than with my old pump (a twin barrel foot pump), I was very surprised how quickly and easily my tyres were up to pressure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value track pump, 22 Mar 2013
By 
PEJ Vasey (Ely, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had trouble getting my tyres up to 105psi but not with this. Covers both valve types. Presta can be a little fiddly to clamp the pump on to, but once on it is easy to inflate and the clever connector means not silly changing of adapters. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this to replace a Beto pump which was totally useless. Chalk and cheese, this pump worked like a dream. Easy to remove pump head from Presta valve. Excellent pump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars instant results, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
we did our research as a reliable and fast pump was required for several applications.
It makes cheaper pumps look very inferior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tried attaching the connector to both types of valve it is suppose to fit. Both times it would not attach securely and the tyres completly deflated before I could get any air in! When I finally got it to stay attached I pumped up the tyre only to realise the pressure gauge didnt work either. It was part way up the scale before it was even attached to a tyre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews