Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music to sleep too., 3 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hannibal (Audio CD)
There are movie soundtracks.... and then there are movie soundtracks. This one most definitely fits into the latter.
Hans Zimmer has created yet another masterpiece, adding to his already growing collection of perfect music scores. He uses previous melodies and adds them in a rich mix with new styles, for example his "Aria De Capo" [ from "Goldberg's Variations"] intertwined with the haunting "Gourmet Valse Tartare" contribute to make a perfect soundtrack for a perfect movie.
And if it were possible, a finer touch of class is added when we have Sir Anthony Hopkins as Hannibal playing lead role as part of many of the tracks. Hannibal features in "Dear Clarice", as he reads his letter to Starling, framed beautifully by a chilling yet relaxing piece, "Let My Home Be My Gallows", where Hopkins delivers wonderful Italian - again framed by a slighly more pacy but equally as chilling piece.
And as if that wasn't enough, the score delivers further: with a variety of atmospheric melodies, such as "Virtue", "The Capponi Library" and "To Every Captive Soul".
To round it all, and finalize an already perfect album, "Vide Cor Meum", with the Libretto taken from Dante's "La Vita Nuova" provides the emotions that makes your soul feel all tingly; and you just know it's right.
If you buy this album, I recommend also "Goldberg's Variations", as well as Dante's "La Vita Nuova". If they are anything like this album, then you'll certainly be in for a treat.
Finally : as to the point of the summary. I find the best place to listen to this soundtrack is when I am in bed ready to sleep: it has marvellous relaxing qualities.
I hope you enjoy it as much as I have done too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music that makes your emotions soar..., 12 Jan 2005
This review is from: Hannibal (Audio CD)
There are few occasions these days where music will take your emotions to the depths of despair and up to the highest cloud and back before the album is finished. Mostly this happens in film soundtracks and Hannibal is easily one of the finest. There is humour, sadness, heart-pounding atmosphere and some pieces that will make your heart sing and sent your soul alight as the finest music does, and should.
The highlight of the album is Vide cor Meum by Patrick Cassidy - the album is worth buying for this alone. When I first watched the film I became determined to discover which great opera that piece was from, not realising that it was written specially for the film. Rarely will you find a piece of music that makes you want to simply sit back, shut your eyes and just listen, but with Vide cor Meum it is impossible not to. I was shocked and delighted at the simplicity and beauty of this piece, and it marks Cassidy as one of the finest composers of our, and indeed, any age.
The truly amazing aspect of this album is that it is designed to accompany a film that is very dark and disturbing in its imagery, but the soundtrack will make you laugh, cry and fall to your knees with its wry humour and beauty. It is a truly ironic soundtrack for the film, which in many ways fits Hannibal perfectly, as the film and Hannibal himself, are highly ironic and contradictory. It is rare that a soundtrack fits and compliments a film, yet Hannibal accomplishes this expertly. A wonderful collection of widley different musical styles, but one that you will want to play again and again. Buy it and find out for yourself, you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is very, very good music!, 26 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hannibal (Audio CD)
I really enjoy this album. And yes, it is an album and not just the score to a movie. It stands perfectly alone (and really, it does surpass the movie). It perfectly summarise the world of Hannibal, especially with Hopkins narration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the BEST soundtrack I come across, 25 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hannibal (Audio CD)
Needless to say how much I was impressed with this soundtrack. It captured beautifully the setting and mood for the film, as well as that "lecter feel!" I listen to it almost every day.
"Anthony Hopkins delivers three of Lecter's monologues which, while effectively done, will become less welcome with repeated playings" What do you MEAN? sometimes I just listen to tracks to hear his voice! lol! It can never tire you out!
Jane:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for music lovers, 27 Feb 2001
By 
Mrs. A. Storey (Durham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hannibal (Audio CD)
It will take more than the first listen to fully appreciate the beauty of the recording but once you have listened to it it will stay with you forever. I am particularly inspired by Vide Cor Meum - a truly wonderful piece of music. I would be interested to hear form anyone who knows where a full copy of the La Vita Nuova can be obtained. It is obvious that a great deal of thought went into the choosing of the music for the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mellow piano scores that blend to dark atmosphic tunes, 10 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hannibal (Audio CD)
This CD has lots of atmosphere, it starts of with quite a dark intro from Hannibal himself. The score transforms into a mixture of chorus lifting, violin and piano instruments, with bursts of adrenaline music bites in between. Quite a change from the Hans Zimmer scores such as Mission Impossible 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and very moving, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hannibal (Audio CD)
This is a fab album, and very chilled out. The music sums up the mood of the movie so well. Oh, and by the way its Florence, not Vienna that the movie switches to!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music compliments the mood and atmosphere perfectly, 12 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hannibal (Audio CD)
I love this soundtrack, especiallly Vide Cor Meum it really exudes such passion and atmosphere. Other tracks provide an emergent irony which is so perfect for the character of hannibal. Don't listen to it alone!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars absolutely amazing, 23 Feb 2001
This review is from: Hannibal (Audio CD)
Hans Zimmer combines both the fear and the extradinary attraction that we have to Hannibal and his pray to give his audience a clear view of how he sees the film and of the imagination that went into his music. The music is both exhillerating, exciting and moving and combined with the amazing backdrop of florence blends well with Scotts direction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music to Kill By, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (MP3 Download)
Still makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up! Which is nice so watch the film again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews