Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars4
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Rather than give a review of this excellent collection I will leave that to other Miles Davis Experts.

However the track listing is essential to have knowledge of because there are, at the time of writing this review, 3 boxed sets of Miles Davis on release.
This is a link to the others.
Original Album Classics
Original Album Classics

This set is the 'cuckoo' in the nest in that it has only 3 CDs in contrast to the other 5 CD sets.

A minor point is that although they say 'Original Album' series the sets are often the far better remastered versions often with extra tracks.
Certainly at least one of the sets with 5 CDs in this series has 4 out of the five with extra tracks.
This simply makes them wonderful value and will no doubt tempt those who have the originals with out the extra tracks to buy this inexpensive set.
I should advise you to check carefully to see if that is the case with this set.

The sets have lovely little card covers which divides opinion on their merits. I love them. The sleeves are contained in a cardboard box that is about the size of the old 2 CD Jewel boxes which makes storage a breeze.

If you buy all three sets you will get 12 CDs for the price of 3 -terrific value.

I suggest you check out the tracks and compare and contrast with the originals and watch out for the experts on Miles Davis' music reviews.

Now here is the track Listings.
Track listing
1. Nefertiti
2. Fall
3. Hand Jive
4. Madness
5. Riot
6. Pinocchio
7. Hand Jive
8. Hand Jive
9. Madness
10. Pinocchio

1. Prince of Darkness
2. Pee Wee
3. Masqualero
4. The Sorcerer
5. Limbo
6. Vonetta
7. Nothing Like You
8. Masqualero
9. Limbo

1. Frelon Brun
2. Tout De Suite
3. Petits Machins
4. Filles De Kilimanjaro
5. Mademoiselle Mabry
6. Tout De Suite
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
I love this period of Miles - the reviews on the individual albums will rightly point up the musicianship of all involved, but I'm no musician. I would just add this is music to listen to on your own, with a lover, with a drink, with a hangover, lost in thought or without one in the world.

Bitches Brew is hard work, Kind of Blue you heard a million times before. If you don't know Sorcerer, Nefertiti or Kilimanjaro this package is great value. 3 terrific albums - as moody and beautiful as any Miles made to my ears. You can take this review to the bank.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
Lovely set of 3 remastered albums with bonus tracks, Bare bones release but it's the music your after really, superb late 1960's Miles before he went full in to the fusion funk period. One question! Why is this release just 3 albums? the other sets like this all have 5 albums, this set could have been made perfect by the inclusion of "Miles Smiles" and "Miles In The Sky" , same period and great albums too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
Please read the reviews that can be found with each separate release for more info on the music. I just wanted to say that this set is very neatly packaged for the price. It collects 2 of the 60's quintet's classic releases, although Sorcerer is always considered the poor relation (why, I really dont understand), alongside the outstanding Filles De Kilimanjaro which features the 'classic' quintet and also the 'lost' quintet. Filles is very frequently described as a 'transitional' release because of the 2 quintets featured which really is inaccurate as its one of his most consistent in terms of overall mood and sound.

The 3 discs all feature the award winning remastering of Mark Wilder along with the additional outtakes etc that were made available with the separate releases.

[...] in [...] yesterday so a bargain price from Amazon as well.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)